DCS World 1.5/2.0 FAQ - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2015, 03:35 PM   #1
SiThSpAwN
Community Manager
 
SiThSpAwN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 20,347
Reputation power: 102
SiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to behold
Default DCS World 1.5/2.0 FAQ

DCS World 1.5 and 2 Discussion

Note: Please stay on topic. Off topic posts will be removed. This thread will be heavily moderated.

We also ask that you please abide by our forum rules:

http://forums.eagle.ru/rules.php#en

In particular:

1.10. - Product feedback and constructive criticism is encouraged when provided in a mature and courteous manner. However, feedback that is abusive, insulting or condescending is not welcome. Additionally, to bring up a particular issue repeatedly after it has already been acknowledged will be considered "trolling" - in such cases a warning will be issued to the author and the post will be removed.


Please note: When there is new news it will be posted in this post or as part of an official newsletter. We have no set schedule for news updates and news will be provided only when we feel there is newsworthy items to pass along.


DCS World 2

DCS World 2 is the next iteration of the Digital Combat Simulator (DCS) series that will include a new graphics engine (developed in our Eagle Dynamics Graphics Engine development environment). It will be a FREE update and all of your DCS World module keys will work with it. In addition to the new graphics engine, DCS World 2 will also usher in the ability to have multiple maps integrated into DCS (both developed by Eagle Dynamics and our 3rd party partners). Maps currently in development include the Nevada Test and Training Range (NTTR), Strait of Hormuz, and Europe 1944. The Map SDK is available to qualified 3rd party development teams. Interested parties can PM me with detailed proposals.

Some features we plan to include in DCS World 2 include:
  • Direct X 11 support
  • Improved performance
  • Dynamic shadowing of the terrain and mountains
  • Improved weather
  • Improved lighting
  • Clipmap support for new maps
  • Higher object counts
  • Higher resolution ground terrain mesh and textures for new maps (between 1 and 64 meters per pixel depending on area of map and clipmap level)
  • More detailed tree models with collision for new maps
  • Better graphical effects
  • High resolution road textures for new maps
  • Ability for road signs and light signals for new maps
  • Additional ground clutter (rocks, cactuses, etc.) for new maps
  • Skeleton animation for infantry
  • Better use of multiple GPUs (CPU multi-threading is not being pursued as it will provide little if any gain)
  • Ability to create dedicated servers in the future
  • Unified front end and simulation .exe
  • Improved API sound support
  • Improved Oculus Rift support

    Several of the features will probably not be available when the DCS World 2 is first launched as an open beta. This includes improved weather and dedicated server.
The Black Sea map will see several benefits of this including better lighting, improved grass, effects and weather.

DCS World 1.5

Prior to the release of DCS World 2, DCS World 1.5 will be released. This version will be the much the same as described above for DCS World 2 but will NOT include the ability to use new maps and several of the new map features. We plan to release DCS World 1.5 along side DCS: L-39 Albatros in September 2015. Items of DCS World 1.5 include:
  • Direct X 11 support
  • Improved performance
  • Improved lighting
  • Better graphical effects (contrails and missile smoke trails)
  • Better use of multiple GPUs (CPU multi-threading is not being pursued as it will provide little if any gain)
  • Unified front end and simulation .exe
  • Improved API sound support
  • Improved Oculus Rift support

The Nevada Test and Training Range (NTTR) Map

The first new map being developed for DCS World 2 is the NTTR map.

This map originally started as a third party project with no input from Eagle Dynamics. However, as we started to develop DCS: A-10C, we realized that this map could serve as a great location for the A-10C training missions. To make this happen, we officially partnered with the third party team to help make this happen. We were so confident in this endeavor that we included a very early version as part of the original A-10C beta.

Unfortunately, due to several reasons, the third party team dissolved and Eagle was left holding the bag of a promised NTTR map to customers that had purchased it as part of A-10C. After taking over the project, it soon became apparent that the current engine was incapable of running the map at the desired quality levels vs. performance. In order to realize this map as first envisioned, an entirely new image generator would be required... this later became a key element of the new graphics engine.

Building a new graphics engine is never an easy or fast task and DCS World 2 has proved no different. However, the NTTR map has provided an excellent test bed for the new map rendering technologies. So, all that being said, the NTTR was developed for the following reasons:

1- For training missions of western aircraft.
2- To honor A-10C beta purchases.
3- Allow creation of Red Flag type missions centered on the NTTR.
4- New map technology test bed.

Some facts about the NTTR map:
  • Airfields include Nellis AFB, Groom Lake AFB, Creech AFB, and Las Vegas McCarren. At a later point we hope to also add Tonopah AFB.
  • The map is approximately 600 x 610 km. The airfield locations have the greatest detail (elevation mesh and textures of 2 meters per pixel), the center area of the map between the airfields (as indicted by the area covered by roads in the attached image) has the second highest detail (4-8 meters per pixel), and the area along the outside portions of the map have the least detail (16 to 64 meters per pixel). Attached are images from low, medium and high altitude from low, medium and high detail areas of the map.
  • We hope to release an Alpha test version within the next couple of months depending how debugging goes.
  • Currently, most of the art aspects are complete and most of the remaining work is in regards to integrating the map into DCS World 2 (AI, effects, collisions, weather, etc.)
  • An Alpha test version of the NTTR map will be made available for free to those customers that purchased the A-10C beta. For those that did not take part in the A-10C beta, the NTTR map price and availability is TBD

Those users getting the map for free from the A-10C beta will have to purchase the A-10C & F-15C Red Flag Campaigns separately.


Frequently Asked Questions


When will the DCS World 1.5.0 Open Beta be released?

The DCS World 1.5.0 build is currently being created from a new code branch. Once that is complete, it will undergo internal testing. Once it has passed testing, it will be released.

I have pre-purchased NTTR, when will I be able to use it?
NTTR and the ability to use new theatres will come with 2.0. Right now, release of NTTR/2.0 is set for sometime in late November 2015.

Why release 1.5, why not just 2.0?
As optimization and refinement of NTTR and the addition of new theatres is completed ED wanted to get public testing started on EDGE and other new features coming with 2.0. As new theatres is one of the biggest features of 2.0, the thought was to give this initial release a lesser number as it didnt have one of the biggest features.

What features will 1.5 come with.
Many of the new features planned for 2.0 should be in 1.5 in one form or another, a number are still WIP and some yet are not ready for primetime. A Changelog will be released shortly before 1.5 is available, it will better describe what you are getting.

There are a number of bugs outstanding, why all these new things and no fixes?
1.5 will be a completion of a enormous amount of fixes that have been held up by the process of building EDGE and 2.0. remember most of the last releases have been to add new aircraft and fixes for those, most fixes for the core and older modules have been held back. Expect a large changelog, and possibly many fixes beyond that.

Will _______ effect be added/improved in 1.5?
Most if not all effects will be redone to take advantage of Dx11, but its a huge undertaking and as effects are added they need to be tested and tweaked. Your favorite effect may not make it into the initial 1.5 Beta, but that doesn't mean its forgotten or left out.

I see a spelling mistake on one of the Hotels in Vegas, how do I report it!
These are misspelled on purpose for copyright issues.

Will my system be able to run EDGE/1.5/2.0?
In many cases your current system will love the upgrade, it should make better use of your (directX11) GPU, so if you have a decent GPU with decent amount of video ram on it, you shouldn't have to worry too much. I would imagine the minimum specs will increase slightly, but until we get a larger sampling of machines through Open Beta, we wont have firm specs.

Do I have to re-purchase my modules?
No, this is simply an upgrade of your current sim, of course a huge update, but you will not be required to repurchase anything.

Should I do a full install, or just update?
They will come down as an update, it is up to you whether or not you want to do a clean install, or just update your current.

Will I need to remap my controls?
Depending on the changes to the specific module, you may find doing a clean set up of your controls better.

Can I pre-purchase NTTR on Steam
Pre-purchases for DCS World DLC has never been available on Steam and neither will the NTTR map, see Wags statement here: http://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?...49&postcount=3

I heard we can crash into trees now?
Yes, trees are collidable (not for the Black Sea Map), as with many features in 1.5/2.0 these are always a WIP, trees in urban areas can be hit, but larger forests out in the wilds may not be yet. Depending on performance and such, will determine if and when these get added. Right now only the trunk is collidable, this means the AI can see through most of the tree, and weapons may pass through a tree if they dont hit the trunk, again this is a WIP and its known how important this is. **EDIT: As of 9/16/2015 forest have no been given the ability to ruin your day, look out for all the trees now

I saw new grass and clouds early, then they disappeared, will they be in 1.5?
Grass and Clouds are like other effects, they are always being worked on and tweaked, they may or not be ready for initial release of 1.5 BUT they are coming.

I want to help, how can I report bugs for 1.5?
Before release we will be creating a forum for all bug reports, detailed instructions on how to do so will be coming.

I am getting the NTTR map free because of the A-10C Beta, what about the campaigns?
The Campaign bonuses are for pre-order only, if you are getting the map free, you don't get the Campaigns free.

Will my mods and user made content work with 1.5?
ED only supports official updates and official 3rd Party content, it is also highly recommended when taking part in the Open Beta, to test without any unofficial changes, modifications or add-ons.

Will all my skins still work?
Skins should transition fine, you may want to inspect ones you have painted yourself as changes to the graphics engine might make them appear differently, or you might be able to improve upon them now.

Will the Net code be improved?
Of course many of the core sim changes should go a long way to helping these issues, as well as later down the road things like dedicated servers, etc. this is one area that really needs open beta to really put it through its paces.

Why some of the mountains look blurry in the NTTR map?
The NTTR map uses clip maps that have different levels of polygon and texture detail based on the view distance. This is unlike the Black Sea map that renders the terrain at full mesh and texture detail, regardless of the view distance. This led to a big performance penalty. The clip map system better allows us to balance looks with performance. We decided to use this solution rather than small maps or using view distance fogging. The other element is map file size. The map is already a very large 26 GB. To add even high resolution assets would explode the file size beyond manageable levels for many customers.

What version of the Oculus SDK will be in 1.5
ED currently has 1.5 working with the 0.7.0.0 SDK and DK2, but there are known bugs that will continue to be worked on. The primary Oculus focus is on CV1 implementation.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."

SiThSpAwN is offline  
Old 11-23-2015, 04:26 PM   #2
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 16,535
Reputation power: 665
USSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond repute
Exclamation ATI 3xx videocard

Fix for ATI 3xx videocard in 1.5.1.47285.107: unzip the attached archive (2 dll's) and copy these files into 'Eagle Dуnаmiсs\<DCS World Open Beta>\bin' folder.

It's not a final fix, it's rather quick solution and we are still working on it.

Thanks to Mustang for help.

PS Dear users who own these videocard, we kindly ask you to open a new ticket in AMD Customer Care/Technical Support: http://emailcustomercare.amd.com/ We hope it can help to solving issue.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ati_x64.zip (3.61 MB, 1051 views)
__________________
...эффект колориметрической контракции до сих пор не обнаруживался, а мы его тут… эта… обнаружили...(АБС)

DCS World: Часто задаваемые вопросы

DCS World 1.5: Часто задаваемые вопросы

DCS World 2.0 Open Alpha: Часто задаваемые вопросы


Last edited by USSR_Rik; 02-23-2016 at 08:40 AM.
USSR_Rik is offline  
Old 06-29-2017, 01:57 PM   #3
Chizh
ED Producer
 
Chizh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Москва
Posts: 46,208
Reputation power: 634
Chizh has disabled reputation
Default The program can't start because api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll is missing

Problem
When you start DCS 2.1.1+ or DCS 1.5.7+ you get the following error message:
The program can't start because api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll is missing from your computer.

Cause
The problem is that the KB2999226 (Universal CRT), which is part of the Visual C++ Redistributable, failed to install. The Universal CRT fails to install if the necessary prerequisites (other updates) have not been installed yet.

Solution
1. Install Windows Updates:
Go to Start - Control Panel - Windows Update
Check for updates
Install all available updates.
After the updates are installed, restart your computer.
After the restart repeat the steps above again until no more updates are available.
2. Download the Visual C++ Redistributable:
For Windows 64-bit
Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2017 (64-bit)
3. Run the vc_redist.x64.exe (64-bit) or vc_redist.x86.exe (32-bit) and select Uninstall
4. Run the .exe again and select Install

Alternative Solution
If the solution above fails, try installing the runtime manually from:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ime-in-windows
or consider upgrading to Windows 10.

References
1. Microsoft Download - Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2017
2. Visual C++ Redistributable fails to install
3. KB2999226: Update for Universal C Runtime in Windows
__________________
Я не смотрю телевизор. Надоел.
ЧИЖ

Last edited by Chizh; 06-29-2017 at 03:03 PM.
Chizh is offline  
Old 07-11-2017, 01:59 PM   #4
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 16,535
Reputation power: 665
USSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond reputeUSSR_Rik has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Issue: client get message 'Server offline' during connect to non-public server

Both beta 1.5.7 and Alpha 2.1.1 have changed query-response system for network traffic encryption keys. Sometimes clients can get message 'Server offline' when server started with unchecked box 'Public server'.

To avoid it, necessary:

- for server: do NOT change server type in the same game session (i.e. to start 'hidden' server always with unchecked box 'Public server')
- for client: always make serverlist refresh before connect

This feature will be fixed as soon as we reach good compromise between user convenience and traffic security.
__________________
...эффект колориметрической контракции до сих пор не обнаруживался, а мы его тут… эта… обнаружили...(АБС)

DCS World: Часто задаваемые вопросы

DCS World 1.5: Часто задаваемые вопросы

DCS World 2.0 Open Alpha: Часто задаваемые вопросы


Last edited by USSR_Rik; 07-11-2017 at 02:26 PM.
USSR_Rik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:17 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.