Intel i5-10600K vs Ryzen 7 3700X - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2020, 12:03 PM   #31
Dudikoff
Senior Member
 
Dudikoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croatia / Lebanon
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
3rd..and maybe most important. With the recent updates, Bios, FW installs for Intel ME and Microcodes I have dropped considerably behind a stock clocked 8700k around a year ago in Cinebench R20. I run 5G all-Core and this default 8700k in the databank from Cinebench gains 500 points more ( around that ), 3300 vs 3800 points. How come ??
It's probably related to those Spectre and Meltdown patches which mitigated exploits related to the branch prediction which was an important feature for performance in these Intel CPUs IIRC.

Regarding the IRST problem, did you try completely removing those drivers? I don't think they're necessary even if you have RAID. RAID will still work with some default Microsoft drivers (or Microsoft vetted Intel drivers). This long video issue sounds pretty much unacceptable, though I can't tell what the root cause is.

Can't comment much on the sleep problems, but it's normally a driver issue and I have those sometimes on these Intel based laptops I've been using for the last decade (like e.g. some sound issue or network cutting out after awaking). The best approach from my experience (at least since Windows 10) seems to be not to install any drivers yourself except for the GPU or for devices Windows can't identify. If it ain't broke, don't try to fix it, that kind of a thing, I guess. Of course, with so many configurations out there, your mileage may vary, of course.

The Intel is more limited in PCI-E lanes, but I suppose you're not using all that storage in parallel anyway. Thus, a better model mainboard would have had some extra SATA controller to provide for more SATA ports. I guess you could add a PCI-E card with extra SATA ports on it to solve your issue?
__________________
i386DX40@42 MHz w/i387 CP, 4 MB RAM (8*512 kB), Trident 8900C 1 MB w/16-bit RAMDAC ISA, Quantum 340 MB UDMA33, SB 16, DOS 6.22 w/QEMM + Win3.11CE, Quickshot 1btn 2axis, Numpad as hat. 2 FPH on a good day, 1 FPH avg.

DISCLAIMER: My posts are still absolutely useless. Just finding excuses not to learn the F-14 (HB's Swansong?).

Annoyed by my posts? Please consider donating. Once the target sum is reached, I'll be off to somewhere nice I promise not to post from. I'd buy that for a dollar!

Last edited by Dudikoff; 06-30-2020 at 12:08 PM.
Dudikoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 12:38 PM   #32
orcrist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 10
Default

I've a 3900X and 2080Ti, 32GB DDR4, running off a 1TB Firecuda, Rift S etc. Once I'd ironed out some of the minor 'default' issues with DCS it seems to run blazing fast in both VR and non-VR; between 110-180fps and 40-60fps in VR based on my experience so far.
__________________
Ryzen 9 3900X - X570F - 32GB DDR4 - RTX2080Ti - 1.5TB M2 - Rift S - Hotas Warthog - Razer Orbweaver

Spitfire / F16 / F18 / F14 / FC3 - Nevada / Persian Gulf / Normandy
orcrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 04:41 PM   #33
Leaderface
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orcrist View Post
I've a 3900X and 2080Ti, 32GB DDR4, running off a 1TB Firecuda, Rift S etc. Once I'd ironed out some of the minor 'default' issues with DCS it seems to run blazing fast in both VR and non-VR; between 110-180fps and 40-60fps in VR based on my experience so far.
That´s tipycal of an average 45 FPS for a Reverb everyone is getting on a strong system.
On flat screen is a very good FPS count. Clearly the developers are taking into account the Flat screen numbers and relaxing on that but VR users are on the rise, so....

We need to double the VR performance, and then: double that again for the upcoming 4K dual displays coming in a year ahead. (And enable foveated rendering with eye tracking).
Maybe some magic will happen on 2021, you never know.

Last edited by Leaderface; 06-30-2020 at 04:52 PM.
Leaderface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 06:54 PM   #34
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudikoff View Post
It's probably related to those Spectre and Meltdown patches which mitigated exploits related to the branch prediction which was an important feature for performance in these Intel CPUs IIRC.

Regarding the IRST problem, did you try completely removing those drivers? I don't think they're necessary even if you have RAID. RAID will still work with some default Microsoft drivers (or Microsoft vetted Intel drivers). This long video issue sounds pretty much unacceptable, though I can't tell what the root cause is.

Can't comment much on the sleep problems, but it's normally a driver issue and I have those sometimes on these Intel based laptops I've been using for the last decade (like e.g. some sound issue or network cutting out after awaking). The best approach from my experience (at least since Windows 10) seems to be not to install any drivers yourself except for the GPU or for devices Windows can't identify. If it ain't broke, don't try to fix it, that kind of a thing, I guess. Of course, with so many configurations out there, your mileage may vary, of course.

The Intel is more limited in PCI-E lanes, but I suppose you're not using all that storage in parallel anyway. Thus, a better model mainboard would have had some extra SATA controller to provide for more SATA ports. I guess you could add a PCI-E card with extra SATA ports on it to solve your issue?
LoL, I made a mistake I misread R20's results, the CPU is doing great actually, the higher result was MY CPU and the lower one was the default CPU...shit happens when you are sleepy.

I am unsure if taking the 2 HDD's or DVD out would solve the IRST problem. All I can say is that I had 16.2 installed and after 2004 upgrade it was 17.8, introducing the bug again.


The sleep mode problem is solved MOSTLY but not 100% by pulling the TMWH plugs. I just pulled ALL USB but K&M as I dont fly atm anyway, nor do I need Rudders or TiR to read emails . Sadly, it still happens that it wont go to sleep at times.

I have SAS cards in my drawer but this board does not have a 8x PCIe to spare, if I insert it my GPU will go 8x as well... that much to lanes and Desktop chipsets, my own fault. But when I look at AMD Threadripper prices, the cheapest one is 1.5k €....thanks NO. That is way too much entry level price for me to go back to WS class. Back in the days, a WS board and CPU was only a little more and not a ton more money. I need to consolidate data to bigger drives and finally kick the HDD's out anyway, they are getting old.

I should reinstall that PC asap, maybe in fall when school is back on and kindergarden open all week. Right now I have very little time for things like that. Wife works 6 days a week and I do the 3 kids and IT stuff from home. I really dont want to isolate myself for 3 days installing that nonsense

Maybe the 3800XT is too good to say no, July 7th will tell me
Then this rig will end as my Living room PC, with a Noctua, 1 NVMe and Linux. Problems solved
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon retrofitted EK-waterblock - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1x 860Pro 256GB - 32GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 09:10 AM   #35
t-stoff
Junior Member
 
t-stoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lx
Posts: 55
Default

I bought a i5-10600K (WC H60 Corsair) + Gigabyte Z490 Gaming X + Gskill TridentZ DDR4 32gb 3600 CL17 to match my RTX 2070 Super.
I get 90 to 100+ FPS (no VR) on the Instant Action Super Carrier Trials Mission (on the carrier deck) with the F-14
140/160 over Dubai free flight with the F/A-18.
50/75 on the ground Mission Iron Hand Nevada 75+ on the air over Nevada Nellis AB.
In VR I have a HP Reverb. I haven't tested a lot, but it's always at least 45 locked on the ground/carrier.
With this setup (my VR setup in a non VR test):

__________________

"The nation which forgets its defenders will be itself forgotten"

Last edited by t-stoff; 07-01-2020 at 02:51 PM.
t-stoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 03:17 PM   #36
Leaderface
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 52
Default

Man!, those 45 FPS numbers on HP Reverb seems to be limited in some place.
Let´s see when Ampere gets tested if that´s the problem.
Maybe the limitation lays on the game engine somewere or in the Vram memory. There are too much people with those 45 FPS ceiling.
Leaderface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 03:20 PM   #37
t-stoff
Junior Member
 
t-stoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lx
Posts: 55
Default

Il2 is kinda the same, I can't explain why as now it can go a little bit up sometimes (I did some tweaking but frankly I get lost in what changed). But avg is 45ish.
__________________

"The nation which forgets its defenders will be itself forgotten"
t-stoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 03:25 PM   #38
Leaderface
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t-stoff View Post
Il2 is kinda the same, I can't explain why as now it can go a little bit up sometimes (I did some tweaking but frankly I get lost in what changed). But avg is 45ish.
I´ve read that FPS on IL2 were improved with the last patch.
Maybe only the sttutering if you see the same ceiling.
I even think War thunder have the same ceiling oproximately, but have not seen decent info on that.

What the.....

Last edited by Leaderface; 07-01-2020 at 03:28 PM.
Leaderface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 03:28 PM   #39
t-stoff
Junior Member
 
t-stoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lx
Posts: 55
Default

The only thing I see at the moment are some flashs from time to time (IL2). But yeah, maybe it was the patch. But in VR everything is smooth even if the FPS doesn't transmit the idea, not as smooth as Non-VR, but good.
__________________

"The nation which forgets its defenders will be itself forgotten"
t-stoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 03:31 PM   #40
Leaderface
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 52
Default

Let´s see if the Titan Guy on that thread give us numbers (allthought it´s not an HP Reverb).
Leaderface is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, intel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:05 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.