Questions to the M2K Radar - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2020, 07:30 AM   #1
caponi
Senior Member
 
caponi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hannover Germany
Posts: 2,405
Default Questions to the M2K Radar

Hi all,

i am back to the Mirage ... and i feel good to fly the overhauled model.

While playing atm A2A only, there are some questions grewed up.

1.) Azimut 60 deg, i can lock only targets in the 30deg cone in front of me.
is this right or may i do something wrong ?

2.) Azimut 30 deg.
i slew the TDC to the left and can lock a target.
the target notched me and i lost the lock.
and then i never find the target again ...
is this an issuue or may i do something wrong ?

and yes, i am not so firm about the limitations of the M2K radar

regards and looking forward
__________________
A-10C, KA-50, UH-1D, FC-3, P-51D, FW-190D9, Bf-109K, Spitfire IX, F-5E, F-86F, Mig-15bis, Mig-21bis, M-2000C, F-14A/B, F-16C, F/A-18C, AJS-37 Viggen, L-39, CA on ...

Intel Core I7-7700K Socket 1151@4200GHz, 32GB DDR4 - 2133 cl-14
BeQuit 700W, Asus Z270 Strix ROC F, NVidia GTX1080 8GB
3*Samsung SSD 256GB
Phillips 43“ 4K Monitor
Windows10 (64)
caponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:07 AM   #2
Steph21
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 340
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caponi View Post
Hi all,

i am back to the Mirage ... and i feel good to fly the overhauled model.

While playing atm A2A only, there are some questions grewed up.

1.) Azimut 60 deg, i can lock only targets in the 30deg cone in front of me.
is this right or may i do something wrong ?

2.) Azimut 30 deg.
i slew the TDC to the left and can lock a target.
the target notched me and i lost the lock.
and then i never find the target again ...
is this an issuue or may i do something wrong ?

and yes, i am not so firm about the limitations of the M2K radar

regards and looking forward
1- There is an issue locking target with PPI display when indeed target is at a high ATA. They tried to sort it out with an option call TDC aperture IIRC. The larger the input, the bigger zone around the TDC will be taken into account when trying to lock the target. But it doesn't work that well.
Easiest workaround though is to use B Scan display instead of PPI, as there is no issue using B Scan. I'm pretty sure it used to work fine with PPI before, so i'm not sure what screwed it up. It's a pain cause i like PPI better, and French Air Force is using PPI display from what i could see from pictures/videos.

2- I don't have that issue. Maybe try to shrink to the scan zone by playing with azimuth and Bar setting. Play with antena elevation also. The DO track (ghost yellow contact appearing when lock is dropped) should help you find your target back. Also you can get below the target to deny beaming opportunity.
And by the way, beaming is used to talk about the target, and notching to talk about your aircraft

Last edited by Steph21; 06-30-2020 at 08:14 AM.
Steph21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 02:21 PM   #3
caponi
Senior Member
 
caponi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hannover Germany
Posts: 2,405
Default

thx
__________________
A-10C, KA-50, UH-1D, FC-3, P-51D, FW-190D9, Bf-109K, Spitfire IX, F-5E, F-86F, Mig-15bis, Mig-21bis, M-2000C, F-14A/B, F-16C, F/A-18C, AJS-37 Viggen, L-39, CA on ...

Intel Core I7-7700K Socket 1151@4200GHz, 32GB DDR4 - 2133 cl-14
BeQuit 700W, Asus Z270 Strix ROC F, NVidia GTX1080 8GB
3*Samsung SSD 256GB
Phillips 43“ 4K Monitor
Windows10 (64)
caponi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:11 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.