using a television as a monitor - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2020, 07:01 PM   #1
jscrmr001
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Default using a television as a monitor

Hi, I am thinking of buying a new tv to use as a monitor to go with a bigger screen. My computer specs are Intel Core i7 - 16GB Memory - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 - 1TB Hard Drive + 240GB Solid State Drive , and I have trackir. I am currently using an ASUS - MG28UQ 28" LED 4K UHD Monitor. I was wondering if anyone that is using a tv had any recommendations as far as specs and size and what they are using. Thanks, Jeff.
jscrmr001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 08:28 PM   #2
Aurelius
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Mountain View, CA - USA
Posts: 785
Default

I switched to TV screens more than 10 years ago for their real estate and have never gone back to a 30 inch or smaller monitor. I currently use a 65 inch 4K LG OLED C9 model with Alexa support built in. You can connect your smart TV to your 1080 card by HDMI and configure through the Nvidia Control Panel, ... super easy. Monitor manufacturers would like for you to believe that you need to game at 144 Hz or higher, ..... bullshit. In double blind studies, 97% of people cannot tell the difference between 144 Hz over 60 Hz gaming. (The rods at the periphery of the retina are as sensitive as 1/700 of a second (~ 1.42 ms) but as background noise to the LGN and V1 increases, this becomes a wash) Since you have a 1080 card, the best way to play DCS is through VR, which I highly recommend you try.
__________________
The beauty of the Multiverse can best be appreciated by learning the language that Mother Nature truly speaks in, ...... mathematics.

i9-10940X - ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega - 64 GB 3600 MHz - EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra - VKB Kosmosima SCE - Custom CH Pro Throttle - Slaw Viper RX V2 - Rift S/Reverb

If you have a chance, give Calculus or Differential Equations a try!


JayTheSkepticalEngineer.com

Last edited by Aurelius; 05-22-2020 at 08:35 PM.
Aurelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:50 AM   #3
Nodak
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 196
Default

One thing to be aware of, if you use a VR headset, depending on your card, it may run the second HDMI with only half the frames to your TV.
Nodak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 11:01 AM   #4
Razorback
Member
 
Razorback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brussels
Posts: 618
Default

Same for me, I am building my Mi-24P simpit and I want to switch from a normal PC monitor to a TV screen 55 Inches...
Aurelius, I will check for your TV screen but other models used with DCS by other people are more than welcome !
Thxxxx
Razorback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:29 PM   #5
streakeagle
Senior Member
 
streakeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,132
Default

I have been using an LCD TV for years. I recently went from an really old Mitsubishi 46-inch 1080p LCD to a TCL 49S515 49-inch 4K that supports 60 Hz via HDMI. I had planned on getting the top 65-inch TCL 6-series, but I have my PC behind the monitor so I preferred the much lower weight of the 49-inch to ease access for repairs/upgrades. I could also carry the 49-inch home in the backseat of my car, whereas the 65-inch had to be delivered.

I have never had a 120 Hz or 144 Hz LCD. My 20-inch Samsung 1600x1200 LCD monitors that preceded the first TV were only 60 Hz. The 19-inch 1600x1200 CRT I had before that could do 85 Hz. I am one of those people that can easily see the difference between 30, 45, 60, and 90 fps. I have always been pretty happy with 45, so my Rift S settling out at 40 fps while playing DCS World doesn't kill me. But I greatly appreciate when I get a steady 60 fps on my 4K TV or better yet 80 fps on the Rift S. So, I would really like a large gaming quality monitor. TV sized gaming monitors exist that have 120 to 144 Hz refresh at 4K with display port inputs and FreeSync or G-Sync. But the prices they are asking are insane compared to TVs. I got my TCL 49-inch displays for about $300 each and the 65-inch for $600. Whereas the ASUS ROG Strix XG438Q 43" 4K 120Hz monitor is $1,100 and the ASUS Republic of Gamers Swift PG65UQ 64.5" 4K 144 Hz monitor is $4,500. I would love to have the PG65, but the extra $4,200 it costs compared to the 49S515 I am using now is not worth it to me. It simply would not be that much better, DCS World isn't going to run at 144 fps, and I fly VR more than half of the time now.

If TVs ever add DisplayPorts and truly support 120+ Hz refresh rates rather than using technology tricks to fill in the frames between the 60 Hz, there won't be a need to choose. I suspect that the actual production cost differences between the TVs and PC monitors are negligible, it is just the market exploiting people's willingness to pony up the money for good gaming hardware.
__________________
streakeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 04:19 PM   #6
Taz1004
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 87
Default

Console has been gaming on TV for ages. Shouldn't be a problem.
Taz1004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 02:24 PM   #7
Thick8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 839
Default

Go to rtings.com to compare models. They break down the different aspects of the TVs. You want the lowest input lag and ghosting levels. I ended up with a Visio TV that has a Samsung panel. It was fairly inexpensive but looks great with no lag.
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/be...e/video-gaming
__________________
Asus ROG C6H | AMD Ryzen 3600 @ 4.2Ghz | Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080ti | 32Gb Crucial DDR4/3600 | 2Tb Intel NVMe drive | Samsung Odyssey+ VR | Thrustmaster Warthog | Saitek pedals | Custom geothermal cooling loop with a homemade 40' copper heat exchanger 35' in the ground

Last edited by Thick8; 05-24-2020 at 02:30 PM.
Thick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 05:40 PM   #8
Razorback
Member
 
Razorback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brussels
Posts: 618
Default

Thx for the link, versy usefull.
Is a 4K TV really necessary?
Is a Full HD TV not enough to have already a nice resolution while keeping a correct fluidity at FPS level?
My GC is a Nvidia GeForce 1080Ti
Razorback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:14 AM   #9
Thick8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 839
Default

You can output to the TV @ 1080p and have it upscale to 4K. Low upscale latency is a must for this. I would sit an arms length from the TV so a 1080p panel could get a little pixelated. I do VR so pixelated is a given. Not that bad with the O+ but still there.
__________________
Asus ROG C6H | AMD Ryzen 3600 @ 4.2Ghz | Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080ti | 32Gb Crucial DDR4/3600 | 2Tb Intel NVMe drive | Samsung Odyssey+ VR | Thrustmaster Warthog | Saitek pedals | Custom geothermal cooling loop with a homemade 40' copper heat exchanger 35' in the ground
Thick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.