Programming PP Mode for JDAMs in Hornet - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2020, 12:56 AM   #1
ilarson007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Default Programming PP Mode for JDAMs in Hornet

Hello all. I'm not sure if this is a bug, an oversight, or how the jet acts in the real world. I have an issue when I program my JDAMs in PP mode. Essentially, if I program the target coordinates and elevation and then deselect my JDAMs in the stores page (or generally navigate away from the JDAM Display page), the programming is lost. Gone. I like to program them on the ground, and when the programming disappears it becomes very frustrating.

Am I doing something wrong, is this a bug, or is this how it's "supposed" to act?

Edit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Hfk...ew?usp=sharing

Second track file: https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...4&postcount=19

Last edited by ilarson007; 03-30-2020 at 05:56 AM. Reason: added track file
ilarson007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 01:41 AM   #2
Swiftwin9s
Member
 
Swiftwin9s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 667
Default

Are you sure that its the same JDAM? Each station has its own set of coordinates so its possible that you are simply seeing another station that hasnt been programmed yet.
Swiftwin9s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 01:53 AM   #3
ilarson007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiftwin9s View Post
Are you sure that its the same JDAM? Each station has its own set of coordinates so its possible that you are simply seeing another station that hasnt been programmed yet.
This is when I intentionally program 4 different target points, one on each station.
ilarson007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 02:06 AM   #4
Swiftwin9s
Member
 
Swiftwin9s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 667
Default

Interesting, I havent seen this issue yet. However I havent done a whole lot of JDAM stuff recently, I will do some testing tomorrow.
Swiftwin9s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 02:46 AM   #5
rob10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 241
Default

Check the JDAM sticky above and it should give you details on how it should work. I believe you can avoid what you're seeing, but you have to do it in a certain way.
rob10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 02:48 AM   #6
hein22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 535
Default

I just did some tests and I can't reproduce this issue. Maybe a track would help.
hein22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 02:49 AM   #7
ilarson007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hein22 View Post
I just did some tests and I can't reproduce this issue. Maybe a track would help.
Did you program them on the ground?

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk
ilarson007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 02:50 AM   #8
hein22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 535
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob10 View Post
Check the JDAM sticky above and it should give you details on how it should work. I believe you can avoid what you're seeing, but you have to do it in a certain way.
I think that sticky is incorrect or outdated, because STEP doesn't work that way today.
hein22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 02:51 AM   #9
hein22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 535
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilarson007 View Post
Did you program them on the ground?

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk
yes, from cold start.
hein22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 02:51 AM   #10
ilarson007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hein22 View Post
yes, from cold start.
Okay. Are tracks only from MP?
I'll get one after dinner.

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk
ilarson007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.