[REPORTED] DCS Open Beta A10C Mavericks Suck - Page 7 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2018, 07:42 PM   #61
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 1,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
please provide track files so ED Devs can review in detail any problems directly.
I'm not against tracks but there is something I don't quite grasp. All they need to do here is launch an instant action mission and try to fire the missile so why do they need a track? Please don't think my goal is to be annoying or anything, I'm just trying to understand.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 08:08 PM   #62
MadDog-IC
ED Testers Team
 
MadDog-IC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
please provide track files so ED Devs can review in detail any problems directly.
I have reported it, internally with track file.

I felt that with a listed effective range for the AGM-65D at 8-16km and AGM-65H at 5-12km as listed in the games encyclopedia and with in game results of the AGM-65D at 7.6-8.8km, AGM-65H at 3-5km under any bright light day with no fog, hot or cold temps, little cloud and no wind conditions the D was serviceable at minimum range, but the H was very sub par at below or on minimum effective range as being discussed.

Regards, Ian
__________________
Asus p877v-pro, Intel I7 3770k 4.2ghz, 32gb Ripjaw X ram, Gigabyte GTX-780 (388.71), Samsung 32" TV, Saitek x52 pro Joystick and Combat rudder pedals, TrackIR 5, Win8.1 x64 with SSD and SSHD protected by (Avast AV).
MadDog-IC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 10:01 PM   #63
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelerator View Post
I'm not against tracks but there is something I don't quite grasp. All they need to do here is launch an instant action mission and try to fire the missile so why do they need a track?
And then after long and tedious testing and back and forth and "I did everything by the book, just try it out!" it turns out the person reporting the problem had the switchology wrong and there was never any problem in the first place, except a player understanding things the wrong way.

This would never happen with you? Certainly not.

But it's not about you. It's about the testers and their resources.

One problem report times X number of testers trying to figure out what the problem is versus one track. If you do the math, I'm sure you'll realize that providing a track saves time for those who are supposed to recreate the problem.
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 12:13 AM   #64
Oscar Juliet
Member
 
Oscar Juliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TX
Posts: 239
Default

A tip i always give is tap the lock button once every second. It will lock at the maximum range if you have it. If not it usually pilot error.
__________________
"Through The Inferno"
Endless, Dynamic, Open-World Experience for DCS World
Official Website

My Youtube Channel

My A10c Help Guide

I fly using CH products
Oscar Juliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 08:12 AM   #65
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 1,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yurgon View Post
And then after long and tedious testing and back and forth and "I did everything by the book, just try it out!" it turns out the person reporting the problem had the switchology wrong and there was never any problem in the first place, except a player understanding things the wrong way.

This would never happen with you? Certainly not.

But it's not about you. It's about the testers and their resources.

One problem report times X number of testers trying to figure out what the problem is versus one track. If you do the math, I'm sure you'll realize that providing a track saves time for those who are supposed to recreate the problem.
Understood. Thanks for the explanation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Juliet View Post
A tip i always give is tap the lock button once every second. It will lock at the maximum range if you have it. If not it usually pilot error.
That's what I did. Seems logical if you're trying to find the max lock range.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 11:12 AM   #66
lasvideo
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadDog-IC View Post
I have reported it, internally with track file.

I felt that with a listed effective range for the AGM-65D at 8-16km and AGM-65H at 5-12km as listed in the games encyclopedia and with in game results of the AGM-65D at 7.6-8.8km, AGM-65H at 3-5km under any bright light day with no fog, hot or cold temps, little cloud and no wind conditions the D was serviceable at minimum range, but the H was very sub par at below or on minimum effective range as being discussed.

Regards, Ian
Thanks Ian. I appreciate your efforts on resolving this mav performance issue. Your communication skills and consideration of customers feelings are a model that many others could learn from. Working with customers to help resolve perceived issues is not just a "roll of the dice". Its a skill.
__________________
Win 10 I7 6700K @ 4.0 GHZ. 16 gig memory GTX 1070 SSD

Last edited by lasvideo; 03-19-2018 at 11:17 AM.
lasvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 01:59 PM   #67
MadDog-IC
ED Testers Team
 
MadDog-IC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 861
Default

Not a problem, comes from 30+ years experience in computing.

You and other fellows did all the work, you just had to convince me there was a problem. When I flew the A-10c again to test missiles the other day I was embarrassed at how long it took me to kill something. Its a real insult that the AI A-10c can maverick at 19km no problem with the H.

Having noted that last bit, I swapped out the AGM-154 cruise missiles on an F-16 for sead work (as it is useless at the moment) with a pair of AGM-65D in the F-15c bear trap campaign, and they worked a treat, no as long range as the AGM-154 but a hell of a lot faster to target.

All the best.
__________________
Asus p877v-pro, Intel I7 3770k 4.2ghz, 32gb Ripjaw X ram, Gigabyte GTX-780 (388.71), Samsung 32" TV, Saitek x52 pro Joystick and Combat rudder pedals, TrackIR 5, Win8.1 x64 with SSD and SSHD protected by (Avast AV).
MadDog-IC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 07:00 AM   #68
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,698
Default

Same issue, CCD Mavericks seem lame at least in centroid mode. I suspect it's time of day based. I'll try default calendar date and compare lock ranges with each hour to see how lock range varies with the time (daylight).

June 1, 2011
AGM-65H against AAV-7
Weather standard/clear

time, track distance nm
0800, 3.6
1000, 3.6
1200, 4.4
1400, 4.4
1600, 4.1
1800, 3.2
1900, 3.6
2000, 2.1
2030, 1.1
2100, 0.2
2200, ---

Last edited by Frederf; 04-14-2018 at 07:39 PM.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.