notebook/laptop performance - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2017, 11:35 AM   #1
Termix
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2
Reputation power: 0
Termix is on a distinguished road
Default notebook/laptop performance

hello, who plays dcs on a notebook and whats your performance and settings ?

please, Im aware that desktop is better, so save your breath
Termix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 12:19 PM   #2
zhukov032186
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 312
Reputation power: 5
zhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nice
Default

I used to game on a Sager @ 1080p, 2.4-2.7ghz I7 quad core (don't remember the model) with a 680M. Ran pretty good on higher graphic settings. It's possible to do, just expensive (that was a $2,000, 20lb beast)
__________________
The battle against ignorance has turned into a war of attrition... and the idiots have numbers.
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 05:03 PM   #3
AtaliaA1
Senior Member
 
AtaliaA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi, Pontotoc originaly from Cleveland OH.
Posts: 1,872
Reputation power: 15
AtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really niceAtaliaA1 is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhukov032186 View Post
I used to game on a Sager @ 1080p, 2.4-2.7ghz I7 quad core (don't remember the model) with a 680M. Ran pretty good on higher graphic settings. It's possible to do, just expensive (that was a $2,000, 20lb beast)
Don't forget zhu. That was before the graphics updates. It may run on very low settings now. with a good mobile graphics card hard to tell until it is done.

Keeping tabs on this one to see if it is possible.
__________________
This was a Boutique Builder iBuypower rig. Until I got the tinker bug again i7 920 @3.6Mhz 12Gig Corsair XMS3 ram 1600 Nvidia 760 SLi w/4Gig DDR5 Ram Intel 310 SSD HDD 160 Gb + Western Digital 4Terabyte HDD Creative SB X-Fi HD Audio Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Speaker System Dual Acer 32"Monitors. PSU 1200 w Thermaltake Win10 64Bit.
AtaliaA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 05:14 PM   #4
ChillyWillies
Member
 
ChillyWillies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 123
Reputation power: 3
ChillyWillies will become famous soon enoughChillyWillies will become famous soon enough
Default

As a general tip, you may wish to put Water on Low and Shadows on Flat Only. Also, if the laptop in question has more RAM, max your Preload Radius.

You also might want to use a laptop cooling pad, and make sure that Nvidia Control Panel sets DCS.exe to run at max performance (to avoid throttling.)
__________________
Come join a passionate community of flight simmers everyday, live at https://www.twitch.tv/chillywillies
http://i67.tinypic.com/16hnv2f.png
PC Specs
Spoiler:
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.4GHz MSI Z170A Gaming M7
Corsair Vengeance LED 2666MHz 32GB DDR4
H115i 280mm Liquid CPU Cooler
EVGA GeForce 980Ti Hybrid (built-in liquid cooling)
EVGA SuperNova 750W 80+Gold
Samsung NVMe 950PRO M.2 SSD 512GBx2
ChillyWillies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 02:50 AM   #5
kiss4luna
Member
 
kiss4luna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 329
Reputation power: 11
kiss4luna has a spectacular aura aboutkiss4luna has a spectacular aura aboutkiss4luna has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to kiss4luna
Default

in fact it doesn't matter it's a desktop or a laptop.
it does matters whether or not the performance your cpu and gpu provide are equal on a desktop or laptop.
generally, a laptop provides the same level performance on a much higher expense than a desktop. or vice visa, a much lower performance at the same price of desktop.
if you can afford an expensive laptop with the top-of-the-edge i7 mobile cpu and GeForce mobile gpu, they at least can ensure you a mid-level desktop pc performance. otherwise you just lower your settings cause your laptop is just not that fast enough to your same price desktop.
for dcs, the latest generation i5-7x00 series desktop cpu or i7-7x00 series mobile cpu should handle it well enough. and the latest geforce gtx 1060 desktop gpu and 1070m mobile gpu should crank it well.
__________________
Intel Core i7-6700K + NZXT X62
Asus Maximus VIII Gene + Team DDR4-3200MHz 8GB x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan Xp + Dell U2715H
Plextor PX-256M6G+ + WD10JPVT x2 + WD10JPVX + WD7500BPKX
Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Edifier R1900TV + Sennheiser HD595 + IE8
Phantek P300 + SilverStone ST75F-GS
Logitech G80 + Razer DeathAdder
Thrustmaster Warhog HOTAS + TFRP
My Steam Page
kiss4luna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 12:56 PM   #6
zhukov032186
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 312
Reputation power: 5
zhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nicezhukov032186 is just really nice
Default

Pretty much. A laptop can do most anything a desktop can provided you throw enough money at it. Although, they rapidly cease being 'laptops' and are more like 'portable PCs' you plug into a wall somewhere.

Don't expect to accomplish much 'high end' gaming on a laptop worth less than $1,000. And don't expect to be able to hit the really demanding games for less than $2,000.
__________________
The battle against ignorance has turned into a war of attrition... and the idiots have numbers.
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.