VR DCS is better optimized for Win7 than Win10 - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2019, 06:54 PM   #11
Goblin
Member
 
Goblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 998
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytai01 View Post
Windows 7 does NOT show distortion, but Windows 10 does...
And I have told you why, several times now.

ASW does not work in Win7.
ASW is auto enabled in Win10 when FPS fall below 90.
ASW introduces distortions.
You can turn ASW off, if you like.
Goblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 06:56 PM   #12
Fab
Member
 
Fab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytai01 View Post
I've checked frame rates on Win7pro x64 vs Win10pro x64 using the same settings. Win10 is about 1 or two frames slower, but the main difference is that moving visuals distort in Win10. This effect isn't in Win7 at all...
Cause Win7 dosent support ASW
__________________
Intel Core i7-6700K Cpu 4.00 GHz OC 4.8 GHz Water Cooled|32 GB DDR4 ram OC| Nvidia RTX 2080Ti| TrustMaster Warthog|Saitek Battle Pro Pedals | Logitec G13| Oculus Rift S

I´m in for a ride, a VR ride
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBX...view_as=public
Fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 12:18 AM   #13
mytai01
Member
 
mytai01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goblin View Post
And I have told you why, several times now.

ASW does not work in Win7.
ASW is auto enabled in Win10 when FPS fall below 90.
ASW introduces distortions.
You can turn ASW off, if you like.
OK, I finally seen evidence in Windows 10 that what you described works. Sorry for giving you a hard time. Oculus should put text that indicates that a change has indeed occured. Thanks!
__________________
MS Win7 Pro x64, Intel i7-6700K 4.0Ghz, Corsair RAM 16Gb,EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0, w/ Adjustable RGB LED Graphics Card 08G-P4-6286-KR, Creative Labs SB X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Champ PCIe Sound Card, Corsair Neutron XTI 1TB SSD, TM Warthog Throttle & Stick, TM TPR Pedels, Oculus Rift VR Headset CV1, Klipsch Promedia 4.1 Speakers...

Last edited by mytai01; 08-23-2019 at 12:36 AM.
mytai01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 02:26 AM   #14
csdigitaldesign
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytai01 View Post
After several experiments with using CV1 & Rift S in both Win7 & Win10. It is obvious that DCS performs better in Windows 7. Something about Win10 is dragging performance down the toilet in VR. They're equal on a monitor, but not in VR...
Right... Rift doesn't run on Windows 7. The software refuses to run. Minimum requirements say Windows 10. You might get the CV1 to run on Windows 7... but the Rift S? nope.
csdigitaldesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 06:39 PM   #15
mytai01
Member
 
mytai01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csdigitaldesign View Post
Right... Rift doesn't run on Windows 7. The software refuses to run. Minimum requirements say Windows 10. You might get the CV1 to run on Windows 7... but the Rift S? nope.
I believe that was done to help MS get people to switch to Windows 10, I had my CV1 before I had all the hardware required to meet the minimum requirements and it ran just fine...So, I believe that the Rift S is being prevented from running on Win7 not because it can't, but rather because they don't want it to...It's being actively blocked from running in much the same way the App checks if you have some KB installed and won't start if it doesn't but you can block that check and force it to run anyway... I know it's a conspiracy theory, but I believe it's true...Too many other software and hardware run just fine in Win7 and Win10 that it's can't be legit...
__________________
MS Win7 Pro x64, Intel i7-6700K 4.0Ghz, Corsair RAM 16Gb,EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0, w/ Adjustable RGB LED Graphics Card 08G-P4-6286-KR, Creative Labs SB X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Champ PCIe Sound Card, Corsair Neutron XTI 1TB SSD, TM Warthog Throttle & Stick, TM TPR Pedels, Oculus Rift VR Headset CV1, Klipsch Promedia 4.1 Speakers...

Last edited by mytai01; 08-23-2019 at 06:42 PM.
mytai01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 06:38 AM   #16
csdigitaldesign
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytai01 View Post
I believe that was done to help MS get people to switch to Windows 10, I had my CV1 before I had all the hardware required to meet the minimum requirements and it ran just fine...So, I believe that the Rift S is being prevented from running on Win7 not because it can't, but rather because they don't want it to...It's being actively blocked from running in much the same way the App checks if you have some KB installed and won't start if it doesn't but you can block that check and force it to run anyway... I know it's a conspiracy theory, but I believe it's true...Too many other software and hardware run just fine in Win7 and Win10 that it's can't be legit...
I never said the hardware was incapable of running on Win 7. But if Oculus wont' allow the software that is required to use the headset to run on Windows 7.. you can't use it on Windows 7.
csdigitaldesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.