Cockpit warning lights wrong in EDGE - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2018, 09:33 PM   #1
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 2,071
Default Cockpit warning lights wrong in EDGE

Since the introduction of EDGE and the glorious Deferred Shading they look like this:

Can you read them? I can't



In the old engine, the background illumination was just a little and the font was glowing brightly in the respective colour instead of being white, like this:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DCS 2018-08-13 03-56-34-35.jpg
Views:	685
Size:	241.5 KB
ID:	192056   Click image for larger version

Name:	dcs 2014-09-20 03-45-32-79.jpg
Views:	653
Size:	627.4 KB
ID:	192057  
__________________
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 11:06 PM   #2
corn322
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 54
Default

Compare to these images of Mig-21 cockpits:



As for reading them? I haven't spent much time learning Russian, so no, I can't "read" them. Do I use English cockpit? Yes. Even still, I don't read the text, I remember what position that indicator is for. I.E., I don't need to read the text on your screenshot to know the cone is out, AFB is on, nozzle is open, and no center drop tank attached.


Try twisting the knob to put the lights into night mode.
corn322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 11:47 PM   #3
Esac_mirmidon
Veteran
 
Esac_mirmidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ferrol, Spain
Posts: 5,958
Send a message via MSN to Esac_mirmidon
Default

I have changed the stock lights with PS. Now they look like this.



If you like it just download the files and copy/paste here. ( remember to backup the original ones )

DCS World\Mods\aircraft\MIG-21bis\Textures\MiG-21_Cockpit

New Mig-21 Cockpit Lights
__________________
" You must think in russian.."


Windows 7 Home Premium-Intel 2500K OC 4.6-SSD Samsung EVO 860-GTX 1060 KFA2- 6G RAM-1920x1080

Hotas Rhino X-55-MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals -Track IR 4
Esac_mirmidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 09:52 PM   #4
Akatsuki
Member
 
Akatsuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 699
Default

Looks nice!
Akatsuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2018, 03:29 AM   #5
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 2,071
Default

That looks better, thanks for the edit... as for the photos: They've been made in the dark. Bright things appear too bright on them naturally, otherwise the rest would be pitch black.
__________________
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 03:14 PM   #6
Schlomo1933
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 40
Default

dont work for me (VR) can anyone help me pls?


edit: its now working. I had to change the cockpit language to russian and back again. Very nice. THX

Last edited by Schlomo1933; 09-12-2018 at 03:43 PM.
Schlomo1933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 03:51 PM   #7
Esac_mirmidon
Veteran
 
Esac_mirmidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ferrol, Spain
Posts: 5,958
Send a message via MSN to Esac_mirmidon
Default

Your welcome.
__________________
" You must think in russian.."


Windows 7 Home Premium-Intel 2500K OC 4.6-SSD Samsung EVO 860-GTX 1060 KFA2- 6G RAM-1920x1080

Hotas Rhino X-55-MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals -Track IR 4
Esac_mirmidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 10:05 PM   #8
Schmidtfire
Senior Member
 
Schmidtfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,128
Default

That is looking really good Esac! You should really do the Su-27/33 and MiG-29 warning lights, they also need some love
Schmidtfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 04:42 PM   #9
dorianR666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 82
Default

M3, will this ever get fixed?
__________________
dorianR666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 08:23 PM   #10
-Rudel-
3rd Party Developer
 
-Rudel-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dean Martin Celebrity Roasts
Posts: 1,227
Default

No, we're making you wait to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous misfortunes. Look, it is fixed on our side, awaiting other fixes to be completed. If you haven't already, read the spring update. It contains screenshots.
__________________
http://www.leatherneck-sim.com/
https://www.facebook.com/leatherneck.simulations/

i9 7980XE, 128GB Ram, SLI GTX Titan Xp, Win10 Pro, SSD, 2 x 256GB SSD, 4 x 512GB SSD RAID 0
i7 4960X, 64GB Ram, GTX Titan, Win10 Pro, 512GB PCIe SSD, 2 x 256GB SSD, 6 x 4TB HDD RAID 6, 9361-8i RAID Controller
i7 2600K, 16GB Ram, GTX 580, Win10 Pro, 240GB SSD, 3 x 4TB HDD
Pentium 4, 2GB Ram, GeForce 6800 Ultra, WinXp Pro, 3 x 500GB HDD
-Rudel- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:56 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.