Hawk has stopped to work in DCS World 2.5.3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2019, 09:19 AM   #1
Ferenc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default Hawk has stopped to work in DCS World 2.5.3

I was maintaining a version 2.5.3.24984 of DCS World without updating only to play Hawk. No problem until this last friday (after last update of the beta release, though I don't know if it is a relation with my issue). From this day, when I start the program appears a screen warninig about the license of the Hawk, with my license number by default that ask me if I want to vinculate or omit. If I press Vinculate, everything starts Ok, in the module manager the Hawk appears correctly installed and activated. But if I try to fly it (in a quick mission or even in training) I don't have access to the cockpit view nor the control of the plane, just like the module were not activated. I reactivated, then deactivate and activated again, and finally deleting the regedit key and activating newly. I have spent 2 licenses more. But the results have not changed.



Since the first versions of 2.5.4 I have flown the Hawk in 2.5.3 without any incidence. Anything has changed in the sistem of licenses? Curiously, in the module manager, whe I try to see the license number, appears "No key" .



And the other big question is: Anyone stille playing Hawk on any version of DCS World?
Ferenc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 02:53 PM   #2
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,482
Default

It's making a nice static object and it is also AI in current versions, but not flyable and I wont be trying to roll back versions for it.
Sounds like licensing for sure.
__________________
Whilst some parrots may jabber,
"To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often". (W.Churchill)
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 02:57 PM   #3
grunf
Senior Member
 
grunf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,372
Default

R.I.P.
grunf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:20 PM   #4
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 3,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferenc View Post
Since the first versions of 2.5.4 I have flown the Hawk in 2.5.3 without any incidence. Anything has changed in the sistem of licenses? Curiously, in the module manager, whe I try to see the license number, appears "No key" .

If I were in your case, I would open a support ticket with ED, as the Hawk should be able to run on 2.5.3
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 11:38 PM   #5
PingPongChampeen
Member
 
PingPongChampeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Oscoda, MI
Posts: 272
Default

Kinda pointless to open a support ticket with ED considering they dont have the source code regardless of DCS flavor. What are they going to do, fix it?
__________________
Intel 8086k o/c 5.4ghz | 32gb GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3200 ram | Asus Z370 Maximus X Formula| Zotac GTX 1080Ti | eVGA 1000w psu | MFG Crosswinds | Virpil T50CM/T50 Throttle/warBRD base | TM Cougar MFD | Dell 34" UHD Curved monitor | TrackIr 5/Oculus Rift CV1 | Windows 10 Pro


AV8B | F/A-18C | P-51D | UH-1H | <--- all others hangar queens
PingPongChampeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 02:12 PM   #6
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,409
Default

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...&postcount=176
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 06:39 PM   #7
zhukov032186
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 2,045
Default

If you're running the same version that was working previously, then yes, it should still function and you should open a ticket. If you didn't change anything then nothing changed for it to suddenly stop working.

If you updated to the beta (it's unclear from your post, imo) then no it will no longer function. As per Skate's link the Hawk was abandoned by the original developers and no longer functions. And no, there is nothing ED can do about it because VEAO were uncooperative and would not release the data needed to continue development.

You can continue using it ONLY if you roll back to the version you were using before.
__________________
Zhukov attacks *FORUM USER* with Legendary Trollsword!
*FORUM USER* Constitution save roll.... Fail!
*FORUM USER* afflicted with ''Hurt Feelz'', -1 Concentration for two rounds
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 10:38 PM   #8
Hook47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
The OP already knows this. The question seems to be has anyone else had the Hawk basically break on the old version? OP did you try a repair or maybe attempt a reinstall of the Hawk?

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk
Hook47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 12:38 PM   #9
MrDieing
Member
 
MrDieing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 642
Default

Did you accidentally update your 2.5.3 to the latest version?
__________________
Years ago, when half the stuff we have now was a wish list. We just posted about rain effects, different seasons. We talked about different maps and aircraft. Now we have most of it, we have all this "elitist" come in that just want to post about what they deserve and what they are entitle to because they pay. They just keep crying and whining how horrible DCS is and how much they got robbed. They keep taking my shiny toy and trowing it in the trash because is not good enough for them.
MrDieing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 04:22 AM   #10
Tread_Head57
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 213
Default

F
Tread_Head57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2.5.3, hawk, veao

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.