RVV-AE Tips - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2018, 02:14 PM   #31
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlankerMan View Post
Um, how exactly do I open the track? It always wants me to look for it in the app store.
You download it to your computer and open it in the sim. From the Main Menu, select REPLAY. Then select the track and load it. The default location for saved tracks is the Tracks folder in your Saved Games folder. That's where I'd put it to make navigating to it easier.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 03:04 PM   #32
JunMcKill
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mexico
Posts: 773
Default

I remember that in DCS is not simulated the weapons detachment due high speed, the SU-27SK manual say that the maximum speed with weapons is about 1200 to 1300 km/h, or the missile can detach from the pylon. I think that the MIG-29 should have similar limitations.





Where with weapons in the options 1-2 should not exceed of 1300 km/h, and 3-7 of 1200 Km/h

There is not speed limits for the options 2 x R-73 in positions 7, 8, and 2 x R-27ER1 (or 2 x R-27R1) in positions 1 and 2.

Last edited by JunMcKill; 01-18-2018 at 05:21 PM.
JunMcKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 03:33 PM   #33
zhukov032186
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlankerMan View Post
Not really related, but I just hit 1,620km/h in the MiG-29S! Of course, the canopy was off, no external stores were being carried (not even ammo, chaff, or flares), the landing gear, flaps, and airbrake were all retracted, the computer was yelling 'maximum speed' at me, and afterwards, either the engines turned off, or I ran out of fuel (which would also result in them turning off). Still, I think 1,620km/h counts! Do any of you agree?
I reached mach 2.4 in the F-15 @ 35,000ft, or about 2,550kmh and zoom climbed to roughly 88,000ft The sky turns dark and you can see the stars that high, try it sometime! Load external tanks to feed it and jettison them as you drain them. The fuel will feed your acceleration, and as you drop them, you'll reduce drag/weight and be able to go even faster.
__________________
Roses are red, violets are blue
Can you see me? Cause I can see youuuuuu
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 04:33 PM   #34
Alfa
Veteran
 
Alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 4,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JunMcKill View Post
I remember that in DCS is not simulated the weapons detachment due high speed, the SU-27SK manual say that the maximum speed with weapons is about 1200 to 1300 km/h, or the missile can detach from the pylon. I think that the MIG-29 should have similar limitations.
In the German Luftwaffe manual for the MiG-29, there is a chart listing limitations in regards to speed and acceleration(Gs) for external stores.

When carrying e.g. two R-27Rs on the inner wing pylons(the only ones compatible with the weapon), there is no speed limitation other than those that exist for the aircraft as such in various flight regimes. There is a slight limitation in regards to acceleration - max +8 /-1.5 Gs for the R-27R, while its +9/-1.5 for the R-73.

For fuel tanks however, the maximum allowed speed is Mach 1.5 with the centerline tank and 0.9 for wing tanks. Acceleration limit is +4/-1.5 for the centerline tank when full/partly full and no limit when empty - for the wing tanks its +4/-1.0 when full/partly full and +6/-1.0 when empty.
__________________
JJ
Alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 08:50 PM   #35
FlankerMan
Member
 
FlankerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 314
Default

Okay, I watched the track, and it's very impressive, but I have a couple questions:

1-Was there any trick to what you did? You were flying lower, and I think slower, than the enemy.

2-Unrelated, but how come I can't get the pilot body to show up in my cockpit?

I also set a new speed record: 2,000km/h IAS.
FlankerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 09:04 PM   #36
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlankerMan View Post
Okay, I watched the track, and it's very impressive, but I have a couple questions:

1-Was there any trick to what you did? You were flying lower, and I think slower, than the enemy.
No tricks. If slower and lower it was more accidental than purposeful and neither the speed or altitude difference were all that much. The range available is due to both aircrafts speeds and altitudes. If either aircraft had been subsonic or at low altitude, R-Max would have been substantially less.

On a slightly different note, when guiding a SARH missile for the kill, I try to stay below the target so that my radar is in a look-up situation. But that wasn't the case here.

Quote:
2-Unrelated, but how come I can't get the pilot body to show up in my cockpit?

I also set a new speed record: 2,000km/h IAS.
Do you have it selected in the Options Menu? It reads something like: "Show pilot body when available."

Speed is good. Speed saves lives.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 12:37 AM   #37
zhukov032186
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlankerMan View Post
2-Unrelated, but how come I can't get the pilot body to show up in my cockpit?
Not all of them have pilot bodies. I'm unsure if the MiG-29 does, I usually disable that because the body sometimes blocks instruments.
__________________
Roses are red, violets are blue
Can you see me? Cause I can see youuuuuu
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 04:12 PM   #38
FlankerMan
Member
 
FlankerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhukov032186 View Post
Not all of them have pilot bodies. I'm unsure if the MiG-29 does.
Yeah, I reenabled it, and the Su-27 had a pilot, but the MiG-29S didn't.

I guess I've got about all the information I need. Just one quick thing: Is it more advantageous in a MiG-29S to have 4 R-73s+2 R-77s, or 2 R-73s+4 R-77s, or 2 R-27ERs+2 R-73s+2 R-77s, or, lastly, 2 R-27ETs+2 R-73s+2 R-77s?
FlankerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 05:56 PM   #39
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlankerMan View Post
Yeah, I reenabled it, and the Su-27 had a pilot, but the MiG-29S didn't.

I guess I've got about all the information I need. Just one quick thing: Is it more advantageous in a MiG-29S to have 4 R-73s+2 R-77s, or 2 R-73s+4 R-77s, or 2 R-27ERs+2 R-73s+2 R-77s, or, lastly, 2 R-27ETs+2 R-73s+2 R-77s?
I sort of like your last option myself: two medium-range ARH missiles, 2 medium-range IR missiles and 2 WVR heaters. But it really depends on the task and how quickly, if at all, you expect the BVR duel to turn WVR.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:13 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.