Operation Snowfox - Persian Gulf PvE Playground - Page 9 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2019, 10:40 AM   #81
chrisofsweden
Member
 
chrisofsweden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightstalkerNOR View Post
Surrexen; Would it at all be possible to make a "saved game" file at the end of a mission?

I'm spending a lot of time taking out SAMs at the start of the mission, and not really being able to participate in for instance CAS missions because the regular SEAD spawn aircraft take to long to take out the SAMsites, so I have to help out every time.

A "saved game" file would really help with being able to use different assets available.

Again, I really love your work! Two excellent missions
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surrexen View Post
I have no idea how to do that yet haha. I know in theory it can be done though. Currently I'm finalising plans on paper for Syria ... for whenever the map comes out! It's a good question though because I think that would be very useful.

Today I actually flew a CAS mission on Snowfox to learn the A-10C (I don't normally fly CAS). I took out the SA-15 at Tunb Island on route to Bandar Lengeh and had SEAD support take care of the SA-11, whilst a fighter screen kept me in the clear. Managed to wipe out the targets and complete a mission. Didn't think I had it in me!

Anyway I will add the request to the list for later and will investigate. Can't promise anything at this stage.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightstalkerNOR View Post
Very good. Thanks for taking it into consideration. "Annoying" when I've spent an hour or so taking out several SAM sites, and then I have to go AFK...starting over again. (not a problem related to your mission - offcourse.)
Surrexen I've got a finished framework for saving that you could implement. It's very simple and it will work as long as this mission is not dynamically spawning the red ground groups, but a complete mission with all red ground units in from the start... I've not looked at this mission that detailed yet so I don't know.
chrisofsweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 11:25 AM   #82
Surrexen
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 166
Default

Ground units in my missions are not dynamically spawned so I would be interested in taking a look at how you are doing it. My code for this particular function is not pretty haha.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 01:04 PM   #83
NightstalkerNOR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surrexen View Post
Ok so here is the deal. Persistence is very possible, but it would require people to de-sanitize 'lfs' and 'io' which is part of MissionScripting.lua in their installations. This allows for the exporting of data from the mission into a file that can then be loaded at mission start. I imagine some people may already do this to get things like TacView to load? Anyway ... it is very possible to add it in. I figure if people are comfortable with this then I can implement it for a future version.

The downside to this is that if you want to start the mission again 'from scratch' you would need to delete the exported data before starting up the mission.

How do people feel about this? Feedback is definitely required for this one.
I love the idea. As long as it's with some sort of clear instructions I think it will be excellent
NightstalkerNOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 01:16 PM   #84
chrisofsweden
Member
 
chrisofsweden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 648
Default

Yes. I will require de-sanitize the lfs and io. Everyone who has used any of the Dynamic Campaign Engine campaigns (MBot and succeeding mods by users) has had to do this.
chrisofsweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 01:19 PM   #85
Surrexen
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 166
Default

Small progress update here, I've written a totally different method for unit persistence which works for both ground units and ships. Hooray! It is much more efficient. I will tomorrow see if I can adapt it for static objects.

The other neat thing now is that if you get to the 'end', it will automatically scrub the progress so nobody will need to manually remove anything, just relaunch and it will start over completely from scratch.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:30 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.