Better control of wingman tasking - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2018, 02:19 PM   #11
Subferro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 72
Default

I take it back. None of this is consistent. The wingman just has a completely independent way of doing things. Sometimes he'll engage, more often he wont. I tried making it assign individual units and same result... The AI make no sense to me.
Subferro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 05:02 PM   #12
EasyEB
Member
 
EasyEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 565
Default

If you really need it to work my best bet is to make the wingman a separate group and give all commands (form up, engage, rtb and so on) in the F10 menu.
EasyEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 07:36 AM   #13
Delta99
Member
 
Delta99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 327
Default

Yeah trying to do this with a wingman in your own group likely isn’t going to work to well. As a separate group should work fine.
__________________
My Missions: Valley Patrol Mission :: Valley Escort Mission :: A2A Engagements
Delta99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 08:22 AM   #14
Yoda967
Member
 
Yoda967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 163
Default

Been following this thread with interest.


Spent all weekend working on getting my wingman to work as a separate group, but that won't work when flying off a carrier. (Adding a second group always starts a flight deck fire.)


What I've learned, though, is that if your dash-2 is in the same group as the player, and you lead him past the target in visual range, you can then send him off to attack it. (He'll make some approximately right engagement calls - "In", "Missile away", "Off" - so you can call him to rejoin after he engages.)


I'm beginning to think that the only way to do this is to keep the mission on the small side and use AI PUSH TASK to make the current target group the only non-invisible enemy group on the map.
__________________
Very Respectfully,
Kurt "Yoda" Kalbfleisch
London
Yoda967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 11:11 AM   #15
Subferro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 72
Default

Well I think I finally have it working. I definitely agree that making them a separate group is probably the only way to make it consistent, but since my small mission with just my group and an enemy group worked flawlessly I thought there had to be a way. I discovered my wingman would ignore commands through the normal radio path as well, and respond “Unable” when asked to attack any ground target. And then it clicked. Aside from complexity which I couldn’t get rid of, the big difference between missions where this worked and where it didn’t was presence of air defense units. My wingman was just being over cautious. I checked and the “REACTION TO THREAT” option was defaulting to “Allow Abort”. Changed it to “Passive Defense” and so far so good.
Subferro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 05:40 AM   #16
Yoda967
Member
 
Yoda967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 163
Default

Yup. That did it. Thanks!
__________________
Very Respectfully,
Kurt "Yoda" Kalbfleisch
London
Yoda967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:11 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.