HOTAS Cougar software on a modern Windows - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2019, 01:06 PM   #41
joso
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 17
Default

SOLVED it was enough to use usb port 2.0



I followed the guide but when I launch hotas control panel it gives me this error.
P.S. the joy works but it is not possible to program it.
Thanks



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Immagine.jpg
Views:	320
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	219065  

Last edited by joso; 10-11-2019 at 01:21 PM.
joso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 01:45 PM   #42
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,492
Default

That's curious, on my PC the Cougar is connected on a USB 3.0 port with no issues ..

maybe it was a power consumption issue with other device, since usually the USB ports are arranged on what are known 'USB root hubs', and each hub can deliver a maximum of 500 milliamps of power to attached devices. If the energy demands of the connected USB devices exceeds that limit, the USB bus can shutdown.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 07:15 PM   #43
hotray
Member
 
hotray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 101
Default

Rudel_chw:
You are my personal hero!
Thank you for your expertise, and thank you for sharing it with us!

I had this Error 14 this weekend. After various (wrong and useless) tries, i found a simple way:

Just click "OK" and open Foxy!
In my case it worked and I was able to run the Update-App and after that to download a profile to the cougar.
__________________
blibet suber!

ray
TAHM DMA FCS©
hotray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 07:44 PM   #44
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotray View Post
...
Thank you for your expertise, and thank you for sharing it with us!
...
I'm glad to be able to help, and thanks to you for your kind words, tough rather than expertise I'd like to think that it is just a lot of experience since I purchased my Cougar 16 years ago, in fact my unit is one of the earliest, with serial number 05197

I really love my Cougar and couldn't be more satisfied with it ... it's the opposite of those planned obsolescence devices so common on today's tech world

Cheers!
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 03:19 PM   #45
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 871
Default

I'm still struggling to get my Cougar up and running... Up to the point where I'm getting pretty desperate

So what hardware do I have:
  • Cougar throttle and stick (serial number 2139)
  • Stick has got new(-ish) hall sensors and has the NN-Dan spring mod (all the way down, one of the last mods) (I received it as a gift from forum member FZG_Immel)
  • As a result of the new hall sensors the Y-axis (stick fwd) has a minor restriction in max input (due to the slightly larger sensor)
Other than that, everything is original

Software:
  • Using OS Win10
  • Installed CCP with help of this thread (thanks Rudel! )
  • Ran the Cougar cleanse tool and erased firmware, windows calibration and registry
  • Flashed the device to the latest firmware version 3.06 (unplugged throttle before flashing)
  • Setup CCP so that all axis are responding (basically used about the same setup Rudel has in his OP)

When I discovered auto calibration isn't working at all, I stepped over to manual calibration. All axis do respond, but the calibrating results are extremely poor (and I'm mildly expressing myself here)
For instance, this is what I see after manual calibration (sometimes better sometimes even worse):





(Stick X and Y input/output are always off by at least 50%)
(Throttle input/output is much much better, except for what you see in my first two screenshots)

Some side notes:
  • FZG_Immel told me to replace the PCB and USB cable of his modified Cougar base, with my old Cougar (which had a busted gimbal set). So I did just that.
  • I tried re-flashing a couple of times
  • Tried erasing windows calibration several times
  • Tried different USB ports
  • Tried with stick only
But none of the above helped


I'm really close to actually giving up... Which I'd hate to do, because I have some precious memories of my Cougar set

This is kind of my last cry for help... Please, anyone, tell me what to do to get my old buddy up and running again
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - HP Reverb - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 03:52 PM   #46
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
...
Other than that, everything is original
...
I'm sorry to hear about your Cougar blues, from the description it is hard to understand what may be wrong with your Cougar .. when diagnosing, the first item is to determine if it is a hardware or software problem, but on your case it is hard to say

the unit is hardly original, as the pots are pretty much the core of the stick, and you also have modded springs and the Circuit Board of another Cougar .. there are at least two versions of the board and I dont know if yours were identical or not.

I can show you the raw values that my pots give when calibrating, so that you may compare with those of your unit:



Best regards,


Eduardo
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 04:21 PM   #47
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
I'm sorry to hear about your Cougar blues, from the description it is hard to understand what may be wrong with your Cougar .. when diagnosing, the first item is to determine if it is a hardware or software problem, but on your case it is hard to say

the unit is hardly original, as the pots are pretty much the core of the stick, and you also have modded springs and the Circuit Board of another Cougar .. there are at least two versions of the board and I dont know if yours were identical or not.

I can show you the raw values that my pots give when calibrating, so that you may compare with those of your unit:



Best regards,


Eduardo
My Cougar definitely doesn't get even close to those values. I'll try replacing the hall sensors with the original ones from my own Cougar. A waste of nice hall sensors... but at least my Cougar will be useable again (or at least I hope)
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - HP Reverb - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 04:33 PM   #48
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
My Cougar definitely doesn't get even close to those values. I'll try replacing the hall sensors with the original ones from my own Cougar. A waste of nice hall sensors... but at least my Cougar will be useable again (or at least I hope)

If it works with your original pots, then at least you will know what is wrong with the unit ... you can always later on purchase one of the Magneto-resistive units that Rel4ys manufactures .. those have worked perfectly on my Cougar and you can see how smooth they are on the Analyzer graph of my Video.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 03:34 PM   #49
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
If it works with your original pots, then at least you will know what is wrong with the unit ... you can always later on purchase one of the Magneto-resistive units that Rel4ys manufactures .. those have worked perfectly on my Cougar and you can see how smooth they are on the Analyzer graph of my Video.
So, I replaced the hall sensors with the original pots. Good news! The stick axes are responding like they should!
Even the auto calibration works fine for the stick. Unfortunately auto calibrate doesn't work at all with my (un-modified) throttle and the throttle still has some minor issues with microstick response (the one I posted in my screenshots few posts back)

Anyways, I guess my stick PCB is not compatible with these new hall sensors (I do have one of the first Cougars ever made). But I'm glad I finally got things working on an acceptable level.

One question though... For those who use their Cougar with the F-16 module

Does anyone else experience it to be almost impossible to gently operate the throttle from idle to ~90%?

I tried out a lot with Z-axis curvatures (even messed around with advanced curvatures), but still even the smallest inputs result in the engine rpm spiking from idle to like 90%. (Even when in DCS axis control settings it all looks smooth)



Edit:
Ok... Nevermind my message above...
Just did some more testing (or actually, tried flying for a change) and my Cougar is still acting awful
After manual calibration in CCP everything seems fine. All axis respond really nice. So I start flying and still all is going well, until after a few minutes, the Y and Z axis response suddenly goes all over the place.
Back to CCP, manual calibrate again, things are OK for a few minutes... and then suddenly it's going nuts again...

I guess my Cougar really wants to part with me

Maybe I should consider purchasing a Virpil VPC WarBRD base and just use the Cougar base only for the throttle
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - HP Reverb - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat

Last edited by sirrah; 12-01-2019 at 08:57 PM.
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 05:26 AM   #50
BlacleyCole
Senior Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,913
Default

As far as I can tell my system is missing the hotas cougar button state app.
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram


New FlightSim Blog at https://blackeysblog.wordpress.com. Go visit it and leave me feedback and or comments so I can make it better. A new post every Friday.
BlacleyCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:23 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.