Macross Plus Project

Gumwars

Greetings fellow gamers and aviators!

First thing's first, I am a veteran, gamer, and fledgling mod maker. I stumbled onto DCS through watching the Grim Reapers and then Growling Sidewinder. It was GS's channel that convinced me to take the plunge and I am ever so glad I did. I've been enjoying both FC3 and the nothing short of incredible F/A-18C module.

It was when I was watching GS's F-14 vs. F-22 video that an old idea of mine popped back into my head. I've always been a huge fan of Robotech. I was still in elementary school (5th grade I believe) when Harmony Gold brought that show to the states. I recall that it came on at 3:30 PM and required me to flat out run from school to my front door in order to catch it. It was the first cartoon that had an interracial couple:

68b80b57d31694127a2ebecf3b0866b3.jpg

And was the first cartoon that made death a real outcome for some of its heroes:

fokkerlaydying.jpg

It blew my mind, to say the least.

Now, I fully realize that DCS is a serious affair. Seeing the commitment and dedication involved by the team at Eagle Dynamics, to it's 3rd party affiliates, and the community as a whole, I know science fiction could be viewed as being childish or disrespectful towards the platform. However, there has always been a part of me that is called by the fantastic, the impossible, and the epic. With that, here's what I'm in the process of doing:

The Macross Plus Project.

For those unfamiliar with the material, Macross Plus is a four part animated miniseries that aired in 1994 thru 1995. The basic story is kinda off the walls, like anime usually is, and revolves around four primary characters, three of which have been friends since childhood:

Isamu Dyson - the protagonist of the story, a hot headed combat pilot sent to New Edwards to participate in a head-to-head test program for UN SPACEY's next generation fighter. Dyson pilots the YF-19 Excalibur: