TrackIR or VR? why? - Page 30 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2019, 01:00 PM   #291
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 940
Default

The "VR Mod" he is talking about is Kegetys Shader mod which improves VR performance for a lot of people, not SLI : https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...ht=DCS+shaders

SLI doesn't improve performance in VR in any meaningful way. Sorry.
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

DCS F-16C REALLY IS A THING! - BLOCK 50 BABY!!!

My Screenshots - Excited About = PointCTRL VR
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 02:08 PM   #292
Der Hirte
Junior Member
 
Der Hirte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deano87 View Post
The "VR Mod" he is talking about is Kegetys Shader mod which improves VR performance for a lot of people, not SLI : https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...ht=DCS+shaders

SLI doesn't improve performance in VR in any meaningful way. Sorry.
Read the rest of the thread he posted this in, you might see that this is the only post he tested this mod in. He still has high performance even without the mod. And so much on ignoring this part of my previous post: "Assuming this dude doesn't talk shit - why would he? - he is having these fps on max settings, even with AA and a pixel density of 2.0. To me it doesn't sound legit to claim that only one 2080TI is capable of this performance. Pixel density 2.0, AA, max settings and these fps? Did something change with the Oculus software that PD 2.0 isn't as demanding as it used to be? I remember people maxing out on a 1080TI at low DCS settings and not even reaching nearly constant 90 FPS at like 1.4 or 1.5 or so, and this increases exponentially. PD 2.0 is hugely more harsh on the hardware than just 1.4 or 1.5. Not even starting to talk about the low versus high DCS settings and AA ..."

How do you explain this performance with a single 2080TI? I'm genuinely interested. The jump from a single 1080TI to a single 2080TI doesn't justify the jump from PD ~1.4 to 2.0, low to high DCS settings (maybe turning on AA for some) and FPS above of 40 or 45+ most of the time in low level flight. I am not the only one which is atleast a bit suspicious about this performance am I?

Edit: Yeah, look at post #22 which I already posted. It's without the mod, whatever the mod does.

Last edited by Der Hirte; 02-23-2019 at 02:28 PM.
Der Hirte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 02:36 PM   #293
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Hirte View Post
Does this imply outside of this "special VR SLI mode" SLI can't work in VR or can it but it isn't ideal?
https://forums.oculusvr.com/communit...s-rift-and-sli

Normally SLI should disable itself automatically according to Oculus staff. I don't know the technical details, but probably synchronizing two cards in AFR mode to generate stable frame times with low latency required by the headset is a PITA. And AFR mode by definition requires a back buffer of at least 2 frames to keep the cards busy.

With dedicated VR sli mode, each card generates image for one eye, so they are easier to sync.

I can get ~45fps with MSAA x2, PD 2.0 and high settings with a single 2080 Ti. That's not an indicator of anything. Not to mention that's a very vague definition of performance anyway.
__________________

Owned modules & betas: A-10C; Ka-50; P-51; FW-190D; UH-1; FC; FC2; FC3; L-39C/ZA; MiG-15bis; F-86F Sabre; Bf 109 K-4; F-5E; Mi-8MTV2; M-2000C; SA-342; MiG-21bis; C-101 Aviojet; Hawk T.1A; Spitfire IX; AJS 37; AV-8B;NTTR; PG
Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Rift CV1
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 03:00 PM   #294
Der Hirte
Junior Member
 
Der Hirte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
https://forums.oculusvr.com/communit...s-rift-and-sli
Normally SLI should disable itself automatically according to Oculus staff. I don't know the technical details, but probably synchronizing two cards in AFR mode to generate stable frame times with low latency required by the headset is a PITA. And AFR mode by definition requires a back buffer of at least 2 frames to keep the cards busy.
You don't have another HMD than Rift right? I mean for some VR SLI seems to be working in SteamVR for example (which Pimax builds on).
Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
With dedicated VR sli mode, each card generates image for one eye, so they are easier to sync.
If this isn't implemented or atleast planned to be by now I don't know why.
Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
I can get ~45fps with MSAA x2, PD 2.0 and high settings with a single 2080 Ti.
Yes, this definitively sounds like change to me. When the first big wave of Rifts were used for DCS with 1080TI people couldn't reach higher than 1.4 or so for ASW to be enabled, not to speak of 90 FPS fluently.
Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
Not to mention that's a very vague definition of performance anyway.
If you know how much stronger the 2080TI is stronger than a 1080TI on average it's atleast an indication if SLI has impact or not. This all starts to smell like it's time for a Kingpin 2080TI.

Last edited by Der Hirte; 02-23-2019 at 03:02 PM.
Der Hirte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 03:07 PM   #295
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Hirte View Post
If this isn't implemented or atleast planned to be by now I don't know why.
Because it is the opposite of what you should normally do to optimize VR performance, where you cram everything into one frame for single pass rendering. So it has to be done on a game engine level. And expecting it to be done by ED in DCS, well, it's a niche (SLI) in a niche (VR) in a niche (DCS), I wouldn't expect it getting much attention.

Quote:
Yes, this definitively sounds like change to me. When the first big wave of Rifts were used for DCS with 1080TI people couldn't reach higher than 1.4 or so for ASW to be enabled, not to speak of 90 FPS fluently.
My point is, I'm in the same ballpark with a single 2080Ti as the guy with two in SLI.
__________________

Owned modules & betas: A-10C; Ka-50; P-51; FW-190D; UH-1; FC; FC2; FC3; L-39C/ZA; MiG-15bis; F-86F Sabre; Bf 109 K-4; F-5E; Mi-8MTV2; M-2000C; SA-342; MiG-21bis; C-101 Aviojet; Hawk T.1A; Spitfire IX; AJS 37; AV-8B;NTTR; PG
Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Rift CV1
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 03:22 PM   #296
Der Hirte
Junior Member
 
Der Hirte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
Because it is the opposite of what you should normally do to optimize VR performance, where you cram everything into one frame for single pass rendering. So it has to be done on a game engine level. And expecting it to be done by ED in DCS, well, it's a niche (SLI) in a niche (VR) in a niche (DCS), I wouldn't expect it getting much attention.
If theres no alternative, especially for SteamVR and Pimax then ... Vulkan now in 2021 or so.
Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
My point is, I'm in the same ballpark with a single 2080Ti as the guy with two in SLI.
I know, I was elaborating why the numbers "Naruto" got made me so suspicous in the first place considering DCS VR. The performance jump seemed too good to be true from 1080TI to 2080TI.
Der Hirte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 03:25 PM   #297
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Hirte View Post
If theres no alternative, especially for SteamVR and Pimax then ... Vulkan now in 2022! or so.
I know, I was elaborating why the numbers "Naruto" got made me so suspicous in the first place considering DCS VR. The performance jump seemed too good to be true from 1080TI to 2080TI.
Depend on the rig it is running on.

I went from 1080 Ti to 2080 Ti on my previous 4820k rig at 4.5 GHz, and saw very small improvement.
Built this new i9 9900k rig at 5.1 GHz and my performance with the same 2080 Ti went up quite a lot.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | EVGA DG 87 Case |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 04:41 PM   #298
Habu_69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTFreeFlyer View Post
Search for the “Spotting mod for VR”. It’s awesome. I didn’t want to use it at first because I thought it would be like cheating, but not at all. It’s much more realistic. It’s set up for air to air spotting, but you can edit the LUA to also allow for ground targets. You just change the ground targets parameter at the top of the file from false to true, then adjust the distances to your liking. I have mine set up so I can’t really notice anything until I’m within a realistic spotting distance. At first I was spotting targets from 10 miles away which really bugged me, but now I’m loving it.

Mind sharing your file settings?
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 07:25 PM   #299
eaglecash867
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
Depend on the rig it is running on.

I went from 1080 Ti to 2080 Ti on my previous 4820k rig at 4.5 GHz, and saw very small improvement.
Built this new i9 9900k rig at 5.1 GHz and my performance with the same 2080 Ti went up quite a lot.
Did you try out your old 1080ti in the new rig before going back to the 2080ti to see if it was a big difference without a CPU change? Just curious. Still on the fence about going from a 1080ti to a 2080ti on the same rig.
__________________
ASRock Z370 Professional Gaming i7, Intel i7 8700K Coffee Lake processor @4.7GHz, Corsair H105 Liquid Cooler, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB DDR4 3400 memory, ZOTAC GTX1080Ti AMP Extreme 11GB video card, Samsung 840PRO 256MB SSD for Windows 10 64-bit OS, Samsung 850PRO 2TB SSD for program files, LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner. HOTAS Warthog, Saitek Pedals, and Oculus Rift CV1.
eaglecash867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 08:59 PM   #300
Supmua
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
Depend on the rig it is running on.

I went from 1080 Ti to 2080 Ti on my previous 4820k rig at 4.5 GHz, and saw very small improvement.
Built this new i9 9900k rig at 5.1 GHz and my performance with the same 2080 Ti went up quite a lot.
How was your CPU temp at 5.1 GHz, I'm afraid to push mine more as I already push almost 90F with 5.0 GHz (all cores) running certain benchmarks.
__________________
ASUS ROG STRIX 390-E, Intel 9900K 5.0 GHz, ASUS Dual OC 2080Ti, G.Skill 3600 32GB RAM. TM Warthog HOTAS with FSSB R3 Lighting base and TDC mod. TM MFD. HTC Vive Pro.
Supmua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:57 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.