AV-8B COPY PROTECTION CHANGE - Page 57 - ED Forums
 


Notices

View Poll Results: Eagle Dynamics New DRM Expiration Period Limit
1 Calendar Day 3 0.69%
3 Calendar Days ( Current System Under Evaluation ) 7 1.60%
7 Calendar Days 29 6.64%
14 Calendar Days 44 10.07%
21 Calendar Days 10 2.29%
30 Calendar Days ( Once a Month ) 154 35.24%
60 Calendar Days 11 2.52%
90 Calendar Days 207 47.37%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 437. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2017, 04:08 PM   #561
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exorcet View Post
In this case that's only going to be available to Harrier users though. What you say is still true, but the number of people who can give feedback will be reduced.
Yet it seems to be enough to warrant all this attention and opinions.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 04:45 PM   #562
Exorcet
Senior Member
 
Exorcet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiThSpAwN View Post
Yet it seems to be enough to warrant all this attention and opinions.
In part because it's going to be implemented to all modules. What I'm saying is that it's in everyone's interest to see how the new system works, but only a few will get a chance, at least for now.

Asking about this beforehand would have let everyone get involved.
__________________
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/Exorcet/F-15singaturebaseACOmodifiedcomp-1.jpg
Win 7 64 i5-6600K 3.6 GHz 32 GB RAM GTX970 4GB -- A-10C, F-5E, Su-27, F-15C missions in User Files
Exorcet is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 04:48 PM   #563
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exorcet View Post
In part because it's going to be implemented to all modules. What I'm saying is that it's in everyone's interest to see how the new system works, but only a few will get a chance, at least for now.

Asking about this beforehand would have let everyone get involved.
Still not sure what you mean, you are basically getting a preview, before hand, while it's only on the Harrier and only in Early Access. It's basically what you said they should do, and they are doing it. And to top it off, they are already reviewing it.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 04:48 PM   #564
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiThSpAwN View Post
Not sure adding an option for ED to have no checks in place is a viable option,...
It would not be 'no checks'. It would be just like Starforce is now, since there is no evidence that Starforce checks periodically.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 04:52 PM   #565
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
It would not be 'no checks'. It would be just like Starforce is now, since there is no evidence that Starforce checks periodically.
But Startforce checks something, it's just different than the new DRM. So instead of 'no checks' you would want an option of hardware checks wouldnt you?
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 05:10 PM   #566
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiThSpAwN View Post
But Startforce checks something, it's just different than the new DRM. So instead of 'no checks' you would want an option of hardware checks wouldnt you?

Not sure what you are meaning

You mean starforce checks the current PC hardware against what PC hardware the module is activated against,
to ensure it is on the same PC ?
Of course it does not need internet connection to do that
__________________
METAR weather for DCS World missions

Guide to help out new DCS MOOSE Users -> HERE
Havoc Company Dedicated server info Connect IP: 94.23.215.203
SRS enabled - freqs - Main = 243, A2A = 244, A2G = 245
Please contact me HERE if you have any server feedback or METAR issues/requests
Johnny_Rico is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 05:13 PM   #567
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny_Rico View Post
Not sure what you are meaning

You mean starforce checks the current PC hardware against what the module is activated against,
to ensure it is on the same PC ?
Of course it does not need internet connection to do that
Ugh, but if you put down that the new DRM should never expire, then it has to have another check to replace that... you cant just have no protection. SO if you have a never expires, you need to replace it with another check. Starforce checks for hardware changes, if you dont have one, you need the other, or something.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 05:36 PM   #568
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,372
Default

Ah get you now

So more like

DRM will not expire unless PC hardware has changed significantly, hardware is checked each time program is launched

kinda deal ?
__________________
METAR weather for DCS World missions

Guide to help out new DCS MOOSE Users -> HERE
Havoc Company Dedicated server info Connect IP: 94.23.215.203
SRS enabled - freqs - Main = 243, A2A = 244, A2G = 245
Please contact me HERE if you have any server feedback or METAR issues/requests

Last edited by Johnny_Rico; 12-06-2017 at 05:52 PM.
Johnny_Rico is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 05:39 PM   #569
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,512
Default

Something like that, or like others have suggested, checks on updates. I am not a DRM expert though, so I am not sure what is best or what options they have, so I am happy to wait to see what ED comes back with.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 06:55 PM   #570
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
It would not be 'no checks'. It would be just like Starforce is now, since there is no evidence that Starforce checks periodically.
How do you think Starforce Pro-Active DRM Console determines that a key has been blacklisted by Starforce?

Starforce Console Checks License Key Status, along w/ other Parameters Like Machine Code against Code stored on Server, if it's been Suspended, Expires, BlackListed, etc

When You Launch DCS.exe, Every xxxxx_protect.exe for every module you have installed processes said request.

If you don't believe that to be the case, ask any user that bought a License Key from Middle-Shop Website who purchased their lot of keys through fraud, and their key has since been black listed, and they can no longer use that module until they purchased a license from a authorized store front.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro

Last edited by SkateZilla; 12-06-2017 at 07:33 PM.
SkateZilla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:14 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.