[ME-MOD] Coalition Modification and Information - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2015, 03:03 AM   #1
Grimes
Beta Tester
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 8,126
Default [ME-MOD] Coalition Modification and Information

Version for 1.5 or greater now available. Special thanks to uboats for helping with it. Find it here.
Download from Github


I've seen numerous requests or questions on how to update your coalitions after a mission has been created, considering how un-user friendly that task is I decided to do something about it and modded the functionality into the mission editor. The primary purpose of this mod is to add countries to a mission you forgot to add. However it can switch existing countries to the other team or remove it by moving it to neutral.


How to use:
The panel is available via a button at the bottom of the mission briefing screen.
On the panel you can freely move countries around as you see fit.

"Check" will display an information box on the left showing the changes you have made along with how many (if any exist) groups and units belonging to that country will be moved.

"OK" Executes the changes, if any.

"Cancel" will change nothing.

Once anything is changed, save the mission.

Important notes.
For this initial release you MUST save the mission file after changing the coalitions. I haven't quite figured out how to update the map screen to reflect changes made and saving the file is the only way to force the map to update.

At the moment the script doesn't "fix" or verify any issue that might be created by moving countries from one team to another. So you best be sure you want to make the change and always have a backup save-file.

Triggers and AI tasks.
Group and unit ids of all groups and units will stay the same, so triggers won't be effected unless you remove groups via setting that country to neutral. Tasks also will not change, but the execution of behavior might. For example you have an 'Attack Group" task or similar setup to attack a group of Russian tanks, and then change Russia to blue, that task will still be active and in game the AI will attack what is now a friendly group.

How to install:
-Extract attached rar file into your root DCS install.
-Two briefing files have been modified from the default game to add the button so you will be asked to overwrite 2 files.


I plan to update the script with map updating if possible.

Enjoy.

__________________
The right man in the wrong place makes all the difference in the world.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum

Last edited by Grimes; 02-18-2020 at 09:51 PM.
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:09 AM   #2
graywo1fg
Beta Tester
 
graywo1fg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,798
Default



YESSSSSSSSSSSSS
graywo1fg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:58 AM   #3
Stonehouse
Senior Member
 
Stonehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,336
Default

That's just excellent. Absolutely it is the worst thing building a mission and finding out half way through that you accidently forgot a country for a coalition or got a country added to the wrong side
Stonehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 04:10 AM   #4
Nevyn
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 194
Default

Finally. Thanks Grimes.
Nevyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 12:43 PM   #5
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,255
Default

My sentiments exactly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywo1fg View Post

YESSSSSSSSSSSSS
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 01:47 PM   #6
Stuka
Beta Tester
 
Stuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 985
Default

"You must spread reputation....."

Good job Grimes.
__________________

Windows 10|i7 7700K @4800|32GB DDR3|GTX 1070|TM Warthog HOTAS|Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals|TM MFDs + Lilliput 8"|TIR5 Pro

Stuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:31 PM   #7
Invisibull
Member
 
Invisibull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 417
Default

Thanks for this, Grimes.
__________________
i9 9900k - GTX 2080 Ti - MSI Z87 GD65 Mobo - 64GB HyperX Predator RGB DDR4 3200MHz - Win10 64 bit - TM Warthog w FSSB R3 mod - TrackIr 5.


23rd Fighting Hawks - Viper Squadron



Join us @ https://discord.gg/yHSat4q




Invisibull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 07:22 AM   #8
Spanker79
Member
 
Spanker79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GREECE/VOLOS
Posts: 272
Default

NICE!!!
__________________
Lock-On Greece / DCS World Greece http://lockon-greece.forumotion.net/
Spanker79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 07:38 AM   #9
HiJack
Veteran
 
HiJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,785
Default

Awesome!
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit FTW!
My DCS Tools:
Quick Airfield information , Better trim with the X52 Pro , Tacview Glideslopes

Spoiler:

ASUS Z97-PRO, Socket-1150
Intel® Core i7-4770K Processor overclocked to @ 4.20 GHz
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133MHz CL9 4x8GB
Sapphire Radeon TRI-X R9 390X 8GB "OC"
Samsung SSD 850PRO 1TB SSD
WD 2TB Black 3,5", SATA64MB Cache, Dual Processor, 7200RPM
Windows 7 64-bit
Philips 40" 4K LED BDM4065UC, ASUS 27” and Dell 24” screens
HiJack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 08:55 PM   #10
PB4Tazman
Junior Member
 
PB4Tazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gibsonville NC
Posts: 74
Default

Thank you!

Very much needed and appreciated!
PB4Tazman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.