DCS Carrier Discussion - Page 45 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2019, 09:42 AM   #441
Silver_Dragon
ED Translator
 
Silver_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,827
Send a message via MSN to Silver_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFO82 View Post
the other low res AI aircraft really need an update (SH-60 and S-3)

..

Also with the carrier module include AI ships that typically comprise a carrier strike group because that kind of seems like a no brainer for a paid carrier module as well. (It is composed of roughly at least one cruiser, a destroyer squadron of at least two destroyers or frigates, US submarines, attached logistics ships and a supply ship.)
SH-60 and S-3 has on plans to update them. About ship, ED has building a DDG-51 Arleigh Burke Flight IIA destroyer.
__________________
More news to the front
Wishlist: ED / 3rd Party Campaings
My Rig: Intel I-5 750 2.67Ghz / Packard Bell FMP55 / 16 GB DDR3 RAM / GTX-1080 8 GB RAM / HD 1Tb/2Tb / Warthog / 2 MDF / TFPR

DCS: Roadmap (unofficial):https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=116893
DCS: List of Vacant models: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...91#post4076891
21Squad DCS: World News: https://www.facebook.com/21Squad-219508958071000/
Silver_Dragon Youtube

Last edited by Silver_Dragon; 12-03-2019 at 11:00 PM.
Silver_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 05:05 PM   #442
AG-51_Razor
Senior Member
 
AG-51_Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,594
Default

I wonder if it would be possible, or if ED is already considering this, to model some sort of CIC (combat information center) that a player could man and give intercept directions to aircraft around the boat? Just a thought.
__________________
AG-51_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 05:28 PM   #443
Raisuli
Member
 
Raisuli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AG-51_Razor View Post
I wonder if it would be possible, or if ED is already considering this, to model some sort of CIC (combat information center) that a player could man and give intercept directions to aircraft around the boat? Just a thought.

I think that's called GCI.


At the rate we're going the new carrier will take 'multi-crew' to a whole new level, where you and five thousand of your best friends get together to make the screws turn.


I've done my time pulling an oar; I'll stick to launching off the end and crashing into the back.
__________________
Mods: .{0,}
Кошки правят, собаки пускают слюни
Raisuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 03:03 AM   #444
daarseth
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AG-51_Razor View Post
I wonder if it would be possible, or if ED is already considering this, to model some sort of CIC (combat information center) that a player could man and give intercept directions to aircraft around the boat? Just a thought.
You either go into the F10 map, and use the ruler to get the BRAA for enemy aircraft (or anything on the map really). Or in MP, you can typically go to "game master" and accomplish this, if things are hidden on the map. Depending on which server you are in, it may require a friendly AWACS to be airborne for air contacts to be displayed. Then there is LotAtc, which is 3rd party and a whole different animal (but quite realistic).


Cheers,

Don (callsign Ziptie)
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 32GB HyperX Fury ddr4-2133 ram, GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig SSD drives (one soley for DCS OpenBeta standalone) Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

Airframes: A10C, F/A-18C, F-14B, FC3, Combined Arms. Terrains: Persian Gulf, Nevada NTTR
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 06:20 AM   #445
AG-51_Razor
Senior Member
 
AG-51_Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,594
Default

Thanks for the tip daarseth but I am fully aware of how to do that. I was just wondering if ED had considered modeling a room to go into aboard the carrier that would be its CIC with some type of representation of a radar scope with which we could use to vector fighters out to bogies.

Never mind though, it's a rediculous suggestion.
__________________
AG-51_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 07:46 AM   #446
daarseth
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AG-51_Razor View Post
Thanks for the tip daarseth but I am fully aware of how to do that. I was just wondering if ED had considered modeling a room to go into aboard the carrier that would be its CIC with some type of representation of a radar scope with which we could use to vector fighters out to bogies.

Never mind though, it's a rediculous suggestion.
I wouldn’t call it a ridiculous suggestion.. With the briefing room that has been teased for the new carrier - seems like an option that would potentially be in the wheel house.

Oh also, we live in (or at least claim) the same state out of the 50 in country. PNW is pretty solid.



Cheers,

Don (callsign Ziptie)
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 32GB HyperX Fury ddr4-2133 ram, GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig SSD drives (one soley for DCS OpenBeta standalone) Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

Airframes: A10C, F/A-18C, F-14B, FC3, Combined Arms. Terrains: Persian Gulf, Nevada NTTR
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 01:59 PM   #447
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AG-51_Razor View Post
Thanks for the tip daarseth but I am fully aware of how to do that. I was just wondering if ED had considered modeling a room to go into aboard the carrier that would be its CIC with some type of representation of a radar scope with which we could use to vector fighters out to bogies.

Never mind though, it's a rediculous suggestion.
I wouldn't call it ridiculous. If resources permit, I think it'd add to the carrier experience. We're getting a manned LSO station and a briefing room, so adding another position, with at least some basic CIC functionality for radars etc sounds feasible, perhaps at a later stage.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 11:26 PM   #448
mattag08
Member
 
mattag08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 159
Default

Is there anywhere where ED has said if the new carrier will have a proper wake? For instance, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBntiTDu7rU&t=18m17s

You can see how dramatically different a real carrier wake is from the DCS carrier currently. This is important because it is used as a reference during the turn to the groove. It's also one of the ways to find and identify the carrier visually.
mattag08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 12:01 AM   #449
Silver_Dragon
ED Translator
 
Silver_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,827
Send a message via MSN to Silver_Dragon
Default

A new wake trail was show on the supercarrier module pics on develop, but surely, can change.
__________________
More news to the front
Wishlist: ED / 3rd Party Campaings
My Rig: Intel I-5 750 2.67Ghz / Packard Bell FMP55 / 16 GB DDR3 RAM / GTX-1080 8 GB RAM / HD 1Tb/2Tb / Warthog / 2 MDF / TFPR

DCS: Roadmap (unofficial):https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=116893
DCS: List of Vacant models: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...91#post4076891
21Squad DCS: World News: https://www.facebook.com/21Squad-219508958071000/
Silver_Dragon Youtube
Silver_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 12:20 AM   #450
Eagle7907
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 895
Default Carrier launch/line up

This is more of a question directed to the upcoming Super Carrier.

Lately, I’ve been having trouble with lining up with the catapults. I will get into position and I think I am lined up perfectly. I press U to connect to the shuttle, and do my final checks. After press Shift U to command the launch. Problem is afterwards I realize I wasn’t perfectly aligned. It seems that with just a slight misalignment either jet (F-14, F-1 the end result is a jet crabbing across the bow with a possible loss of control.

My question is, will the Super Carrier minimize or solve this problem? Or is this even avoidable or any technique I am missing?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Win 10, AMD FX9590/water cooled, 32GB RAM, 250GB SSD system, 2TB HD, Warthog HOTAS, MFG rudders, Track IR 5, LG Ultrawide, Logitech Speakers w/sub, Fans, Case, cell phone, wallet, keys.....printer
Eagle7907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aircraft carrier, dcs 2.5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:42 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.