ACMI for DCS World? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2018, 01:30 PM   #1
FoxHoundELite
Member
 
FoxHoundELite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 372
Default ACMI for DCS World?

Will DCS World add this toy for "authentic" training in Red Flag campaign? Just curious
__________________
Feel the Rush of Superior Air Power

FoxHoundELite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 01:43 PM   #2
EagleA25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxHoundELite View Post
Will DCS World add this toy for "authentic" training in Red Flag campaign? Just curious



Don’t get me wrong because I’m all for it, but...
Red/Green/Purple Flag Exercises depend on a LOT of Ground and Air Support when it comes to the ACMI Evaluation; we’ll need those “referees” stations, too!
I’d be happy to take up the Exercise Evaluator once in a while...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
EagleA25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 09:27 PM   #3
Hyperion35
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 133
Default

I think the F-5 BFM campaign includes an ACMI on one of the wingtip pylons when you fly the missions. I have no idea whether the ACMI is actually set up to simulate anything, or whether it's just there as a prop to look cool, since the missions use live weapons and the DCS simulator itself is obviously capable of detecting whether you score a hit.

But at the very least, I think that this means that you can attach an ACMI to the F-5, and possibly to other aircraft.
Hyperion35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 09:34 PM   #4
Texac
Senior Member
 
Texac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,028
Default

The ACMI is only visually implemented AFAIK.

A fully simulated ACMI in DCS World would probably be a thing for the very far future, but a great one.
__________________
Texac on YouTube

Liveries/SkinsDCS Screenshots
Texac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 10:54 PM   #5
Emmy
Member
 
Emmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 822
Default

TacView?
__________________

http://www.476vfightergroup.com/content.php
High Quality Aviation Photography For Personal Enjoyment And Editorial Use.
www.crosswindimages.com
Emmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 05:00 AM   #6
Kippy
Member
 
Kippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Posts: 241
Default

Yep, currently you can carry the AN/ASQ-T50 TCTS on the A-10, F-15C, F-5E, and the AV-8B. It does nothing besides look neat and add weight.

Though, as FlyingPhotog says, there is TacView, which is a very flexible and awesome ACMI program that I'm sure will fit your needs.

http://www.tacview.net/

So.. for the desired effect, carry the neat pod and install TacView. Note that you don't have to be carrying the pod for TacView to work.

As Texac stated, maybe down the line in the future we could get a built in ACMI tools. Maybe we could even get HUD tapes?
Kippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.