Military and Aviation News Thread (NO DISCUSSION) - Page 139 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2018, 04:36 PM   #1381
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon_120 View Post
Lol, how can you possibly launch a amraam by mistake? Someone is going to receive a good dressing down.

I would pay to be in that room xd.

I imagine som,ething like:
-Rodriguez you piece of shit! how the heck did you shoot a missile on peace time over ally territory?!
-Sorry sir, i was getting really bored on the CAP, when i saw this big stork on my b-scope, then i ACCIDENTALLY locked her up, then i leant forwards to get a bit of water with so bad luck that when i leant back again i switched up my master arm on and then I dont know how i had this big sneeze that ACCIDENTALLY made me press my launch button for a whole second, you know sir, these things happen...



Enviado desde mi SM-G950F mediante Tapatalk
More likely switched to ARM instead of TRAIN and of she goes... I imagine currently hundreds of russian "researchers" looking for that piece of technology in the wilderness.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC and an AHCP | Oculus Rift & controller
shagrat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 05:21 PM   #1382
Pilotasso
Veteran
 
Pilotasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Working for IMF (not as an employee:] )
Posts: 11,117
Default

Both ARM or TRAIN mode shouldn't be on on such a mission?
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic4448_29.gif
My PC specs below:
Spoiler:
Case: Corsair 400C
PSU: SEASONIC 760W Platinum
CPU: AMD RYZEN 2700X @ 4.2Ghz
RAM: 32 GB 4266Mhz (two 2x8 kits) of trident Z RGB @3533Mhz CL 15 CR=1T
MOBO: ASUS CROSSHAIR HERO VI AM4
GFX: GTX 1080Ti MSI Gaming X
Cooler: NXZT Kraken X62 280mm AIO
Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2+6GB WD 6Gb red
HOTAS: Thrustmaster Warthog + CH pro pedals
Monitor: ASUS PB278Q IPS 27" LED 1440P
Pilotasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 10:09 PM   #1383
aaron886
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,553
Default

No, but that switch in the Typhoon is out of sight and not guarded. Humans are error-prone and given the chance it will eventually happen. Not a forgivable mistake, but a relatively simple mistake. I think the covered switch arming design is no good. The American-style "ARM/SAFE/SIM" switch is better.
aaron886 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 12:23 PM   #1384
falcon_120
Member
 
falcon_120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seville,Spain
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron886 View Post
No, but that switch in the Typhoon is out of sight and not guarded. Humans are error-prone and given the chance it will eventually happen. Not a forgivable mistake, but a relatively simple mistake. I think the covered switch arming design is no good. The American-style "ARM/SAFE/SIM" switch is better.
In any case I think the symbology both in Hud and MFDs (or whatever they are called in the Typhoon) when you are in training mode is obvious, so the pilot has means to identify if he is not in training mode before squeezing the launch button.

Off topic but for example I think the symbology in the A10C is so great, the blue colour in training mode in unmistakable.
falcon_120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 12:36 PM   #1385
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,091
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon_120 View Post
In any case I think the symbology both in Hud and MFDs (or whatever they are called in the Typhoon) when you are in training mode is obvious, so the pilot has means to identify if he is not in training mode before squeezing the launch button.

Off topic but for example I think the symbology in the A10C is so great, the blue colour in training mode in unmistakable.
Yet it still has happened.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + ATi Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X (3 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 07:59 PM   #1386
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotasso View Post
Both ARM or TRAIN mode shouldn't be on on such a mission?
(...)"While taking part in a routine training manoeuvre over the southeast Estonian town of Pangodi, the Typhoon accidentally triggered an AMRAAM "(...)
I would suggest that during a training manoeuvre the weapon switch, just maybe, under certain specific circumstances, should be set to TRAIN?!

...and well, yes, the whole incident is not supposed to happen, so any mistake leading to the lost missile isn't really either.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC and an AHCP | Oculus Rift & controller
shagrat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 08:13 PM   #1387
mwd2
Senior Member
 
mwd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,828
Default

__________________
Waiting for:DCS: F/A-18C, DCS: SoH & DCS: Mi-24 Hind, ...
Intel i5-7600K @4.1GHz, 16GB DDR4 @2400MHz, GTX 1070 Gigabyte Gaming OC 8GB DDR5, WIN 10 64Bit Prof.
"Do you know the way to Chak Chak?."


GSPB Squadron "Serious Ugly"

Ghost0815

mwd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 10:23 PM   #1388
Phantom88
Senior Member
 
Phantom88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: "Sweet Home Chicago"
Posts: 2,061
Default

__________________

Patrick
Phantom88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a 10, airforce, aviation, military, news, press, technology, usa

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.