My experience with RTX 2080 on DCS - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2019, 03:38 PM   #1
monovdd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Default My experience with RTX 2080 on DCS

So first of all, please apologize my english is not my native language.

Anyway I have an RTX 2080 since a couple of months and I want to share my experience.

With RTX 2080 and an I7 7700k runing at 4.7 with DDR4 16G 2800 and playing at 1080p I need to put shadows at plain and put a bit low the visual distance to compensate the use of VRAM.

So in my experience if you want to upgrade from a 1080 go for a TI card like a 2080ti or even the 1080ti. The RTX 2080 does not have all the VRAM that the game needs to run it well.
monovdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 04:21 PM   #2
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 1,963
Default

It's just a shame nVidia didn't up the VRAM on the 20s, but skyrocketed their price tags at the same time...
__________________
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 07:51 PM   #3
Harlikwin
Senior Member
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1,652
Default

Yeah I'm routinely maxing the VRAM on the 2080ti.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 08:07 PM   #4
BaD CrC
Senior Member
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,373
Default

Looks like DCS is using almost all the VRAM it can. My 2080Ti is running at 93% VRAM with 11Gb available.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 11:14 PM   #5
Backy 51
Member
 
Backy 51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL240
Posts: 894
Default

How do you think the Radeon VII with 16GB VRAM would perform? At $697, it seems like a good value.
__________________
I don't need no stinkin' GPS!



SPECS:
Spoiler:

INTEL i7-6700 - 32GB RAM
GeForce 1070 GTX FE on Samsung 40" 4K UHD TV
Corsair K70 RGB + Stream Deck and TrackIR 4 Pro

TM Warthog and Cougar MFDs w/CH Pro Pedals
Win 10 Pro 64-bit on 1TB M.2 SSD



HANGAR:
Spoiler:

A-10C AV-8B F-5E F-14A F-18C F-86 FC3 Hawk M-2000 P-51 UH-1
FW-190 MiG-15/21
Nevada Normandy Persian Gulf TACView CombatFlite WWII Assets
Backy 51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.