Need Advise on how to profile my HOTAS

svance76

Hello all,

Im new to DCS and have purchased A10C and the X55 HOTAS. I can (maybe) figure out the game and flying, but am having problems with the setup of the x55. Do I clear out the in game options for the controls and use the x55 software to program the HOTAS? If I do that do I leave the x55 software open in the background and then open the game? Do I create the commands in the x55 software and then load it into the DCS options? I would really like to get this set up and start flying for at least the learning phase and add commands as I go (huh, sounds like a good idea). Looking for any advise for the game and setup options for the x55.

I know the x55 has had a bad rep but mine seems to be working.

thanks

You can program it in many ways. You can program the game to recognize joybuttons, you can program the software in the X55 to emulate keystrokes, you can use the x55 software to create shift states to multiply the number of things a single button can do, you can program the DCS controls to do the same thing from within the game.

Its not easy to explain this in general if you don't already understand it.

I would probably start by just mapping relevant HOTAS controls to the stick by finding the relevant keystrokes in the options. Use the POV hats to replicate the POV commands. The HOTAS control section of the A-10C manual should be helpful in understanding that.

Once you have the essentials mapped, which are basically everything on the actual HOTAS in the real airplane, you can start flying with that and over time as your understanding of the aircraft improves you can start to really customize it.

One thing I found is that while someone swears by their set up of controls on a given stick set up, barring the Thrustmaster, its mostly a matter of preference and you can't know your preference til later.