2dof Motion Reality Chair with DCS - Page 16 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2018, 03:06 PM   #151
billybezeau
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 84
Default

oh good to know really appreciate your pictures!! I think mine Is a little longer than yours but I think if i shim the seat to make it a little higher I could be able to reach to desire height for my stick!

Can anyone help figure out this; when I look at the videos from 59th ravens, I noticed that simtools might be using aircraft attitude input to make the 2dof movements. Where it should be using the g factor inputs. For an example when an airplane is in a coordinated turn, you should not feel like you're getting pushed on to the left right. you should only feel your body weight vector going down to the seat, which would be represented as the seat leaning backwards in the reality chair. (the only time you would feel yourself pushed from side to side, which would be represented with the chair banking right or left, is when you are in an uncoordinated turn or any yaw movements or when you apply fast and big stick input when you are transitioning from straight flying to banking it.

So before i buy a chair like this I would like to be sure i can use the G factor input and AOA instead of the aircraft attitude.

thanks
Billy
billybezeau is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 04:34 PM   #152
BigMillerTime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 66
Default

Excellent question. I imagine the tech is still in it's infancy, and that with the maturity of SIMTOOLS profile, the desired effect is/will be obtainable.
BigMillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 03:07 AM   #153
frenzon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billybezeau View Post
So before i buy a chair like this I would like to be sure i can use the G factor input and AOA instead of the aircraft attitude.
It seems like simtools doesn't currently export the g-forces, but it looks like people in the xsimulator forums have been writing their own scripts to figure it out.
frenzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 12:47 PM   #154
avenger82
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Hello,

I've noob question: Does DOF Reality Motion Simulator platform support(is compatible with) Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog throttle and stick?
When I go to: https://dofreality.com/order/
I can chose "flight HOTAS and joystick mount", but I don't think it allows to just mount and screw Thrustmaster stick with the bottom plate to the platform. Should the Thrustmaster stick be first detached from the bottom plate, before mounting to the motion rig?

So has anyone mounted Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog to 3DOF platform?

Last edited by avenger82; 04-16-2018 at 12:53 PM.
avenger82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 07:13 PM   #155
Gearbox
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billybezeau View Post
oh good to know really appreciate your pictures!! I think mine Is a little longer than yours but I think if i shim the seat to make it a little higher I could be able to reach to desire height for my stick!

Can anyone help figure out this; when I look at the videos from 59th ravens, I noticed that simtools might be using aircraft attitude input to make the 2dof movements. Where it should be using the g factor inputs. For an example when an airplane is in a coordinated turn, you should not feel like you're getting pushed on to the left right. you should only feel your body weight vector going down to the seat, which would be represented as the seat leaning backwards in the reality chair. (the only time you would feel yourself pushed from side to side, which would be represented with the chair banking right or left, is when you are in an uncoordinated turn or any yaw movements or when you apply fast and big stick input when you are transitioning from straight flying to banking it.

So before i buy a chair like this I would like to be sure i can use the G factor input and AOA instead of the aircraft attitude.

thanks
Billy
I just got one of these myself and I'm still trying to get iRacing to work properly, but while trying to get the traction loss thingy to behave correctly I discovered this: https://www.xsimulator.net/community...in.9096/page-7

Basically when you roll the plane, you want the seat to lean to simulate the rolling sensation itself, then it slowly returns to center when you aren't rolling so that your G vector is straight down where it belongs and the seat is ready to roll again the next time you mess with the stick.
Gearbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 07:15 PM   #156
Gearbox
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avenger82 View Post
Hello,

I've noob question: Does DOF Reality Motion Simulator platform support(is compatible with) Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog throttle and stick?
When I go to: https://dofreality.com/order/
I can chose "flight HOTAS and joystick mount", but I don't think it allows to just mount and screw Thrustmaster stick with the bottom plate to the platform. Should the Thrustmaster stick be first detached from the bottom plate, before mounting to the motion rig?

So has anyone mounted Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog to 3DOF platform?
Yes, the little plate they give you has the holes in the right spots, but they didn't countersink the screw holes and I'm worried that they might stick up too far and touch the insides of the base and damage the board. I think it needs to be spaced away from the plate with some washers. The plate seems a little thin to try to counter-sink the holes, it would be easy to remove too much material.
Gearbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 03:20 AM   #157
Alex&Crow
Junior Member
 
Alex&Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 63
Default

Does anyone know why my platform doesn't work with DCS? the plugin is installed, game running but platform not movied. I can feel the motors tapping, but the game is not transmitting data to simtools. That the problem?

__________________
i7-7700k/4.2GHz/MSI PRO Series motherboard/MSI GTX1080/ 16GB DDR3/ SSD 240Gb+HDD/ 64xWin 10/Oculus Rift CV1/2Dof motion platform
Alex&Crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 09:05 PM   #158
Bluethornton
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portsmouth UK
Posts: 158
Default

Hi
have you got game manager running as well?
__________________
Desktop PC:
Intel i7 4760K, Gigabyte MOBO, 32 GB RAM , GPU Nvidia GTX 1080
Windows 10, TM Warthog, Crosswind rudder peddles, Occulus Rift.
Bluethornton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 04:27 AM   #159
Alex&Crow
Junior Member
 
Alex&Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 63
Default

Of course. The problem was the decimal separator in my windows for my region.
__________________
i7-7700k/4.2GHz/MSI PRO Series motherboard/MSI GTX1080/ 16GB DDR3/ SSD 240Gb+HDD/ 64xWin 10/Oculus Rift CV1/2Dof motion platform
Alex&Crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:35 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.