SAM Questions - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2018, 01:23 AM   #11
FlankerMan
Member
 
FlankerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Michigan, USA.
Posts: 419
Default

Alright, here're some, one of the S-300PS, and one of the Patriot. Notice, at least with the S-300PS, the inaccuracy of the missiles when it comes to dealing with enemy fighters, but the extreme accuracy with which they destroy enemy anti-radar missiles.

By the way, I've taken to making missions with just computer-controlled units and watching the outcome, and these are both like that.
Attached Files
File Type: trk S-300PS Testing Mission.trk (127.7 KB, 11 views)
File Type: trk Patriot Testing Mission.trk (141.9 KB, 14 views)
__________________
DCS Su-30SM+Su-35?

Last edited by FlankerMan; 08-19-2018 at 08:28 PM.
FlankerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 07:39 AM   #12
pepin1234
Senior Member
 
pepin1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,197
Default

As you can see in your track the SAM start launch at ~47km. In Your track the F-16 altitud is about 2000m and very low speed for the task. that's should be change it.


I modified your track with more speed for the SEAD fighters and 4000m altitud. those changes made the SAM start launch from ~57km, 10km more. So you can test more altitud you will get more range reaction for the SAM.


also I made a second track for you to show the SAM never must be alone in battlefield, so you can see the difference. I made some SAMs levels unfortunately the S-300 get very soon out of ammo.
Attached Files
File Type: trk S-300PS Testing Mission mod1.trk (2.23 MB, 11 views)
File Type: trk S-300PS Testing Mission mod2.trk (3.04 MB, 12 views)
__________________

Last edited by pepin1234; 08-19-2018 at 12:49 PM.
pepin1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 12:56 PM   #13
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,702
Default

Are search and track radars actually simulated differently in DCS? Or can a track radar search for targets just fine and missiles be guided by search radars as well?
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 02:52 PM   #14
Cik
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 422
Default

SAM missiles are SARH. as far as i know, search radars can't lock you and thus they can't guide missiles at all.


SA-3/6/10 can't shoot without target engagement radars that i've ever seen.
Cik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 03:02 PM   #15
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cik View Post
SAM missiles are SARH. as far as i know, search radars can't lock you and thus they can't guide missiles at all.


SA-3/6/10 can't shoot without target engagement radars that i've ever seen.
True, now that you say that, I can't remember ever been locked up by a search radar.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 04:34 PM   #16
Lithion
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: ETO
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
True, now that you say that, I can't remember ever been locked up by a search radar.
The tracking radars in DCS usually know when you're flying into their engagement envelope, but I guess when they're accompanied with a Search radar, they just lock you when they're getting ready to fire, leaving them undiscovered for longer? Not sure if they use these tactics, IRL they'd stay hidden until you're closing into the no-escape zone.
__________________
T.16000m HOTAS || TrackIR5 ||
Win10 64bit || 120+500GB SSD, 1TB HDD || i5 4440 @3.1-3GHz || 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz || GTX1070 G1 ||

FCIII, L39C/ZA, CA, AJS-37, F/A-18C, Persian Gulf
Lithion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 05:28 PM   #17
FlankerMan
Member
 
FlankerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Michigan, USA.
Posts: 419
Default

Pepin1234, I’ll check out those tracks when I can, right now I’m not home. About what you said about altitude and speed, I told those F-16s to go to 7,000 meters MSL and 700 KM/H by waypoint 1, but they didn’t obey. Should I have just had them start at the higher altitude and speed?

As for what you said about the SA-10 being alone, I know, but this mission was just for testing the SA-10. Otherwise, I’d have a few Tors there as well.

By the way, Cik, I think I've occasionally seen the SA-10 fire after the tracking radar has been destroyed, though maybe I'm mistaken. Either way, it wouldn't make sense for it to be able to.
__________________
DCS Su-30SM+Su-35?

Last edited by FlankerMan; 08-19-2018 at 09:32 PM.
FlankerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 08:01 PM   #18
FlankerMan
Member
 
FlankerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Michigan, USA.
Posts: 419
Default

Okay, I've had time to watch the tracks, and I've got a fair amount to say:

1-pepin1234, do you think you could post the straight missions, so I could look at them and possibly modify them?

2-About the second one...Don't you think you should have had at least a few escort fighters for the F-16s?

3-In my Patriot mission, why did two of the Su-24Ms go away, and how can I prevent this? I can post the actual missions if need be.

4-Lastly, and this is just an unimportant statement, have any of you guessed what I did for the S-300PS and Patriot missions? I simply saved a template of the SA-10 and Patriot systems from Fortress Mozdok, after slightly modifying some of the units' headings.
__________________
DCS Su-30SM+Su-35?

Last edited by FlankerMan; 08-19-2018 at 09:32 PM.
FlankerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 08:05 PM   #19
pepin1234
Senior Member
 
pepin1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlankerMan View Post
Pepin1234, Should I have just had them start at the higher altitude and speed?
Just set the first next WPT not too far with the right speed (more than 850k/h)

I need to look your Patriot. Yesterday not time for this one.
__________________
pepin1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 09:24 PM   #20
FlankerMan
Member
 
FlankerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Michigan, USA.
Posts: 419
Default

Okay, here're the missions, as well as a couple of others. Please note that with the first two, there may be a few slight differences, as they are not the originals. I'd deleted the originals for some reason. This is my best replication.

Notice 2 things about the Patriot range mission:

1-The Patriots are excellent at engaging ARMs.

2-The Su-24s split up. Are they, like, loners or something?

3-Again, why the abysmal fire-hit ratio, including with the S-300?
Attached Files
File Type: miz S-300PS Testing Mission.miz (7.6 KB, 10 views)
File Type: miz Patriot Testing Mission.miz (7.3 KB, 10 views)
File Type: miz SA-10 Range Test.miz (7.7 KB, 10 views)
File Type: miz Patriot Range Test.miz (7.2 KB, 10 views)
__________________
DCS Su-30SM+Su-35?

Last edited by FlankerMan; 08-19-2018 at 11:38 PM.
FlankerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:25 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.