Performance impact of uncontrolled AI units? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2018, 04:42 PM   #1
funkyfranky
Senior Member
 
funkyfranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Asgård
Posts: 1,808
Question Performance impact of uncontrolled AI units?

Could you share your experience about the impact of AI units spawned in uncontrolled state?
How many can one have in a mission assuming a moderate PC?
__________________
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most. --- Mark Twain
i7-8700K | Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC| 32 GB Ram 3200 MHz DDR-4| Win 10 64-bit | Asus Maximus Hero X | Samung EVO 960 Pro SSD | VKB Gunfighter Pro | MFG Crosswind | CV1
funkyfranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 05:39 PM   #2
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,588
Default

Generally I haven't noticed a significant performance hit until things start numbering in the hundreds. Usually by that point I also have a bunch of triggers and moving units as well, so it's hard to put a number on just the AI, but unless you're designing a full map scale mission I wouldn't worry about it too much.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:30 PM   #3
funkyfranky
Senior Member
 
funkyfranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Asgård
Posts: 1,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by feefifofum View Post
Generally I haven't noticed a significant performance hit until things start numbering in the hundreds.
Thanks, mate This is what I also observed and confirms what I have been told by others.

However, when I use fast forward in time, things look quite differently. At 4-5x in time acceleration, my FPS break down do ~ single digits.

So the real part of my question becomes, why is that? If there is nearly no impact in real time, why do uncontrolled units have a rather large impact if time is accelerated?
__________________
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most. --- Mark Twain
i7-8700K | Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC| 32 GB Ram 3200 MHz DDR-4| Win 10 64-bit | Asus Maximus Hero X | Samung EVO 960 Pro SSD | VKB Gunfighter Pro | MFG Crosswind | CV1
funkyfranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:42 PM   #4
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,588
Default

I've noticed this as well...if I were to speculate I'd guess it probably just has to do with the amount of objects the sim is trying to render lighting effects on at once. That's pure BS though.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 09:26 AM   #5
Knock-Knock
Senior Member
 
Knock-Knock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,198
Default

I made a few tests on the subject a while back. Just read/scroll trough my posts here:
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=215750
__________________
- Jack of many DCS modules, master of none.
- Personal wishlist: F-16A, F-35 Draken, F-104, Panavia Tornado IDS.


| MSI Z87-G45 Gaming | i5-4670K @ 4.3Ghz | 16Gb DDR3 1600 | Asus GTX 1070 Strix OC | Samsung 850 Evo 250 & 500Gb | 40" Sony FullHD | Oculus Rift CV1 | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick (19.5cm extension) & Throttle | MFG Crosswind | Windows 7-64 |
Knock-Knock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 09:31 AM   #6
Zayets
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 240
Default

There's a significant impact when using addGroup function of the SSE especially if you want to create new route points within the group table. Most notably with ground units. If you just spawn the group and after that you assign a route there's no visible impact. On the other hand, if you use spawn functions from MIST (and I assume MOOSE as well) these already take into consideration this aspect.
__________________
OK
Zayets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 09:59 PM   #7
NakedSquirrel
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 205
Default

Static objects are free save for their GPU cost for players. If you mix static and active you can get pretty busy looking environments.

I did a test copy and pasting almost a thousand or so statics with no impact.

Last edited by NakedSquirrel; 08-10-2018 at 10:02 PM.
NakedSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 09:41 AM   #8
Knock-Knock
Senior Member
 
Knock-Knock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedSquirrel View Post
Static objects are free save for their GPU cost for players. If you mix static and active you can get pretty busy looking environments.

I did a test copy and pasting almost a thousand or so statics with no impact.
That might have been true in the past, but isnt anymore. As I already tested in my above link, I just did it again to be sure.


Player F/A-18C on the ramp parking 12 at Senaki. 98 fps.
Now added 500 static BTR-80's. 69 fps.
With 500 static T-72's. 69 fps.
With 500 static Ural-375. 69 fps.
With 500 AI Ural-375. 69 fps.
The 500 trucks AI off. 69 fps.
The 500 Trucks uncontrolled. 69 fps.
With 500 Workshop-A buildings, 98 fps.

All AI and static placements, north of Enguri river. So at the back of the player view, and far away, so not visible.

Static planes how ever, make a difference (out of view). Uncontrolled AI planes have a bigger impact on fps, than same amount and type of static planes, which had no impact on fps - just like static buildings/structures.

Quoting myself:
Quote:
You are correct, but its not much. Just did a quick test and placed 31 static F-15E's all over Gudauta, and a player controlled F-18 down at Sukhumi. Looking out the cockpit, I had 123 fps. Then I removed them again, and placed 31 uncontrolled F-15E's on Gudauta. Fps down at Sukhumi was 113 fps.
Forgot to add in the above, that a clean mission with just F-18 player at parking 7 on Sukhumi, has 123 fps too. So interesting, considering static ground units give a fps impact, while static buildings dont, and that goes for the planes too. So benefit there.
All out of sight of course.
__________________
- Jack of many DCS modules, master of none.
- Personal wishlist: F-16A, F-35 Draken, F-104, Panavia Tornado IDS.


| MSI Z87-G45 Gaming | i5-4670K @ 4.3Ghz | 16Gb DDR3 1600 | Asus GTX 1070 Strix OC | Samsung 850 Evo 250 & 500Gb | 40" Sony FullHD | Oculus Rift CV1 | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick (19.5cm extension) & Throttle | MFG Crosswind | Windows 7-64 |

Last edited by Knock-Knock; 08-11-2018 at 09:48 AM.
Knock-Knock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 10:04 AM   #9
funkyfranky
Senior Member
 
funkyfranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Asgård
Posts: 1,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knock-Knock View Post
Static planes how ever, make a difference (out of view). Uncontrolled AI planes have a bigger impact on fps, than same amount and type of static planes, which had no impact on fps - just like static buildings/structures.
Yeah, that's also my observation. And it get's hefty when you fast forward the time and have a couple of uncontrolled AI aircraft around compared to statics.

Not sure why that is. I mean the difference between statics and "normal" units is that statics have no controller. I thought, setting "normal" units to uncontrolled would basically make them to statics. But not quite. And the impact on FPS is unfortunately a bit too large.

I'd like to have a lot of uncontrolled AC on my airports and only activate a few when I need them. But it's taking comparably large toll on FPS unfortunately. And I need every single FPS in VR
__________________
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most. --- Mark Twain
i7-8700K | Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC| 32 GB Ram 3200 MHz DDR-4| Win 10 64-bit | Asus Maximus Hero X | Samung EVO 960 Pro SSD | VKB Gunfighter Pro | MFG Crosswind | CV1
funkyfranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 10:07 AM   #10
CougarFFW04
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 50
Default

Hi All,

Interesting.

Related question : what about the FPS impact of units that are delayed ?
I suppose that they impact ~nothing till they are spawned... Right ?
CougarFFW04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:37 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.