Engine quits if i change tanks - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2019, 01:02 PM   #21
Ala13_ManOWar
Senior Member
 
Ala13_ManOWar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_sukebe View Post
Being fair, it’s still quite possible to escort a B17 from England to Normandy and back, even with its restricted fuel load.

All the same, I’m not impressed that I hasn’t been fixed, given how long it’s been reported.
Not to mention central tank does any good to a/c stability and it's forbidden to do aerobatics with it filled according to manual.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper175 View Post
Here’s a assumption. It won’t be fixed until new damage model is out along with the other work they are doing on engine cooling and such. That’s my guess as there really is no other good reason for it to still be broken. It makes campaigns and missions not even worth flying at the moment.
My guess either since quite a time. They're busy with too many fronts opened right now.



S!
__________________
"I went into the British Army believing that if you want peace you must prepare for war. I believe now that if you prepare for war, you get war." -- Major-General Frederick B. Maurice
Ala13_ManOWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 01:09 PM   #22
Sniper175
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 513
Default

Well the drop tanks still don’t work correct? So that’s the bigger issue
__________________
I7-8700 @5GHZ, 32GB 3000MHZ RAM, 1080TI, Rift S, ODYSSEY +. SSD DRIVES, WIN10
Sniper175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 12:25 AM   #23
Theodore42
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_sukebe View Post
Being fair, it’s still quite possible to escort a B17 from England to Normandy and back, even with its restricted fuel load.

All the same, I’m not impressed that I hasn’t been fixed, given how long it’s been reported.
+1

I am very understanding when ED leaves bugs in for long periods of time or takes "too" long to update pre-release modules. They have such great attention to detail that when they do EVENTUALLY do something they do it right.

But this module has been out for so long and is such a staple that they really should have this fixed. There are a lot of nerds that want to put fuel in the fuselage tank for a lot of reasons. It is strange that after so long you can't (when there is no apparent reason).

The bug was introduced around the time they revealed the new damage model they're working on so I assumed that somehow I'm using a newer version of the module (that has nothing new implemented?) and the fuel system isn't quite worked out yet. That doesn't really make sense, but I'm an excessively understanding fellow. But most people aren't!
Theodore42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 12:55 AM   #24
BuzzU+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,127
Default

I'm patient but that doesn't mean I understand the delay.
__________________
Buzz
BuzzU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 07:32 AM   #25
grafspee
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 667
Default

did ed fix this fuel tanks bug ??
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 12:55 PM   #26
-0303-
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 90
Default

It looks like they actually fixed this bug. Yay.

I bought the P51 January(?) among other things, eager to test the dreaded "rear tank full gravity displacement". Nope, stopped even trying after x number of patches.

But now it looks fixed.

Now, refueling at 100% does NOT go on forever, rear tank shows full, I loaded the drop tanks for the first time ever. Let's see if this works.

This isn't mentioned in the DCS 2.5.5.31917 Open Beta change log.


.

Ed/Add:
It is fixed. Can run on fuselage tank. Can run on drop tanks. Engine stops if on drop tank and drop tank is dropped. Fuselage tank meter visibly moves while being fueled.

Last edited by -0303-; 06-07-2019 at 02:04 PM.
-0303- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 01:06 PM   #27
Andy1966
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Delaware, usa
Posts: 426
Default

Cool, Is it really fixed? can someone confirm, as I am at work...
__________________
We are Virtual Pilots, a growing International Squad of pilots, we fly Allies in WWII and Red Force in Korea and Modern combat. We are recruiting like minded people of all Nationalities and skill levels.
http://virtual-pilots.com/
Andy1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 01:14 PM   #28
BuzzU+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,127
Default

That's good to hear. I'm on the stable version, so i'll have to wait for it.
__________________
Buzz
BuzzU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 11:47 PM   #29
Andy1966
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Delaware, usa
Posts: 426
Default

Hi all, I got home and made a flight on Normandy and the fuel bug was still there. then I did a flight on Caucuses map and the drop tanks and fuselage tank were working, so it seems the bug is fixed on the ED maps, but not Normandy. so things are looking up, and also my graphics and clarity, and performance seem much improved....!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190607_184823.png
Views:	25
Size:	972.7 KB
ID:	211473   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190607_192156.png
Views:	27
Size:	1.12 MB
ID:	211474   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190607_192211.png
Views:	26
Size:	915.6 KB
ID:	211475  

__________________
We are Virtual Pilots, a growing International Squad of pilots, we fly Allies in WWII and Red Force in Korea and Modern combat. We are recruiting like minded people of all Nationalities and skill levels.
http://virtual-pilots.com/
Andy1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 12:10 AM   #30
Sniper175
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy1966 View Post
Hi all, I got home and made a flight on Normandy and the fuel bug was still there. then I did a flight on Caucuses map and the drop tanks and fuselage tank were working, so it seems the bug is fixed on the ED maps, but not Normandy. so things are looking up, and also my graphics and clarity, and performance seem much improved....!!!
That makes no sense it would depend on a map? WTF
__________________
I7-8700 @5GHZ, 32GB 3000MHZ RAM, 1080TI, Rift S, ODYSSEY +. SSD DRIVES, WIN10
Sniper175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.