[ALL MODULES][SP/CO-OP] Liberation Dynamic Campaign - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2018, 08:15 PM   #41
shdwp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 40
Default

Okay, so about the multiplayer thingy:

Could someone check whether it works correctly if:

* you pass it the clients debriefing?
* you pass it the debriefing when you've completed the objective, but everyone's still on the server?
* you shut down the server as a host and pass it the debriefing?

It looks like it wouldn't state the unit if its slot is not occupied (i.e. if somebody leaves it the unit wouldn't be in the log), but I hadn't been able to reproduce it by myself.

I think I might have an alternative for it that would work in all of the cases, but that would require to re-implement a part of the application and would probably take more than a few days.
shdwp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 11:56 PM   #42
NoJoe
Member
 
NoJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 612
Default

This is a really cool idea, but I'm having some issues with the debriefing. It seems the actual events in the mission have no bearing whatsoever on whether each unit gets counted as killed or not.

During the mission I lost only 1 jet and destroyed all but one of the enemy jets, but after saving the debriefing the campaign engine listed all of my jets as destroyed, and about half of the enemy as destroyed. The base no longer shows the jets as being there, so it really does consider them dead.

Is it supposed to tally one-to-one with the actual events while flying, or is it just a numbers game?

Last edited by NoJoe; 07-06-2018 at 12:23 AM.
NoJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 12:35 AM   #43
Krag6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 13
Default Testing done!

Quote:
* you pass it the clients debriefing?
Result: Client Aircraft is alive, but it otherwise kills most/every unit on the map. In attack missions that is automatic Base capture.
https://imgur.com/a/oDIxCxV

Quote:
* you pass it the debriefing when you've completed the objective, but everyone's still on the server?
Result: Client Aircraft is LOST.

Quote:
* you shut down the server as a host and pass it the debriefing?
Result: Client Aircraft is LOST

I also have encountered that sometimes enemy will not spawn any units.
Krag6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 01:28 AM   #44
shdwp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoJoe View Post
This is a really cool idea, but I'm having some issues with the debriefing. It seems the actual events in the mission have no bearing whatsoever on whether each unit gets counted as killed or not.

During the mission I lost only 1 jet and destroyed all but one of the enemy jets, but after saving the debriefing the campaign engine listed all of my jets as destroyed, and about half of the enemy as destroyed. The base no longer shows the jets as being there, so it really does consider them dead.

Is it supposed to tally one-to-one with the actual events while flying, or is it just a numbers game?
The thing that counts is "world_state" array which should list all of the units that were present when game has ended. Are you trying the multiplayer? It seems that it's not reliable when it comes to the MP. I think I'll have to reimplement the whole thing to decide purely base on events.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krag6 View Post
I also have encountered that sometimes enemy will not spawn any units.
This is something that I'd want a logs/generated mission/.. (check https://github.com/shdwp/dcs_liberat...roubleshooting for the full list) since I have no idea why this should happen.

As for the multiplayer - I guess it should be re-implemented. That'd take a couple of days. I'll update the topic to reflect that it isn't working anymore. Sadly I can't change the thread title tho.
shdwp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 03:20 AM   #45
Cik
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 329
Default

it's a cool idea and has promise OP. my only gripes are:


ATM it needs to wait for everyone to go to the marshalling point, but some of the steerpoints it will generate as marshaling points are too high for helicopters to go to (or, they didn't spawn at least making it impossible to progress) making a "force mission start" option might be good. in addition to this, marshaling points often have little relation to ultimate target steerpoints. in a mission i flew earlier it sent me 20-30nm east from my base (soganlug) then i flew nearly 100nm west to my target (kutaisi) if it could somehow evaluate distance to target and then place them between T/O location and target that would be maybe better.


in addition, it might be nice if at least some of the "baseline mission assets" (SAMs, etc) are just spawned automatically at mission start, the world "popping into existence" is a little odd. also, probably the hardest request i have but very necessary in my opinion is that the strategic AI needs to be able to launch attacks from multiple bases / base clusters. ATM i can't really load up a CVN group with hornets and have them escort anything, because missions are only generated from friendly base ----> enemy base.


also naval missions seem broken. i launched 2 hornets (me & buddy in MP) earlier and despite following waypoints 1 --> 2 several times nothing spawned and the map was empty besides us. mission type was "intercept" i believe.


also if you could allow the ability to buy naval escorts, having a single unescorted CVN seems odd and also makes the group vulnerable (depending on how red AI handles it) theoretically it could be sunk by a handful of mig-15s as carrier air defenses are relatively tame IIRC.


also if you could have it handle tankers that can be based at certain airbases that would be neat.



and if missions could be grouped. granted, i don't know if i want the whole theater flying around in one mission (though it would be neat) but having a bunch of "grouped" missions that can be simultaneously written into a .miz file would be nice. as it is, often some of my buddies won't be able to fly what they wanted in particular because the mission doesn't call for it.



anyway i don't want to demand the sun & stars from you, it's legit cool but teething issues, you know. hope you continue developing it, DCS really needs something like this imo.

Last edited by Cik; 07-06-2018 at 03:25 AM.
Cik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 10:40 AM   #46
M1Combat
Member
 
M1Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Prescott AZ, US
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shdwp View Post
The temporary fix for you would be to change the start.bat file and replace %UserProfile% in there with parent folder of your Saved Games

Thanks I'll give it a shot
__________________
Win-10 x64

Nvidia GTX970 (HTC Vive)
MSI Z77 MPower
Core i5-3570K
24GB G-Skill Trident-X

Saitek X-65F and Fanatec Club-Sport Pedals
(UCR - mapping throttle and clutch pedals together to form a rudder Axis)
GamesCom/Plantronics 780 USB Headset
M1Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 01:04 PM   #47
Patchwork
Junior Member
 
Patchwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Default

Alright, I think I found the issue for why Carrier missions are not spawning the enemy aircraft (I am using 1.12).

The "Push trigger" for carrier ops is using the "ALL OF COALITION OUT OF ZONE" Condition. This is not a suitable trigger considering that the carrier itself is part of the Blue coalition and will never end up leaving the push zone. This means the flag 1 value is never set properly, so the enemy doesn't spawn.

In the meantime, I'm manually setting the condition for the push trigger to "PART OF GROUP OUT OF ZONE" and selecting the player group.

Last edited by Patchwork; 07-06-2018 at 01:11 PM.
Patchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 04:17 PM   #48
Shein
Member
 
Shein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shdwp View Post
The thing that counts is "world_state" array which should list all of the units that were present when game has ended. Are you trying the multiplayer? It seems that it's not reliable when it comes to the MP. I think I'll have to reimplement the whole thing to decide purely base on events.



This is something that I'd want a logs/generated mission/.. (check https://github.com/shdwp/dcs_liberat...roubleshooting for the full list) since I have no idea why this should happen.

As for the multiplayer - I guess it should be re-implemented. That'd take a couple of days. I'll update the topic to reflect that it isn't working anymore. Sadly I can't change the thread title tho.
Thank you for your work. Of all the DCE's in DCS, I find this one to be the most preferable and it has the most promise. Keep up the good work!
Shein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 04:32 PM   #49
hreich
Member
 
hreich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 926
Default

Hi all... How to quickly add f18 to do cas, bombing and more ground pounding ( from) carrier?

Sent from my Redmi Note 4 using Tapatalk
__________________

Pilot from Croatia
hreich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 08:33 AM   #50
RedeyeStorm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 38
Default

Hishdwp,

Thank you for your work. You must have put in alot of hours I think. I wan't to give you a quick feedback on my experience so far. I started a campaign on Caucasus flying the Mig 29 A/S. I have flown three missions so far. On CAP and two frontline CAS. I fly SP.

First it looks like there is one loadout available. In all three missions, including CAP, I was armed with two Fab500 bombs, rocket pods and two R73's.
The weather gave me clouds on the ground which obscured the ground targets. I ended up blind dropping the bombs on the marker. I do like how you represent the frontline though. I also noticed through the external camera that all the targets where clustered on one spot. One Mk84 could take out the whole group.

Not sure if this the following is ED's problem but taking off on the CAS mission, two Mig15's and myself in Mig29 we took off from oppisite ends.

Further I noticed that the price for the Su25A and T are the same. I should say that the T version should be more expensive then the A version considering the planes capabilities.

I will definitly continue to fly your campaign.
RedeyeStorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
campaign, dynamic campaign

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:15 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.