Fighters wait to activate... but still exist. - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2018, 03:57 AM   #21
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,518
Default

That only applies to ground vehicles, and furthermore only works in single player at this time, unfortunately.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 01:48 PM   #22
Backdraft
Junior Member
 
Backdraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: San Diego,Ca
Posts: 79
Default

Zayets, thank you, I will try this. Now I have a question in regards to late activation. I made a help group with late activation but when I test in game they never activate?? And their time boxes are all zeros even though I put a time in there. Any clue to that guys??
Backdraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 05:07 PM   #23
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,518
Default

You need a trigger. GROUP ACTIVATE (groupname)

Visible before start is only an option for ground units in single player missions.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 12:17 PM   #24
Zayets
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Backdraft View Post
Zayets, thank you, I will try this. Now I have a question in regards to late activation. I made a help group with late activation but when I test in game they never activate?? And their time boxes are all zeros even though I put a time in there. Any clue to that guys??
As per above, it looks this works only with ground vehicles (and offline only). I remember I did this trick before for aircrafs : in front of the aircraft place a Humvee having one waypoint which just to free the taxi path for that particular aircraft once it moves. Now, you can make this visible before start as it is a ground vehicle. Then set a flag to activate it once a certain condition is true. The Humvee will move aside and the aircraft can taxi. There is one small drawback to this for AI planes : they will start their engines and they will obviously consume some fuel until they move. But other than that, it should work.
__________________
OK
Zayets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 03:24 PM   #25
falken76
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grunf View Post
You have to use "Start" triggered action, and trigger with "AI push task" action.
I copied what you said to the T and it didn't work. I know the trigger is going off because I added a message that just said "Plane should be rolling" and that appears. But the plane just sits there, it has waypoints, it just won't do anything. What am I missing?

Why is the AI ignoring the fact that I set waypoints for the plane?
falken76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 03:31 PM   #26
falken76
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falken76 View Post
I copied what you said to the T and it didn't work. I know the trigger is going off because I added a message that just said "Plane should be rolling" and that appears. But the plane just sits there, it has waypoints, it just won't do anything. What am I missing?

Why is the AI ignoring the fact that I set waypoints for the plane?
I figured out what I was doing wrong. I had the wrong coalition set for the plane so it was a client instead of AI so of course it should just sit there lol. It works if I follow the steps correctly Thanks for this awesome bit of info.
falken76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 03:37 PM   #27
falken76
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Backdraft View Post
Aww I see, thbaks. When I click take off ramp it moves to another airport
If all your slots are full you can still do a late activate, just remember to give the plane taking off from the runway a group name so you can apply it to the trigger. Then set a group activate to a trigger you have set up either through an event or crossing into a zone.

Last edited by falken76; 05-02-2018 at 03:45 PM.
falken76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.