Some missions can't be loaded in 2.5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2018, 11:53 AM   #1
ralgha
Junior Member
 
ralgha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: US
Posts: 54
Reputation power: 6
ralgha is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Some missions can't be loaded in 2.5

After playing missions 1-6 in DCS 2.5 before running into a brick wall trying to load mission 7, I tested loading all of the Museum Relic missions and found that the following ones don't currently work:
  • MR campaign 7
  • MR campaign 9
  • MR campaign 15
  • F86 MR campaign 8-2
  • F86 MR campaign 9
  • F86 MR campaign 11
DCS displays an error message when attempting to load these missions: "Need modules for load mission: F-4E by Belsimtek"

I confirmed that this problem exists in all versions of DCS 2.5 released to the public so far:

Code:
02-09-2018   2.5.0.14138   2.5.x Unified Version Hotfix #2
02-06-2018   2.5.0.14044   2.5.x Unified Version Hotfix #1
01-31-2018   2.5.0.13818   2.5.x Unified Version Launch
I hope this will be fixed soon. Missions 1-6 were very impressive in 2.5 in VR. Big step up from 1.5!
ralgha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2018, 10:34 PM   #2
Apache600
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
Apache600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 510
Reputation power: 8
Apache600 has a spectacular aura aboutApache600 has a spectacular aura aboutApache600 has a spectacular aura aboutApache600 has a spectacular aura aboutApache600 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thank you for the report! This is, unfortunately, an issue that is affecting any campaign/mission that had an A.I. F-4 aircraft in it.
__________________

The Museum Relic Campaign: --> http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=164322
Apache600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 10:10 AM   #3
Takacsi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Reputation power: 0
Takacsi is on a distinguished road
Default

Any hope for a fix? ( I wrote mission 14 on the other thread but it was 15th)
Takacsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:30 AM   #4
ralgha
Junior Member
 
ralgha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: US
Posts: 54
Reputation power: 6
ralgha is on a distinguished road
Default

I discovered that we can actually fix and run these missions ourselves. Here's the workaround that worked for me:
  • Go to your DCS installation folder, then open Mods\campaigns\The Museum Relic
  • Unzip the bad .miz file to a new folder (using e.g. 7-Zip - .miz files are really just .zip files)
  • Open the file called "mission" with a compatible text editor (e.g. Notepad++ or Notepad2)
  • Remove the line from the requiredModules section at the beginning that references "F-4E by Belsimtek"
  • Search and replace all occurrences of "F-4E_new" with "F-4E"
  • Save the file and exit
  • Re-zip the contents of the folder
  • Rename your new .zip file to .miz, give it some name different from the original, and put it in the same folder as the original
  • Launch DCS and choose "Mission" from the main menu
  • Browse to the folder with the campaign missions, pick your fixed mission file, and fly it!
  • (Optional) Doctor your logbook.lua file as described here if you want to continue to use the campaign feature. Personally I think I'm just going to run each mission manually from now on, as this campaign appears to be 100% linear (thankfully).
ralgha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 04:34 PM   #5
Apache600
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
Apache600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 510
Reputation power: 8
Apache600 has a spectacular aura aboutApache600 has a spectacular aura aboutApache600 has a spectacular aura aboutApache600 has a spectacular aura aboutApache600 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Wow, well that's one way to take care of that issue!

@ Takacsi, Unfortunately we'll have to wait for ED on an official fix. I can't really go into the campaign and swap out each F-4 for something else. I chose the F-4 because of their specific aircraft performance, and if I selected a substitute platform, I would have alter the missions, and then test them, to make sure the A.I. of that aircraft would behave in such a way that it wouldn't derail the mission.

Given that 2.5 is still in a Beta operation, this sort of issue should not be too big of a surprise. Regardless though, I do hope that it gets fixed soon, and apologize that it has put a damper on the campaign.

- Apache600
__________________

The Museum Relic Campaign: --> http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=164322
Apache600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:20 PM   #6
Takacsi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Reputation power: 0
Takacsi is on a distinguished road
Default

Dear Apach600!

No problem, I am sure they will fix it soon! (I will start the F86 part while we wait)
Btw thx for the campaign, I really like it!
Takacsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:28 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.