Serious question. Mirage or Harrier?

Pickle72

Serious question. Mirage or Harrier?  

69 members have voted

1. 1. Serious question. Mirage or Harrier?

I am new to DCS but not flight sims, and I was all set to get the M-2000C as my first "real" module. But now I have started thinking about the Harrier. I have read all the threads, watched all the youtube and I can’t decide. I can only get one. So for all of you who have both, which one is your favorite?

Thanks

:pilotfly::pilotfly:

T-16000M FCS | Track IR5 | Quest 2 | ASROCK Z370 | i7-8700k | GTX1080-OC | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10 | OSX High Sierra for real work

Hack build

I'm going to muddy the waters.

Today, Mirage, no question. It's a great module that's now pretty polished and comes with a fantastic campaign and an excellent manual. In terms of complexity, it's also very accessible so you won't have to read the manual for a week before turning the battery on. There is also the upcoming Red Flag campaign by Baltic Dragon which, judging by his previous works, will be a real treat.

In 6 months to a year, the Mirage is going to be surpassed by the Harrier. It's dripping with potential but at the moment functionality is lacking, there are no training missions, the manual is basic at best and there is no campaign (though there is a great home brew campaign by SEDLO). I have zero doubt the Harrier is going to be brilliant but at the current rate of development, we're a while away from brilliant.

Edited by DowntownSIX

Devils Canyon i7 4790K @ 4.9GHz |16gb DDR3 | MSI GeForce GTX 1080Ti | Samsung 860 EVO

Thrustmaster Warthog | Virpil WarBRD | Virpil TM-50CM2 Grip | VKB-Sim T-Rudder Mk.IV | Acer X34A (21:9) | Oculus Rift S

A-10C | AJS-37 | AV-8B | C-101 | F/A-18C | F-14A/B | F-5E | KA-50 | L-39 | M-2000C | SA342 | Spitfire LF Mk IX | UH-1H