DCS: NS430 for Yak-52? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2018, 09:16 AM   #11
cordite
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 118
Default

+1 Please make it available in more aircraft.
cordite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 12:31 PM   #12
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uboats View Post
+1 and hope su-25 too
The Su-25 doesn't have a clickable cockpit so I don't see how this could happen.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 12:33 PM   #13
rrohde
Veteran
 
rrohde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 3,494
Default

+1
__________________

PC: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz @ 5.1GHz | MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB VRAM | ASUS Maximus IX Hero | Corsair LPX 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 RAM | 27" Acer Monitor (2560x1440) | 512GB Samsung 850 PRO SSD | Win10 Pro 64bit | Oculus Rift CV1 | VKB Gunfighter Pro Mk.II /w MCG PRO





Chizh on the question as to why DCS development seems slower and slower: "Slower than 20 years ago? - Yes. The slowdown is primarily due to increased requirements for quality. Very few modelers are able to provide it."



rrohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 07:07 PM   #14
Weta43
ED Testers Team
 
Weta43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aro Valley Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 6,440
Default

Quote:
The Su-25 doesn't have a clickable cockpit so I don't see how this could happen.
By using keyboard shortcuts as for the Abris ?
__________________
Cheers.
Weta43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 08:48 AM   #15
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 1,003
Default

This wouldn't be very convenient...
Moreover, from what I know, military aircrafts are not equiped with civilian GPS like the NS430. Now I could be wrong, feel free to correct me if that's the case.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 09:47 AM   #16
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: NC, U.S.
Posts: 687
Default

Mi-8 is an example of a military aircraft with the GPS. Now you are thinking of old tech aircraft which can still be modified, i'm very sure that versions like the Su-25TM have modern instruments in now
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 11:49 AM   #17
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirius View Post
Mi-8 is an example of a military aircraft with the GPS. Now you are thinking of old tech aircraft which can still be modified, i'm very sure that versions like the Su-25TM have modern instruments in now
Mi-8 is used by civil companies as well. They're the only ones I've seen equiped with a NS430.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 12:51 PM   #18
msalama
Veteran
 
msalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,159
Default

Quote:
military aircrafts are not equiped with civilian GPS
I think I've recently seen a photo of a Syrian L-39 having a Garmin in the cockpit.
__________________
...aaaand yes, the Huey is still getting some luuurve http://www.belsimtek.com/upload/docs/development-tasks.pdf
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 11:51 PM   #19
Weta43
ED Testers Team
 
Weta43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aro Valley Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 6,440
Default

Quote:
This wouldn't be very convenient...
Moreover, from what I know, military aircrafts are not equiped with civilian GPS like the NS430. Now I could be wrong, feel free to correct me if that's the case.
Neither is using the keyboard to change ripple settings, pylons or gun settings, but it is what it is...

I'd have expected the Russian military to use GLONASS, but there's at least one video on youtube of an Su-25A with a very garminesque GPS system bolted into the cockpit...

It will be selectable if it is added as a module for Su-25 and bought, if it were GLONASS it would have the same functions, so no-one makes/allows anyone use anything that adds any abilities that are unavailable in real life...
__________________
Cheers.

Last edited by Weta43; 03-16-2018 at 11:58 PM.
Weta43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 02:49 PM   #20
Schmidtfire
Member
 
Schmidtfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 746
Default

For while during the 90's they even put consumer GPS into the Tomcat (during combat ops over yugoslavia). More precise than the old INS but a bit risky to trust a couple of AA batteries that had to be swapped Later on they made sure to hook them up to external power from the aircraft.

You could probably mount the NS430 to about anything, so I don't think it would be an unrealistic addon for most modules.
Schmidtfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:48 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.