Practice Missions set on the 50's - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2019, 05:08 PM   #1
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 3,804
Default Practice Missions set on the 50's

Hello,

In anticipation to the release of the MiG-19, I started to learn the MiG-15 .. which I purchased a long time ago on a discount pack together with the Sabre, but at the time only the Sabre ticked my fancy, so the MiG went largely unused at that moment.

Well, no more, I tought it would be interesting to experience the technological jump that came along when the MiG-19 replaced the MiG-15/17 .. so I set up to learn to fly the MiG. On my case, I learn better when I use my own missions, as I can set them with elements that measure my flight performance so I can gauge my advances.



At first I intended to set these practice missions on the Persian Gulf Map, but Iran never used the MiG-15 and Iraq isnt yet on the Map .. so, finally I chose to use the Nevada Map, inspired by this MiG livery:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...files/3301841/



I'm making use of Ciribob's Target Range script, to gauge my precision on air-ground gunfire and bombing .. the latter is particularly hard as the sight doesnt allow to set the depression:





One big problem with the MiG-15 is to get period-appropiate equipment for the airbase and random air traffic, so I was forced to look for Mods to complement what ED's WW2 Assets Pack includes.

I tried to keep the Mods at a minimum, but even so I ended up using quite a few, for example this Bell 47 helicopter:



A B-29 posing as a B-50:



The missions are set on 1954, so I assumed that there would be still a certain amount of older warplanes in addition to the newer F-86s:





I'd like to share these Missions, but I'm unsure if the Mod requirements are excessive for the average user .. what do you think?

Best regards
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 05:45 PM   #2
Hunter Joker
Member
 
Hunter Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 281
Default

Nice work, share it! If for someone the required mods are excessive then he can not downloading it

Inviato dal mio BLA-L09 utilizzando Tapatalk
__________________
"La follia è come la gravità, basta una piccola spinta e....."

http://medusasquad.altervista.org/
http://medusasquad.altervista.org/forum/
https://www.youtube.com/user/garaganotube
Hunter Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 07:52 PM   #3
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 3,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter Joker View Post
Nice work, share it! If for someone the required mods are excessive then he can not downloading it
OK, thanks for your opinion .. I'm uploading the missions, will put the link at the end of this post, in the meantime, these would be the things you will need to fly them:

a) From ED:

- The MiG-15 (obviously)
- The Nevada Map
- The WW2 Assets Pack

b) The Captured USAF MiG-15 livery, by 000rick000 , download it from here:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...files/3301841/

c) The VPC Airfield scenery: You can download it from its author's page:

http://kregred.smile-pilots.ru/index.php/en/

d) The B-29 Mod, download version 1.4 from here:

http://virtualcockpits.web.fc2.com/m...dcsw_b-29.html

e) The C-47 Paratroop Mod, download from here:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...se_id=16263995

f) The Lockheed P-38 Mod, from here:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...se_id=16264116

g) The Bell 47 from here:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...&postcount=140

h) A couple of Missions require the Target Mod by the 476th VFG, get it here:

http://www.476vfightergroup.com/down...do=file&id=287

i) Finally, the Extra Beacons Mod, by the late Gospadin, from here:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=160590

I will eventually upload them at ED's User Files, for now you can download the missions from here:

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ai6cuX3YQI26hM0qJaNDZKEJ-wBc7A

Cheers and please report here if you encounter any trouble with the Mod installation .. most of them go into Saved Games and once installed should look like this:



The exception is the Beacon Mod .. that one should be installed with a Mod Manager, because it will trigger the IC check when going Multiplayer, so you will have to disable it when not using these missions. I use OvGME to manage my Mods, it looks like this:



Best regards,


Eduardo
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 09:53 AM   #4
hsth
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 147
Default

Hi Eduardo,


Can you please help?
I've installed the mods into the Saved Games as shown in your picture.
When I now start the first mission I get this message that "the P-38D is required" and the mission stops loading.


Regards,


Huub.
hsth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 01:39 PM   #5
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 3,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hsth View Post
I've installed the mods into the Saved Games as shown in your picture.
When I now start the first mission I get this message that "the P-38D is required" and the mission stops loading.
Strange ... maybe my version of that Mod is somehow different from the one at DCS User's Files ... please download mine from this link and uncompress it at /saved games/dcs/mods/aircraft

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ai6cuX3YQI26hNBLQ77Rg-PdJ7qNdA

Hope that will fix the issue
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 01:31 PM   #6
hsth
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 147
Default

Ok, that worked, it passed that point.
But now I get this message "Need modules for load mission: VPC Object by voc & virpil.com". And the mission stops again.
I'm using version "VPC-Airfield Equipment 0.9.4 beta".
Maybe you could make a download package of the files you used?


Thanks for your help.
hsth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 02:27 PM   #7
hsth
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 147
Default

got first mission started.


For it to work I had to put the directory "main" from the VPC equipment directory directly into the ..\Saved Games\DCS\Mods\tech folder.
Using the directory name as shown in the picture didn't work.


Hopefully have some time the coming days to start your missions, really looking forward it.


Regards,


Huub.
hsth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 03:01 PM   #8
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 3,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hsth View Post
But now I get this message "Need modules for load mission: VPC Object by voc & virpil.com". And the mission stops again.
I'm using version "VPC-Airfield Equipment 0.9.4 beta".
Maybe you could make a download package of the files you used?
I'd love to put just a single zip file with all the Mods, Liveries and Mission files on a single Zip file, it would be easy as all those elements go on the /Saved Games/DCS/ folder ...

... the problem is that many content authors don't authorize re-distribution, they prefer that you visit either their webpages to download, or ED User Files section, where the number of downloads gets counted ... and I do understand their position and really try to comply with their wishes.

Thus I provided the P38 directly only because there was no other way for me to ensure that you could load the mission.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hsth View Post
For it to work I had to put the directory "main" from the VPC equipment directory directly into the ..\Saved Games\DCS\Mods\tech folder.
Using the directory name as shown in the picture didn't work.
actually, the folder name used by each Mod isnt really significant, thats why I sometimes change that name to provide something more meaningful ... on this case a folder "main" wasnt very descriptive, so I renamed it to "VPC Airfield Equipment".

Inside each mod there is a description file called "entry.lua" .. on that file there is a sentence for the "Directory Name" of the mod .. that sentence usually says:

dirName = current_mod_path,

That means that I can rename the main folder at will, and the Mod will still work fine. For example, these are some of the Mods I'm using at the moment, and most of them have their folder names edited, either for clarity or to honor their Authors.



Quote:
Hopefully have some time the coming days to start your missions, really looking forward it
I'm glad .. hope you like them
Cheers!

Eduardo
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 08:43 AM   #9
hsth
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 147
Default

Hi Eduardo,


I am enjoying your practice missions, they are also a great learning help for the missions in the Museum Relic campaign...


One question though, I cannot save my view in the cockpit. Because I fly in VR I would like to move my view but the mission does not use the SnapViews.lua from the Saved games directory. Instead it always goes back to the view as set in the mission.


Can you please help?


Regards,


Huub.
hsth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 11:30 AM   #10
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 3,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hsth View Post
I am enjoying your practice missions, they are also a great learning help for the missions in the Museum Relic campaign...
Glad that you are enjoying them in spite of using so many User mods

Quote:
One question though, I cannot save my view in the cockpit. Because I fly in VR I would like to move my view but the mission does not use the SnapViews.lua from the Saved games directory. Instead it always goes back to the view as set in the mission.

Can you please help?
Unfortunately, I’m right now on a vacation trip to Europe, so away from my dcs computer. Each .MIZ file is actually a zip compressed file .. open the mission file with a tool like WinRar or WinZip, look for a file called views.lua or snapviews.lua inside the .MIZ file, it could be inside a folder ... then delete this lua file .. that should allow your PC’s views to work as you want.

Best regards,

Eduardo
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:49 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.