L39 vs C101 or maybe the Hawk ?

Helix_FR

Hello guys,

I'm pretty new to the forum and pretty new to DCS in general (1.5 permitted me to start simming here).

I already owned FC3 and the marvelous A-10C (and to be honest it's a joy to fly it even if i'm still learning the systems). I'm really enjoying them but I'd like to start looking at trainers as I find the trainer philosophy really intersting. :joystick:

So here come the questions, what would you choose over those two aircrafts ? And is the Hawk "good enough" I mean AFM and systems fidelity ? Or do you think It'd be intersting to wait for a sale to get both (still a student so counting the money..) ? :helpsmilie:

Thank's in advance, Have a nice day/night :)

-Helix

jack of a lot of planes, master of.. None really

I own all three modules (L-39, Hawk, and C-101), and I only ever fly the L-39 since it is the most complete product at this time, including ED's Professional Flight Model. The other two are only half-baked at this time, and I have grounded them until they get at least an EFM update. Not to mention, if you're into multiplayer and would like to share the front/rear cockpit with another player, your only option is the L-39.

PC: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X | MSI Suprim GeForce 3090 TI | ASUS Prime X570-P | 128GB DDR4 3600 RAM | 2TB Samsung 870 EVO SSD | Win10 Pro 64bit

Gear: HP Reverb G2 | JetPad FSE | VKB Gunfighter Pro Mk.III w/ MCG Ultimate

VKBNA_LOGO_SM.png

VKBcontrollers.com

rrohde's points are all valid. The L-39 is definitely the most complete of the 3 although I don't personally own it. I own the C-101 and I think it has a lot of potential and appeal. Beautiful NATO style cockpit. Front/back seat switching works for single-player to a limited degree and is a work in progress. You'll eventually get 2 versions - the unarmed EB and the armed CC. And the CC, hopefully, will include anti-ship missiles!

Can't speak for the Hawk but it might be a little further along in the flight model than the C-101.