DCS: Combined Arms Wish List - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2012, 09:46 AM   #21
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,125
Default

Quote:
Ability to produce smoke, either by exhaust or 360 degree smoke launcher's ( on relevant vehicles )
Workaround...drive backwards. can't see anything then!!
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 07:16 PM   #22
Nickadeemous
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Default

I would like to see the M1 Abrams modeled correctly. The sight for the main gun is not the real world site at all. it more resembles the GAS Sight which is the Gunner Aux sight. Its a backup site to the main one. Real Abrams you line up the target on the retical, then fire the Laser Range finder, then pull the trigger. Unless your a bad gunner you dont miss. Stabalization on the main gun when your tracking a target. Unless you just fell off a cliff the gun doesnt move off the target. After serving for 4 years and 1 war on an abrams, i was very disappointed in the abilities depicted thus far. But maybe i have a unique perspective LOL
Nickadeemous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 07:24 PM   #23
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,956
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickadeemous View Post
I would like to see the M1 Abrams modeled correctly. The sight for the main gun is not the real world site at all. it more resembles the GAS Sight which is the Gunner Aux sight. Its a backup site to the main one. Real Abrams you line up the target on the retical, then fire the Laser Range finder, then pull the trigger. Unless your a bad gunner you dont miss. Stabalization on the main gun when your tracking a target. Unless you just fell off a cliff the gun doesnt move off the target. After serving for 4 years and 1 war on an abrams, i was very disappointed in the abilities depicted thus far. But maybe i have a unique perspective LOL
Yes I can understand being disappointed in CA in your case, however see below to get an idea of where CA is aimed.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wags View Post
Here is a very basic hands on of how I generally use the Command Map when playing. Nothing fancy here and no voice over. Once CA is near final, I will do a very detailed Producer's Note.

Some items to keep in mind about CA:

1- CA is NOT intended to be a study level simulation of ground combat. It is meant to have a very shallow learning curve. Later on, I would expect to see study-level simulations of individual units.

2- This is still very much an early beta. As such, there are of course many bugs, missing items, and much tuning to be done.

3- For larger feature items that are out of scope, it's my hope that there will be a CA 2.0.

4- Myself and the team are carefully reading feedback and this will effect changes to the final CA version.

Thanks

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 07:51 PM   #24
Boberro
Veteran
 
Boberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 6,025
Default

So far I'd like:

  • personal F7 view - sometimes I press F7 and cycle through vehicles and press F1. But if I press F7 again I won't see my vehicle but the last one I saw;
  • some kind of "life" - how many HP you've got left.... but it has low priority;
  • basic radar - something like Ka-50 arcade has would be enough;
  • some icons above vehicles (and air) for allies - by whom unit is being controlled at the moment - similar to the World of Tanks icons:
    Spoiler:
  • reloading time as a timer or progress bar;
  • don't know it'd be realistic enough to accept but some kind of aim helper - ie. which could show optimal fire position relative to the locked target. Some kind of compensation of lacking full vehicle aim helpers.
__________________
Reminder: Fighter pilots make movies. Bomber pilots make... HISTORY! | French tanks have 1 gear forward and 5 backward
| ಠ_ಠ |


Last edited by Boberro; 07-14-2012 at 07:55 PM.
Boberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:05 PM   #25
ALDEGA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALDEGA View Post
It would useful to have a list of the controllable units in the F10 view that you can filter by type (JTAC, artillery, armor ...).
You'd select a type of unit from a dropdown list, then select a unit from the list which would select it on the map (and put it in the center of the view if it's outside the current F10 view) ...
.
ALDEGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:11 PM   #26
diveplane+
Posting Rights Revoked
 
diveplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,401
Default

options setting for automatic gears maybe? = arcade easy mode
diveplane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:00 PM   #27
Purg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 193
Default

As long as we've got a wish list going - a client for my Android tablet so I can control ground vehicles through F10 while I'm in the cockpit.
Purg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:59 PM   #28
Wolfie+
Posting Rights Revoked
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickadeemous View Post
I would like to see the M1 Abrams modeled correctly. The sight for the main gun is not the real world site at all. it more resembles the GAS Sight which is the Gunner Aux sight. Its a backup site to the main one. Real Abrams you line up the target on the retical, then fire the Laser Range finder, then pull the trigger. Unless your a bad gunner you dont miss. Stabalization on the main gun when your tracking a target. Unless you just fell off a cliff the gun doesnt move off the target. After serving for 4 years and 1 war on an abrams, i was very disappointed in the abilities depicted thus far. But maybe i have a unique perspective LOL
You need to wait for DCS: M1A2 TUSK. CA isn't it. Even ACE in Arma2 hasn't been able to make a decent tank yet. And they've been around for years. Though I'm sure someday, ED's going to make a really realistic M1A2 module (I hope!).

Last edited by Wolfie; 07-14-2012 at 11:03 PM.
Wolfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 11:41 PM   #29
Tac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Tanks to be fully modeled and less simplified.
Commandable from different positions
Toggle range circles for each individual unit
More realistic JTAC functionality
More time coordination capabilities
More realistic map control and interface - ability to delineate the battlefield, yes straight from DA.

Overall, more hardcore.

Last edited by Tac; 07-14-2012 at 11:43 PM.
Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:11 AM   #30
tusler
Member
 
tusler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hemet,CA
Posts: 786
Default

Bump on some kind of moving map GPS? while in 1st person
__________________
Ask Jesus for Forgiveness before you takeoff !
PC=Win 7 HP 64 bit, MSI Mil Class II P67A-GD55, Intel 2600K, 16gig ram, Nvidia 1070 8gig video. TM HOTAS WARTHOG with Saitek Pedals
tusler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
capture the island, command and conquer, cti, rts

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.