DCS World 2 and Steam Fragmentation - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2017, 04:01 AM   #1
russiandivxclub
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Default DCS World 2 and Steam Fragmentation

I really hate to have 2 separate DCS World installations and accounts but I think I have no choice. From what I understand DCS World 2 engine is so much better than 1.5 that anyone should use it instead of 1.5 but being I am a Steam user I can't. It's not available for me. I wonder why. Steam have nice BETA options that we all use for latest 1.5.x open beta but there is no 2.0.

Is there a reason why we don't have 2.0 in the steam and are forced to have stand alone client ? I mean it's really no matter if purchases you make on one works with another but from what I see they're not. I mean If I purchase a module on Steam it'll work on my stand alone but if I purchase something here it will NOT work on steam , well that sad.

Anyhow anyone have any idea on what DCS World 2 will be available on steam for purchase ? And IF there is no date I guess my only question is this because I am not clear on it. All current aircrafts and missions and everything I have on 1.5, will it work on 2.0 ? LEt's say Nice SU25T missions, will I be able to fly them on 2.0 with updated engine ? Because I am looking to upgrade only for a reason because from what I understand my current 2 way SLI of 980 card does nothing for a game and in 2.0 they're actually in use vs. having CPU do all heavy lifting.

Thank you guys !
russiandivxclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 08:42 AM   #2
Buzzles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Northern Europe
Posts: 2,466
Default

Why use Steam for DCS?

Standalone gets updates more frequently, you can run whatever and multiple versions, you get the modules earlier and if you really really want some of the Steam features, you can just add it as a Non-Steam game into Steam anyway.

To answer your questions on why: There's only one release version of DCS World. That version is currently 1.5.xx.

2.0 is an alpha version for terrain module testing.

You'll get 2.5 at some point when the great merge happens and 2.5 becomes the Release version. Hopefully later this year.
Buzzles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 09:15 AM   #3
grunf
Senior Member
 
grunf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,251
Default

Steam allows only two different branches. Currently these are the release and beta, open alpha had to be left out, until they are merged into 2.5.

Poslano sa mog HTC Desire 530 koristeći Tapatalk
grunf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 10:43 AM   #4
Ramsay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grunf View Post
Steam allows only two different branches.
Steam allows more than two branches.

For example Kerbal Space Program has release and 3 'beta' versions to test pre-release and/or support older mod's.
  • release [opt out of beta]
  • pre-release - 1.2.9
  • previous - 1.0.5
  • previous - 1.1.3

However Steam has a refund policy that allows users to refund alpha/early access software that fails to meet it's promises, regardless of hours played in the 'beta' version (IIRC enforced by consumer laws that expect goods 'fit for purpose/as described').

IMHO when developers manage expectations, early access is a good thing, however beta build refunds are open to abuse from buyers, hence ED's possible caution in terms of abuse from and support of a less sophisticated user base.

Edit: I'm not sure if Steam support's beta DLC's, which may be a bigger issue for map packs/modules and consumer law ?

Last edited by Ramsay; 04-12-2017 at 10:53 AM.
Ramsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 07:26 PM   #5
Arsonist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Leverkusen, Germany
Posts: 47
Default

I also saw similar behaviour for Factorio. Right now you have three different versions for download there, via the "Betas" tab. Also when they released the last major update (0.14) they had basically all minor changes as seperate downloads, which they put out in a short time after the major release and I expect a similar behaviour when they release 0.15 in the upcoming weeks. It was around 10 different beta versions.
But on these forums here I've seen it beeing mentioned, that ED have stated they do not release multiple early access versions because it would not be possible with Steam. Maybe it would be a good idea that those people, who claim this to be true, would provide a link to an official ED source with said statement. I assume ED has good reasons for not bringing DCS 2.0.x to Steam but a restriction of the amount of possible early access versions might not be it.

On possible restrictions for DLC during early access by Steam:
I also don't believe that to be true, given that Studio Wildcard could/can sell Scorched Earth as DLC while Ark is still in early access.

Furthermore, I'm not in favor of people trying to advertise the DCS standalone version with "gets updates more frequently" and the like. Those more frequent updates are related to the early access versions for testing, the stable gets the same updates via Steam, just a bit later.
However, using an alpha or beta version of a game means that there are bugs to be expected and the developers want feedback on them. It is meant for people who are willingly playing, possibly broken, games to report the issues to the developer to be fixed. It does not help the developer if people play the test versions because of faster updates, without properly reporting issues.
A better way could be to point out that the standalone version has more sales, in fact every week. If this is a good strategy, I don't know. I guess it is not, given the threads in this forum of people asking for sales of different modules.
But that would be another discussion.
Arsonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 08:12 PM   #6
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 1,864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by russiandivxclub View Post
Anyhow anyone have any idea on what DCS World 2 will be available on steam for purchase ?

You probably meant "when" ... as I understand, DCS 2.0 will never be available on Steam ... what will happen is that (hopefully) later this year both version 1.5 and 2.1 will "merge" into a single version: DCS 2.5 ... and that version is the one that will make it into Steam.


By the way, 2.1 is the next version of 2.0, that will appear at the end of May to support the Normandy map, in adition to Nevada.


Quote:
All current aircrafts and missions and everything I have on 1.5, will it work on 2.0 ?

Yes, all current aircraft will work on 2.5 ... also Missions and Campaigns will work too, but they have to be used on the Map they were designed for. If you have a Campaign that currently runs on the Caucasus Map, it will not run in Nevada or Normandy.


Quote:
Because I am looking to upgrade only for a reason because from what I understand my current 2 way SLI of 980 card does nothing for a game and in 2.0 they're actually in use vs. having CPU do all heavy lifting.

In my opinion, upgrading DCS just to have a graphics card fully used isnt really a good enough reason .., and since 2.5 is still several months away, you are probably better off selling the two 980 and replacing them with a single 1080 or 1080ti


... on my case, I want to upgrade to 2.5 to have more Maps available to fly and just a single saved games location, without the hassle of having two separate versions of the game (with two separate control configs, logbook and preferences).


Best regards.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 08:07 PM   #7
Arsonist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Leverkusen, Germany
Posts: 47
Default

Just a small update to my previous post, to provide a source.

As one can see in the attached screenshot, right now Factorio has a few versions on Steam.
All the 0.15 versions are beta (obviously) and have been uploaded during the last four days.


Click image for larger version

Name:	SteamMultipleBetaVersions.png
Views:	234
Size:	45.1 KB
ID:	161450
Arsonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 08:20 PM   #8
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,387
Default

It doesn't really matter what other companies do. I am sure ED knows what they can and cannot do on Steam.

Either way, DCS v2 is not available on Steam and it really does not matter why. It is what it is.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 04:10 PM   #9
Drag0nWIng+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 319
Default

ed boyz just want every steamer use standalone edition,
but i won't do that, just waiting the released date with patient.
will everyone like to blame steam.
lol
Drag0nWIng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 04:13 PM   #10
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drag0nWIng View Post
ed boyz just want every steamer use standalone edition,
Of course ED would prefer that. Revenue is important and Steam takes a significant cut from every transaction.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1.5, 2.0, 980, sli, steam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.