Fix for rudder problems - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2019, 10:07 PM   #1
JNelson
Member
 
JNelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England, Gloucester
Posts: 209
Default Fix for rudder problems

For those of you who have a problem with the rudder in the yak being far too much to the left and having no need for left rudder on takeoff. This is due to the trim tabs that ED has implemented. They are not editable from the menu however you can edit them in your game files.

You need to navigate inside your game install DCS World/Mods/aircraft/Yak-51/FM/FMOptions.lua

Inside this file you will find several lines.

aileronTrimTab = 0.0
elevatorTrimTab = 0.0
rudderTrimTab = -0.666

This -0.666 is the root of your problems. For a perfectly trimmed aircraft in the roll and yaw at 250 kmph (80% RPM and 600mm) I have found these settings for aileron and rudder.

Edit: Turns out my joystick was uncalibrated so aileronTrimTab should equal 0.0, not -0.13.

aileronTrimTab = 0.0
rudderTrimTab = -0.25

(for some reason the aileron trim tab is inverted negative value means right whereas positive means left)

This file appears to be loaded between flying sessions so you can use the instant action mission freeflight to tune your aircraft to your desired trim.

Lastly this file will be overwritten each update so it's best to use something like JSGME to make it a mod.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Aerobatics Online Admin

Specs: i5 4690k @ 4.2, Nvidia GTX-1080, 16GB DDR3, 2 TB & 1 TB HDD.
Hardware: TM Warthog, Slaw RX Viper Pedals, TrackIR 4, Occulus Rift CV1

Last edited by JNelson; 09-11-2019 at 02:07 PM.
JNelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 10:59 PM   #2
Mig Fulcrum
Member
 
Mig Fulcrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 456
Default

Many thanks, I will give it a try tomorrow.
I'm still waiting for a official fix for more then one year.
Mig Fulcrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 03:43 PM   #3
Mig Fulcrum
Member
 
Mig Fulcrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 456
Default

I have some issues editing the .lua files and it doesn't work, would you be so kind to attach here your FMOptions.lua
Thanks
Mig Fulcrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 11:14 PM   #4
JNelson
Member
 
JNelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England, Gloucester
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mig Fulcrum View Post
I have some issues editing the .lua files and it doesn't work, would you be so kind to attach here your FMOptions.lua
Thanks
I recommend using notepad++. It's free makes things like this easier. Turns out my original post my joystick was uncalibrated so the aileron trim should be zero.

Attached the lua with zero aileron trim and the correct rudder trim.
Attached Files
File Type: lua FMOptions.lua (2.2 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Aerobatics Online Admin

Specs: i5 4690k @ 4.2, Nvidia GTX-1080, 16GB DDR3, 2 TB & 1 TB HDD.
Hardware: TM Warthog, Slaw RX Viper Pedals, TrackIR 4, Occulus Rift CV1
JNelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 11:03 AM   #5
TheSkipjack95
Member
 
TheSkipjack95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Noisiel, France
Posts: 175
Default

Thanks for the fix.


It has cured the rudder offset, but it doesn't seem to do anything with regards to the takeoff assist or reduced yaw moment.


I have tried setting the values relating to autotrim and takeoff assist to 0, but that didn't change anything, and I can't use the keyboard to use the rudder, despite no controller being bound in the controls.


I'm impressed ED somehow managed to break a plane with nothing more than wings and an engine.
TheSkipjack95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 01:38 PM   #6
JNelson
Member
 
JNelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England, Gloucester
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSkipjack95 View Post
Thanks for the fix.


It has cured the rudder offset, but it doesn't seem to do anything with regards to the takeoff assist or reduced yaw moment.


I have tried setting the values relating to autotrim and takeoff assist to 0, but that didn't change anything, and I can't use the keyboard to use the rudder, despite no controller being bound in the controls.


I'm impressed ED somehow managed to break a plane with nothing more than wings and an engine.
I do have to put in left rudder with the correct trim settings however it was much less than at launch this may have been due to the fact the aircraft was not trimmed at launch. Eg if you set the trim of the rudder to zero it will take a fair amount to compensate for the moment. So I'm not really sure what is accurate.
__________________
Aerobatics Online Admin

Specs: i5 4690k @ 4.2, Nvidia GTX-1080, 16GB DDR3, 2 TB & 1 TB HDD.
Hardware: TM Warthog, Slaw RX Viper Pedals, TrackIR 4, Occulus Rift CV1
JNelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 04:20 PM   #7
Mig Fulcrum
Member
 
Mig Fulcrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JNelson View Post
I recommend using notepad++. It's free makes things like this easier. Turns out my original post my joystick was uncalibrated so the aileron trim should be zero.

Attached the lua with zero aileron trim and the correct rudder trim.
I used Notepad but somehow after takeoff the rudder return to the offset position, I will try with your file and report here, thanks.

Edit: I've tried again but no luck, even with your .lua file it doesn't work for me.

Last edited by Mig Fulcrum; 09-11-2019 at 04:39 PM.
Mig Fulcrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 08:52 PM   #8
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JNelson View Post
They are not editable from the menu
Maybe I am misunderstanding, but you can adjust the Aileron and Rudder Trim on the Options menu.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 02:57 AM   #9
bbrz
Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 979
Default

The last time I used the rudder trim option in the menu, it still didn't have any noticable effect on airplane.
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 03:02 AM   #10
Ramsay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
Maybe I am misunderstanding, but you can adjust the Aileron and Rudder Trim on the Options menu.
In February "Mig Fulcrum" said :

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mig Fulcrum View Post
Rudder is still deflecting to the left and the trim tabs on the "special menu" don't seem to work.
This is a work around for that.

Though "AcroGimp" has said :

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcroGimp View Post
I tried with the stock settings and the recommended setting in the Rudder Fix thread on ED Forums, neither are remotely correct IMO compared to my Yak. This was Sim not Game, Takeoff Assistance was off.
Ramsay is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:54 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.