HTC Vive Garbage Performance - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2019, 11:28 AM   #1
Guppy
Member
 
Guppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 361
Default HTC Vive Garbage Performance

PC Specs:
8700K @ 5.3ghz
1080Ti +200/+500
32GB RAM
1TB SSD for DCS
3 giant radiators keeping things cooled @ 40c under load

Issue
I'm getting absolutely garbage frames in DCS. I've spent the better part of this weekend changing settings and I still cannot read the DDIs and worse my frames are dropping under 30 unless I am in open ocean with nothing around.

I've even tried using the Stock VR settings for DCS and still my frames are at 30.

Steam VR is at 100%. I have tried messing with DCS @ 1.0 and Steam VR between 100-200% and I just am not having any luck with this. I probably could deal with the lackluster visual quality if it was not for me unable to see the DDIs clearly unless I rub my face into them. I've turned off MSAA and that makes things look substantially worse, but yes with significant performance improvements. MSAA off is probably a deal breaker for me.

I have messed with the motion smoothing in Steam VR. It makes things a bit better, however if I look far off my left or right should my sidewinders/stabsa start to jitter/glitch all over the place

Please help - I very much enjoy the VR experience, but as of now It's feeling quite gimmicky in DCS. And I'm likely aiming to return the headset unless I can get these performance issues ironed out.


Here are my settings:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Settings.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	217.0 KB
ID:	205089
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 11:33 AM   #2
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,280
Default

Try setting your Nvidia Control Panel settings for DCS back to default ( use global).
Only thing I would set it there is Power Management from Optimal to Prefer Maximum Performance.
Make rest of your graphics settings in the DCS GUI.

If you have not done it in a while, you can also run a Repair of DCS to clean out any fluff that might be in there.
Delete the Metashader and FXO files in your user saved games folder for DCS.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF Pro MCG Pro| EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S

Last edited by dburne; 02-25-2019 at 11:35 AM.
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 11:48 AM   #3
Guppy
Member
 
Guppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
Try setting your Nvidia Control Panel settings for DCS back to default ( use global).
Only thing I would set it there is Power Management from Optimal to Prefer Maximum Performance.
Make rest of your graphics settings in the DCS GUI.

If you have not done it in a while, you can also run a Repair of DCS to clean out any fluff that might be in there.
Delete the Metashader and FXO files in your user saved games folder for DCS.
Did all of that and still 30fps even with Motion Smoothing off. When I turn off MSAA I get 45FPS unless I look at objects then it drops.
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 11:54 AM   #4
Drag80
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Islamabad
Posts: 326
Default

U have to compromise lots of graphic quality for VR immersion. There isnt hardware available which can give you good fps in VR at high quality.
Drag80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 12:15 PM   #5
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,280
Default

Yeah but with his rig he should certainly be seeing better performance. At least I would think - I get better on my system at 5.1 GHz but then I am using Rift.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF Pro MCG Pro| EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 01:39 PM   #6
Boris
Senior Member
 
Boris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,306
Default

Try deleting the fxo and metashaders folders from you savedgames/DCS directory.
It can work wonders sometimes.

EDIT: Sorry, seems you've already done that.
__________________
PC Specs / Hardware: MSI z370 Gaming Plus Mainboard, Intel 8700k @ 5GHz, MSI Sea Hawk 2080 Ti @ 2100MHz, 32GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM
Displays: Philips BDM4065UC 60Hz 4K UHD Screen, Pimax 5k+
Controllers / Peripherals: VPC MongoosT-50, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, modded MS FFB2/CH Combatstick, MFG Crosswind Pedals, Gametrix JetSeat
OS: Windows 10 Home Creator's Update
Boris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 04:38 PM   #7
Wolf8312
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 890
Default

1.5 DCS PD is a little high with MSSA on especially with shadows also on, but it does sound like something is off.

Is this the first time you have used VR, have you ever played it with better performance than you have now?
Also 5.3 GHZ with an 8700K? Are you sure its a stable OC? Even if you have some great cooling tech, these things can often cause problems for all kinds of different reasons. Have you tested it extensively, and how long did you leave it for under load?

I can tell you its not a problem with the game, cause personally I have never had better performance, and I don't even use an OC anymore.

Very smooth, though I do use MS. You might try disabling the OC anyway, just to see, as at 5.3 it might just not jive well with DCS for some reason.
Another thing. Is it a new computer/upgrade? If so did you make sure to do a clean installation of windows?

Unless it's not just an inability to stomach VR/reprojection, combined with graphics settings that are too high, I'd say the problem is on your end somewhere.

But these things are very hard to gauge, as I am sure what is butter smooth for me, would amount to poor performance for others.
__________________
------------

ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-H,1080Ti OC edition, i7-8770k 5ghz, 1 T SSD, 16GB DDR4 3200, HTC VIVE, VKB peddals, HOTAS VPC MONGOOSE, WARTHOG throttle, Gametrix JETSEAT, Voice attack
Wolf8312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 04:54 PM   #8
Guppy
Member
 
Guppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 361
Default

The 8700 is delided and I use liquid metal thermal. The only time it has encountered an issue is 6 hours of CPU stress tests. No game is going to push it that hard and that long.

It's a completely brand new computer built from the ground up back in October and this is the first time I've messed with VR on my system. Every other application/game has flawless performance. It's just DCS in VR that is getting craptacular performance. Elite Dangerous is fine.

I'm still investigating though. I might try to dial back CPU performance, as you suggested just to see.
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 01:55 PM   #9
Guppy
Member
 
Guppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 361
Default

Update: My overclock is definitely not the issue. I saw less performance dialing down to 5.0 from 5.3.

I did turn shadows to flat only and saw huge performance gains. I'm able to have MSAA on 2x and I'm floating around 40-45 fps I think. I didnt think the shadows would cause so much issue. I'm going to continue to play with settings. My Vive Pro comes today so I'm hoping that will improve the visual quality.
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 03:52 PM   #10
Harlikwin
Senior Member
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2,583
Default

Check out my low end VR settings thread (a few ticks down).

I'm running way less than you and have "ok" performance. My DDI's are still blury from a normal position, so learn to use VR zoom. IIRC even the 2080ti guys have issues with blurry DDI's... Write ED an angry email and tell them to get more interns on fixing the VR code

I'd drop the PD from 1.5 to like 1.2 and see where you are and then go up. Keep the MSAA 2x... Turn down terrain texture (no diff except mem usage), turn off heat blur see if it matters and then drop shadows if you need to.

Also look into the VR shader mod you get about 20-30% more frames using it.

FWIW elite dangerous runs a shitton better than DCS on my rig, so thats normal. DCS is DCS... Literally I can run Elite on MAX vr settings and its fine on my rig. So apples to oranges.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).

Last edited by Harlikwin; 02-26-2019 at 05:20 PM.
Harlikwin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.