Engine doesn't shut down, if battery switched off - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2018, 11:41 PM   #1
Vannipo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 275
Default Engine doesn't shut down, if battery switched off

Due to a too early switched off battery switch, the engine keeps spinning. Until switching it on again. Then the engine stops. Maybe someone switched the cables.
Vannipo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 12:20 AM   #2
Holton181
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 966
Default

If the generator is on then the engine doesn't stop just from disconnecting the battery, for what I know. Anything in need of electric power get it from generators, alternators and magnetos, all driven by the engine when running.But dying when re-enableing it sounds strange.
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenAlpha
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 02:13 AM   #3
Vannipo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 275
Default

I am not talking about just disconnecting the battery.
I am talking about shutting down the engine (throttle to stop, fuel pump off, etc...". And if u disconnect the battery too early, the rotor keeps on spinning infinitly.

Yeah, this is strange. Just a tiny bug.
Vannipo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 02:43 AM   #4
Czech6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 20
Default

Rotor brake probably doesn't function with the battery off. It's hydraulic so it must have power to run the pump. So, the rotor would keep spinning longer until it slows naturally.
Czech6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 02:00 PM   #5
Sandman1330
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 472
Default

I don’t know about the single Huey, but in newer versions (412 for sure, perhaps 212 as well) the throttle idle stop is actuated electrically, meaning you need battery power to allow the throttles to close.

Rotor brake is hydraulic but had no pump, it’s actuated by a piston like the brakes in your car. (Does the single Huey even have a rotor brake?)
__________________
R5 1600X @ 4Ghz / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 (@2933... for now) / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X55 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift CV1
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 04:25 PM   #6
Czech6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 20
Default

Apparently the civilian versions (205A-1) have it, or could have it as an option (Rotor Brake Hydraulic System):


http://www.huey.co.uk/huey_servicebook.php


Not clear of the military -1H had it:


https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=105517&page=16


https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...5&postcount=22


Since the DCS Huey is modeled after the Australian Bushranger, I wonder if the Australians received the UH-1H or the 205A-1, and which is used in this sim. Anyway, I noticed the same longer rotor wind milling time with the battery turned off and started looking for an answer but didn't find it. I think this auto rotor brake is implemented in the sim, realistic or not.
Czech6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.