How do you contact the tower of the carrier ? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2018, 09:27 AM   #1
spidierox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 18
Default How do you contact the tower of the carrier ?

In order to contact the tower I need to enter a FREQ into the UCF.
What is the frequency ? Where can I find it ?
spidierox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 09:38 AM   #2
kurtz667
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Belgium
Posts: 157
Default

You can find in the communication menu. After each airfield there's a MHz. Carrier is 127.5 mhz fm.
__________________
https://s4.postimg.org/ksp6kqrbh/20170816223854_1.jpg
Modules: FC3, KA-50, MIG-21, F-18, F-14, UH-1H, Spitfire, F-5E, A-10c, A-4E, Supercarrier
Terrains: Nevada, Persian gulf, Normandy + Asset pack
PC setup: I7 8700k, 32g ram, m2 ssd, gtx 1080ti, Warthog TM, MFG crosswind, Playseat Air Force, Oculus rift s
kurtz667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 01:18 PM   #3
hreich
Senior Member
 
hreich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,154
Default

I dont see Mhz in comm menu..I also entered 127.5 mhz on fm and no coontact
__________________

Pilot from Croatia
hreich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 01:49 PM   #4
shawnyp420
Member
 
shawnyp420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine - USA
Posts: 105
Default

If you press \ then F5 you'll see the Stennis is listed with its freq. 127.5
shawnyp420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 01:52 PM   #5
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,120
Default

And make sure you also use the correct comm switch.
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 01:54 PM   #6
hreich
Senior Member
 
hreich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,154
Default

I entered 127.500 in comm1 am and even in comm2 as fm.. But no answer from atc

I dont use simple radio option
__________________

Pilot from Croatia
hreich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 04:19 PM   #7
GOAE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Default

I too have had many difficulties with the carrier ATC, though perhaps in a different way than you. I believe the carrier ATC to be quite simply very buggy at the moment.

A friend and I were flying and practicing carrier landings, and out of more than 12 landings we only successfully got the ATC to approve a landing once and I believe it was the very first landing. All subsequent attempts would get to the point of the ATC confirming visual, but never finally approving the landing. I did not verify if this buggy behavior is caused by any particular action, such as perhaps landing or taking off after landing, but I suppose it could be that the ATC never realized we took off again so it thinks the deck is not clear for another landing.

I never had any issues with the carrier's ATC completely ignoring my initial inbound request though, and requesting nav assistance also never had an issue. Silly question, but are you not close enough perhaps? Not that I've tested, but I don't think the radios in DCS have unlimited range. Have you ever had an airfield reply to your radio calls in the F/A-18C when manually punching it in? I assume you contacted an ATC for takeoff with no problem? Perhaps try from the deck of the carrier and see if the radio works while on the deck.
GOAE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 05:13 PM   #8
pimp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hreich View Post
I entered 127.500 in comm1 am and even in comm2 as fm.. But no answer from atc

I dont use simple radio option
The correct frequency for the Stennis is 127.500FM
__________________
i9 9900k @5.1GHz h100i |Asus ROG Strix Z390 E-Gaming | Samsung NVMe m.2 970 Pro 512GB | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3 Ultra | Reverb | HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Flight Pedals
pimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 09:09 PM   #9
Redglyph
Senior Member
 
Redglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,565
Default

Communication menu is not active until a comm has been selected (and even so, it was simply not working in the Instant action harrier landing mission), and using comm1 for ex. does not show any frequency. The mission editor doesn't show it either, so it's hard to guess.

I suppose it's a fixed, hard-coded frequency for now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp View Post
The correct frequency for the Stennis is 127.500FM
Thanks!
__________________
System specs: Win7 x64 | CPU: i7-4770K | RAM: 16 GB | GPU: GTX 980 Ti 6 GB | Thrustmaster HOTAS | MFG rudder pedals | SATA3 SSD | TrackIR
Redglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 10:48 PM   #10
bradleyjs
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 542
Default

What is the TACAN channel to the carrier?
bradleyjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tower carrier frequency

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.