ground attack modes.. changing ??? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2017, 10:45 AM   #11
sc_neo
Member
 
sc_neo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 438
Default

thx for the input guys. Good to know it wasn't me doing anything wrong, cheers.
sc_neo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 12:24 PM   #12
WildBillKelsoe
Veteran
 
WildBillKelsoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 6,217
Default

check CCRP steering mode in controls


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
AWAITING ED NEW DAMAGE MODEL IMPLEMENTATION FOR WW2 BIRDS

Fat T is above, thin T is below. Long T is faster, Short T is slower. Open triangle is AWACS, closed triangle is your own sensors. Double dash is friendly, Single dash is enemy. Circle is friendly. Strobe is jammer. Strobe to dash is under 35 km. HDD is 7 times range key. Radar to 160 km, IRST to 10 km. Stay low, but never slow.
WildBillKelsoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 12:31 AM   #13
enigma6584
Member
 
enigma6584's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Posts: 924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhand View Post
Assuming we are talking about the Su-27, since this is an Su-27 thread...In A2G mode, salvo releases all of the selected weapon when you pickle. The same is true in A2A mode. If you have 4 R-27ERs along for th eride and select "salvo" mode while they're selected, all four will launch at the same time.

Weapons are often restricted to released in symetrical pairs to keep the aircraft "balanced", especially on the outer hardpoints. (If memory serves, the Su-25T allows single release on only the innermost hardpoints.)

In the Su-27, you do not have an option to single release, nor can you ripple.
Forgive me for opening up this thread again but I've just started getting back into the Su-27 and Su-33. I understand what you are saying but I don't understand how this is shown in the cockpits. How can I tell when I'm in "salvo mode?" Something showing up in the HUD? I don't see it, something showing up on the weapons panel?
enigma6584 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 01:07 AM   #14
Sideslip
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Where it's f-ing cold
Posts: 211
Default

AFAIK, and I'm not an expert, the air-to-ground system on the SU-27 in the sim is basically locked. On the weapons panel I believe there is a dial to select single, pair, or a ripple timer (I assume for all of one type in one go). There are no controls that I have found in the settings that allows any change to the weapon release setting (except salvo which I think does nothing... but I could be wrong). The way it seems to work by default is it will release bombs in pairs (haven't tested the S-24). You can sort of get around this with stations 5 and 6 by equipping different weapons in those two slots (ie a FAB500 and 6XFAB100), and since they are centered they do not affect the balance when releasing one at a time.


It's a little frustrating to be staring at a dial you just want to reach out and turn, but you can't. Oh well.
__________________
System specs: i7 3820 @4.75Ghz, Asus P9X79LE, EVGA GTX1080SC @2100mhz, 16GB Gskil DDR3 @ 2000mhz, 512GB 960EVO m.2, 2 X 512GB 860EVO SATA3 in RAID0, EVGA Supernova 850W G2, Phantek Entho Luxe White. CPU and GPU custom water-cooled with 420mm rad and lots of Noctua fans.
ASUS PG348Q. VKB Gladiator Pro w/MCG, X-55 throttle and MFG Crosswind.
Sideslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 01:38 AM   #15
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma6584 View Post
Forgive me for opening up this thread again but I've just started getting back into the Su-27 and Su-33. I understand what you are saying but I don't understand how this is shown in the cockpits. How can I tell when I'm in "salvo mode?" Something showing up in the HUD? I don't see it, something showing up on the weapons panel?
There is no indication as I recall—sorry but I’m not near the sim to doublecheck—it’s simply not something I use. The sim’s version of the Flanker’s A2G functions are very simplistic.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 02:56 AM   #16
enigma6584
Member
 
enigma6584's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Posts: 924
Default

Okay, thanks gentlemen. I just wanted some sort of clarification and you gave it. I'll do some experimenting with this mode. Cheers.
enigma6584 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 02:59 AM   #17
enigma6584
Member
 
enigma6584's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Posts: 924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sideslip View Post
It's a little frustrating to be staring at a dial you just want to reach out and turn, but you can't. Oh well.
LOL! Yep I hear you. The reason I asked this question is that I'm so used to the dials moving in the weapons panel of the Su-25A that I just assumed the Su-27 and Su-33 had those as well. Both the Su-27 and the Su-33 are still considered to be in beta so perhaps we can hope that when they come out of beta there will be animations added to future cockpit models.
enigma6584 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 04:31 PM   #18
DarkFire
Senior Member
 
DarkFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,698
Default

In fairness there's actually very little use for the salvo mode in the Su-27 unless you've loaded up with 36 x FAB-100's. By default FABs & RBKs are released in matched pairs which prevents the need for roll trimming after single releases.

But yes, there's no indication at the moment of whether default or salvo mode is set, which can be very dangerous if you need to suddenly switch from A-G to A-A modes as salvo also works with your AAM's.
__________________
CM Storm case | i7 6700k @ 4GHz | MSI GTX1080 | 32GB Kingston Predator PC3000 RAM | SB ZXR sound | TM Warthog stick & throttle | TrackIR 5 | Samsung Evo 850 2TB | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.

Personal wish list: DCS: Su-27SM.
DarkFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 05:24 PM   #19
enigma6584
Member
 
enigma6584's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Posts: 924
Default

I did some testing last night. What I found, at least with the Su-27 is that "salvo mode" does not work, at least not with bombs. Haven't tried missiles. Could only drop in pairs when bombing.
enigma6584 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 05:58 PM   #20
Sideslip
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Where it's f-ing cold
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkFire View Post
By default FABs & RBKs are released in matched pairs which prevents the need for roll trimming after single releases.

Sure it makes it "easier" to not have to worry about trimming, but it would be way more effective to be able to ripple. Dropping 2 FAB500s on the exact same spot is really useless. I'd much rather have them landing 50m apart.


On a side note, the CCIP mode sucks in the 27, granted it doesn't use a laser range finder like the 25 AFAIK. I often have bombs landing way left or right (ball is centered and roll is level), where as with CCRP they are pretty much bang on. Dropping in pairs only exacerbates the problem as you can only make half the number of runs, and you can't increase the chances of a hit by rippling.
__________________
System specs: i7 3820 @4.75Ghz, Asus P9X79LE, EVGA GTX1080SC @2100mhz, 16GB Gskil DDR3 @ 2000mhz, 512GB 960EVO m.2, 2 X 512GB 860EVO SATA3 in RAID0, EVGA Supernova 850W G2, Phantek Entho Luxe White. CPU and GPU custom water-cooled with 420mm rad and lots of Noctua fans.
ASUS PG348Q. VKB Gladiator Pro w/MCG, X-55 throttle and MFG Crosswind.
Sideslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:36 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.