Well, NUTS! - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2019, 02:26 PM   #11
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzU View Post
I'm a beta tester for auto sims. I understand what beta means. It means you're trying unproven updates. You're a tester and will have more problems than the stable version. The stable version gets the updates after they've been proven to work on many systems.
Yeah, that's the general definition of a beta, but I meant how this is technically implemented in DCS. And here it's not really about something running stable on different systems, but about gameplay bugs that might get introduced with a new update.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 02:29 PM   #12
derammo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 77
Default

[deleted due to post delay, had already been answered]

Last edited by derammo; 05-15-2019 at 02:32 PM. Reason: already answered
derammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 03:03 PM   #13
BuzzU+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
Yeah, that's the general definition of a beta, but I meant how this is technically implemented in DCS. And here it's not really about something running stable on different systems, but about gameplay bugs that might get introduced with a new update.
Ok, I understand how it works now. I thought you had both versions on the SSD.

Thanks.

I'll stay with the open beta version and see how it works out.
__________________
Buzz
BuzzU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 05:01 PM   #14
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzU View Post
Ok, I understand how it works now. I thought you had both versions on the SSD.

Thanks.

I'll stay with the open beta version and see how it works out.
Good choice
If it shouldn't work you can always switch to the stable which is just like downloading a normal update.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 05:19 PM   #15
BuzzU+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,127
Default

I'm a stubborn old coot. I've decided the A-10C is a better choice for me. I'm going to stay with it from now on.

Since the A-10c gets few updates. I went back to the stable version.

Yeah, I know. Make up your mind. I have.

Have fun with the Hornet guys.
__________________
Buzz
BuzzU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 05:33 PM   #16
Justinp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
I think you have a bit of a wrong impression of what the beta actually is. The beta is nothing else but the normal DCS installation, the only difference being that it gets updates earlier than the stable. Right now the beta and the stable are entirely identical: https://updates.digitalcombatsimulator.com/
So you currently have the Stable and the Beta at the same time as there is no difference between the two.

Next Wednesday that will probably change again, because there probably will be a new update that gets released to the beta only. The week after the same update usally gets released for the Stable (unless there are problems with the update) and then they are the same once again untill the week after. And so it continious...

Now your DCS installation needs to know when it is supposed to download a new update. Is it supposed to download it when it first gets released in "beta" state or should it wait for another week (or 2-3 weeks sometimes) untill the update gets released in "stable" state. So, the general DCS installation is exactly the same, just the update time is different and that's something you can change at anytime:

To tell your DCS installation to download updates in beta state, just open the windows cmd, navigate to the bin folder in your DCS installation folder and enter the following command:
DCS_updater.exe update @openbeta
Now DCS will update whenever there is a new beta update.

To tell your DCS installation to download updates in stable state, just open the windows cmd, navigate to the bin folder in your DCS installation folder and enter the following command:
DCS_updater.exe update @release
Now DCS will update whenever there is a new stable update.

See this thread for more info: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=114030


Bottom line is: You don't need to have two different DCS installations on your computer. You can just switch between beta and stable at any time. I do that for at least 4 years now, because I don't have the space for two DCS installations either (although I didn't had to switch back to the stable for almost a year now, because there was no issue with the beta for me since then).
Holy Cow I had no idea it was that easy to change from beta to stable versions. I have had the stable version since I started playing but have been wanting to switch so I can play on more of the multiplayer servers. But remembering how long it took to download and install and get all my setting back I have neglected to do so.

Just so I'm sure most of the online servers do only run the open beta version right? So I need to be running the beta version in order to see them and connect up?
Justinp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 05:38 PM   #17
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justinp View Post
Just so I'm sure most of the online servers do only run the open beta version right? So I need to be running the beta version in order to see them and connect up?
Right now it doesn't even matter, because the versions are identical and compatible.

With the next OB update, yeah, you'll have to update to the same version as the servers or you won't even see them.
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 02:45 AM   #18
Worrazen
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Slovenia, Europe
Posts: 810
Default

There's also a config now that I've been asking for long ago, that you can specify and override the default path of the updater's downloads and temporary files location.


Make a autoupdate_settings.cfg file in the root directory of DCS installation and paste that in:

Quote:
{
"download_dir": "A:\\DCS_TempDownloads"
}
__________________
DCS-Setup: Win10 x64 1607AU, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Asus P9x79, CPU: Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0GHz, GPU: Radeon RX 480 8GB, 24 GB RAM @ 1333 Mhz, Saitek Cyborg FLY5 Joystick.

Last edited by Worrazen; 05-16-2019 at 02:50 AM.
Worrazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 03:03 AM   #19
GrEaSeLiTeNiN
Member
 
GrEaSeLiTeNiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 239
Default

I don’t bother with stable now because the goodies are in the beta which for me is playable enough (I don’t do MP). There is already enough of waiting for updates in beta so I don’t wish to wait some more in stable. It’s going to be quite a while before the F18 is complete so I’d go with beta.
GrEaSeLiTeNiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 08:37 AM   #20
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,821
Default

Most MP servers run on the beta, which is also perfectly stable for 99% of the time.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.