No Run.exe after update - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2020, 06:35 PM   #11
Worrazen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 1,339
Default

2.5.6 upgraded a lot of the engine components, many dlls don't exist anymore and some are new, the old protection is also removed completely that's why you will not see dcs_protect.dll, a10_protect.dll, CombinedArms_protect.dll, and fc3_protect.dll, which is great because these things caused constant spikes on CPU, but not on the main thread so normally wasn't noticable.
__________________
Specs: Win10 x64 1607/14393, 1440p@75"32 - CPU: Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0GHz - GPU: Radeon RX 480 8GB - RAM: 32 GB, DCS SSD Samsung 860 EVO 250GB, Saitek Cyborg X/FLY5 joystick.
Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, Mig-21Bis, M-2000C, AJS-37, WW2AP, CA, FC3, SuperCarrier.
Terrains: NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf

Last edited by Worrazen; 03-24-2020 at 06:37 PM.
Worrazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 07:57 PM   #12
TWC_SLAG
Member
 
TWC_SLAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art-J View Post
It's always been there, though, together with DCS_Updater.exe. That's their correct location, at least in webshop DCS version, although I think Steam version should be the same.

So, would it be OK to move or copy the exe file to where I have always seen it in the Open Beta folder?
__________________
TWC_SLAG

Win 10 64 bit, 2T Hard Drive, 500GB SSD, ASUS B250 MB, Intel i7 7700 3.6ghz CPU, GTX 1080 GPU, 32gb DDR4 Ram, Track IR5, 49" 4K 60hz, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pedals, 2xCougar MFDs, 2xPRDevices MFD Backlights, Voice Attack.
TWC_SLAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 07:09 AM   #13
peterwinship
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Default

I wouldn't copy it. Just put a shortcut in your main folder. You know how to make a shortcut?
peterwinship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 04:08 AM   #14
TWC_SLAG
Member
 
TWC_SLAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterwinship View Post
I wouldn't copy it. Just put a shortcut in your main folder. You know how to make a shortcut?
Of course. I had already done that. But, that gives you a folder icon, rather than a DCS icon.
__________________
TWC_SLAG

Win 10 64 bit, 2T Hard Drive, 500GB SSD, ASUS B250 MB, Intel i7 7700 3.6ghz CPU, GTX 1080 GPU, 32gb DDR4 Ram, Track IR5, 49" 4K 60hz, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pedals, 2xCougar MFDs, 2xPRDevices MFD Backlights, Voice Attack.
TWC_SLAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 04:57 PM   #15
c0ff
Staff
 
c0ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,323
Default

we removed the file.
__________________
Dmitry S. Baikov @ Eagle Dynamics
First LP out NOW at http://c0ff.bandcamp.com (Melodic electronics IDM)
c0ff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 05:27 PM   #16
TWC_SLAG
Member
 
TWC_SLAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ff View Post
we removed the file.
Then what happened? You now have no way to open DCS?
__________________
TWC_SLAG

Win 10 64 bit, 2T Hard Drive, 500GB SSD, ASUS B250 MB, Intel i7 7700 3.6ghz CPU, GTX 1080 GPU, 32gb DDR4 Ram, Track IR5, 49" 4K 60hz, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pedals, 2xCougar MFDs, 2xPRDevices MFD Backlights, Voice Attack.
TWC_SLAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 07:40 AM   #17
c0ff
Staff
 
c0ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TWC_SLAG View Post
Then what happened? You now have no way to open DCS?
Run.exe was never the way to open DCS. Or was it (old installers may be)?
It was only for Steam to automatically choose 32/64 bit binaries.

Official shortcuts point to bin/DCS_updater.exe
But you may also use bin/DCS.exe directly if you don't want automatic updates.
__________________
Dmitry S. Baikov @ Eagle Dynamics
First LP out NOW at http://c0ff.bandcamp.com (Melodic electronics IDM)
c0ff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:29 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.