What do these commands do? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2017, 03:20 PM   #1
sobe
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 959
Reputation power: 0
sobe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default What do these commands do?

What does the STICK TO TRIMMER CONTROL MODE do? It has NO default key command assigned to it.

What does the new NOSE GEAR STEERING command do? It has LALT + Q assigned to it as the default key command.

Thanks
__________________
Trackir4 using the latest Trackir 5 software, Win10 Pro [Creator Update] updated from Win7Pro Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core™ i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset DDR3 16GB Ram, GTX MSI Gaming 1060 [6 GB] Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Touchscreen Monitor 2 on right 1920x1080 .
sobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 03:44 PM   #2
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,194
Reputation power: 41
Ironhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sobe View Post
What does the STICK TO TRIMMER CONTROL MODE do? It has NO default key command assigned to it.

What does the new NOSE GEAR STEERING command do? It has LALT + Q assigned to it as the default key command.

Thanks
Nose Gear Steering is just that. Enable it to steer while taxiing.

Stick to Trimmer, IIRC, is primarily for force feedback sticks. With the command enabled, move the stick to the position you need for level flight and release the command. The aircraft is now retrimmed. It doesn't work well on non-FF sticks...or, at least, I've never enjoyed using it.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 03:50 PM   #3
sobe
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 959
Reputation power: 0
sobe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks for the quick response. Just getting back into the Su 27/33 while waiting for the revised Su-33.
__________________
Trackir4 using the latest Trackir 5 software, Win10 Pro [Creator Update] updated from Win7Pro Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core™ i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset DDR3 16GB Ram, GTX MSI Gaming 1060 [6 GB] Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Touchscreen Monitor 2 on right 1920x1080 .
sobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:34 PM   #4
Weta43
ED Testers Team
 
Weta43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aro Valley Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 5,956
Reputation power: 78
Weta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to beholdWeta43 is a splendid one to behold
Default

I thought stick to trimmer did just that...

While pressed, if you push the stick forward you're trimming the nose down not moving the actual stick (except to the extent that trimming moves the stick), back = up etc.

Can't check now, but simple to test - cancel all trim, hold the stick to trimmer combo & move the stick - do the trim lights go out when you move the stick ?
__________________
Cheers.

Last edited by Weta43; 08-12-2017 at 11:37 PM.
Weta43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 03:25 AM   #5
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,194
Reputation power: 41
Ironhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weta43 View Post
I thought stick to trimmer did just that...

While pressed, if you push the stick forward you're trimming the nose down not moving the actual stick (except to the extent that trimming moves the stick), back = up etc.

Can't check now, but simple to test - cancel all trim, hold the stick to trimmer combo & move the stick - do the trim lights go out when you move the stick ?
It's been quit awhile since I last tried using it. At the time, it didn't work like that--at least not on my X-52. I'll have to give it another try sometime soon.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 03:38 AM   #6
Oceandar
Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Kalimantan, Indonesia
Posts: 591
Reputation power: 16
Oceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura about
Default

Stick to trimmer is awesome feature if you have force feedback joystick. With this I no longer need to trimming constantly like in non FFB joystick. Flying formation is piece of cake, NOE is a joy and I've never broke my wings because of hard maneuver because I can feel "the force".
I agree with someone who said flying DCS with non FFB actually flying half of the sim. I recommend go get it if you can
__________________
Swa Bhuana Paksa

Last edited by Oceandar; 08-13-2017 at 03:41 AM.
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 06:44 PM   #7
sobe
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 959
Reputation power: 0
sobe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Oceandar
What FFB stick are you using and what version of Window do you use?
__________________
Trackir4 using the latest Trackir 5 software, Win10 Pro [Creator Update] updated from Win7Pro Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core™ i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset DDR3 16GB Ram, GTX MSI Gaming 1060 [6 GB] Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Touchscreen Monitor 2 on right 1920x1080 .
sobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 06:57 PM   #8
Oceandar
Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Kalimantan, Indonesia
Posts: 591
Reputation power: 16
Oceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura about
Default

I'm using Microsoft sidewinder force feedback 2. One of the best joysticks ever made. The only gripe I have is lack of buttons and I'm thinking to mod it replacing its grip with other joystick from CH or Thrustmaster f-16.

Edit : my OS is Win 10 64bit
__________________
Swa Bhuana Paksa

Last edited by Oceandar; 08-13-2017 at 07:00 PM.
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:03 PM   #9
sobe
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 959
Reputation power: 0
sobe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Interesting. I thought the SW 2 had some driver issues with Win10. I am also running Win10 64 bit and was thinking of acquiring a SW 2 on Ebay. Did you have any driver issues? Which version of the SW 2 do you have?
__________________
Trackir4 using the latest Trackir 5 software, Win10 Pro [Creator Update] updated from Win7Pro Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core™ i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset DDR3 16GB Ram, GTX MSI Gaming 1060 [6 GB] Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Touchscreen Monitor 2 on right 1920x1080 .
sobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:10 PM   #10
Oceandar
Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Kalimantan, Indonesia
Posts: 591
Reputation power: 16
Oceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura aboutOceandar has a spectacular aura about
Default

Its just plug and play, no need to install driver but I cant install the software because its no longer compatible.
My MSFFB 2 is usb version, stay away from gameport version. I suggest you look at input output forum for further reading about the joystick. Search for it, its plenty.

Good luck
__________________
Swa Bhuana Paksa
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:25 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.