Su 27 Radar elavation scan

Hi guys, I have a question regarding slewing the Radar elavation scan range on the SU27 what confuses me, is the range estimation, if you don't know the range, what should you do? And a general explanation how you use it as an experienced pilot.

Thanks in advance,

Luza

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Well the best way is to 150 degree mode where you get the best results. Of-course it does take more time but at the same time does give you better results. Also if you are locked on from a distance you can move you nose a bit and will easily be able to know that the bandit is over you or below your altitude.

I am completely new to the SU 27 and russian aircraft, could you elaborate? What you just said makes me go ??

I have real trouble aquiring anything on my radar :S

Thanks in advance,

Luza

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

You've actually made me think about how I use the radar now.

I have never once used the Range estimation, and have always left it at its default. I am wondering now what happens when I slew the radar scan zone up and down? Are the elevation increments creating gaps between the scanned areas at longer ranges?

Nate

You've actually made me think about how I use the radar now.

I have never once used the Range estimation, and have always left it at its default. I am wondering now what happens when I slew the radar scan zone up and down? Are the elevation increments creating gaps between the scanned areas at longer ranges?

Nate

In my humble opinion, yes. Watch the Marker on the right of the HUD as it travels up and down. Now. Turn down range to 2. Slew up and down, and watch the marker jump leaving big gaps. At range 10 there is overlap for example.

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Check this out

http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=37440&highlight=Expected+range