Angle of Attach

airjocky2

I'm new to DCS and FC3 and I'm trying to fly the A10A. It seems that the Angle of Attack is very high, even in straight and level flight, and as soon as I try to maneuver I get an accelerated stall almost right away. Obviously the faster I'm going the longer it takes for stall onset but this thing is handling like it's a million pounds. I've experimented with 50% fuel and no weapons but it still seems to always be close to stall. Is there something I'm doing wrong? I've also verified in axis tune that my x52 throttle gets full range so it seems as if it's not a throttle problem.

oh. and I guess I can't spell "Attack"

Edited by airjocky2
spelling

When lightly loaded, the A-10 should turn like mad. Make sure you're maneuvering above 200 knots with flaps fully retracted.

Keep in mind that the A-10 is rather pitch sensitive. At times, half back stick can result in a stall.

Also, what indications are you getting of an accelerated stall? Chopped/solid tone, or wing drop?

DCS modules are built up to a spec, not down to a schedule.

In order to utilize a system to your advantage, you must know how it works.

Ok. I've got some detailed info to hopefully get to the bottom of this. I loaded up Gory Gori mission on FC3 with the A10A. Unlimited Fuel, Unlimited Ammo.

The minute the mission starts I'm at:

Angle of Attack 15.5

Holding level flight AOA soon goes to 19 and settles in there.

I go Full Throttle on my x52. Looking down @ the thrust levers I see the large black handle attached to a stem which goes through a slot into the aircraft. When my x52 is full forward the lever/stem goes into the aircraft slot about 60% down the slot towards aircraft forward. I would think it would travel down the slot to the full forward position but I'm not sure what it's supposed to look like @ Max throttle. I keep my x52 full throttle for the following: