2.5.6 Mission Editor and Scripting changes not in changelog - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2020, 12:13 AM   #21
Mauritz
Junior Member
 
Mauritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey View Post
The Event.id's have all changed for events and MOOSE's EventMeta turned to nil in 2.5.6. Which killed umm... most of moose stone dead.


Trying to recorrect. Why were the id's all shuffled, it's madness, it killed most of the moose servers?!
there it is, the ****ening, been a minute since the SE was toyed with this hard
Mauritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 12:21 AM   #22
Reflected
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Uluwatu
Posts: 2,708
Default

Also, parking spots on the Normandy map got re-numbered:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=263677
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 07:13 AM   #23
sunski34
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: France - Montpellier
Posts: 678
Default

Hi Pikey,


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey View Post
The Event.id's have all changed for events
What do you mean ? only event.id values have changed or there are more changes and in that case, what kind of changes ?

Hope it's not too important. I use the enumerator event's id.

Thanks in advance.
sunski34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 09:34 AM   #24
chromium
3rd Party Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Milan
Posts: 3,488
Default

i.e. use
if event.id == world.event.S_EVENT_ENGINE_SHUTDOWN then
instead of
if event.id == 18 then
that is safer...
__________________

The thing is, helicopters are different from planes. An airplane by it's nature wants to fly, and if not interfered with too strongly by unusual events or by a deliberately incompetent pilot, it will fly. A helicopter does not want to fly. It is maintained in the air by a variety of forces in opposition to each other, and if there is any disturbance in this delicate balance the helicopter stops flying; immediately and disastrously.
chromium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 11:25 AM   #25
chromium
3rd Party Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Milan
Posts: 3,488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunski34 View Post
@Pikey,

When an aircraft starts from a map's airbase, its WP 1 has airdromeId entry set to an airbase ID.

With the V2.5.5 , airbase:getID() returns the same value then airdromeId. That is not the case with 2.5.6.

Now airdromeId corresponds to the index of the table returned by world.getAirbases() for all maps except caucasus where you must add 11 (why, bug suspected) . Try you will see.

No change for Helipad

But for units (Ships) type this is different :
airbase:getID() (Airbase class) for ships returns its ID in a string var.
unit:getID() (Unit class) for ships still returns its ID but in a number var.

And now when starting from a ship, ex a F18, its WP 1 don't have its airdromeId entry set but its helipadId entry.

Hope it's more clear.
confirmed for airbases on caucasus, I had to do this trick (I hope temporary):

Code:
function EMBD.getAptInfo()
	local apt_Table = world.getAirbases()
	for Aid, Adata in pairs(apt_Table) do
		local aptInfo = Adata:getDesc()
		local aptName = Adata:getName()
		local aptID	  = Adata:getID()
		local indexId = Aid
		if env.mission.theatre == "Caucasus" then
			indexId = indexId +11			
			if debugProcessDetail == true then
				env.info(("EMBD.getAptInfo added 11 to airport index due to Caucasus scenery, from: " .. tostring(Aid) .. " to: " .. tostring(indexId)))
			end				
		end	
		tblAirbases[#tblAirbases+1] = {id = aptID, index = indexId, name = aptName, desc = aptInfo}
	end
end
__________________

The thing is, helicopters are different from planes. An airplane by it's nature wants to fly, and if not interfered with too strongly by unusual events or by a deliberately incompetent pilot, it will fly. A helicopter does not want to fly. It is maintained in the air by a variety of forces in opposition to each other, and if there is any disturbance in this delicate balance the helicopter stops flying; immediately and disastrously.
chromium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 10:12 PM   #26
Grimes
ED Testers Team
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 8,181
Default

They inserted S_EVENT_DETAILED_FAILURE into id 17 on the 2.5.5 patch, everything after that got bumped up a digit.
__________________
The right man in the wrong place makes all the difference in the world.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 04:04 AM   #27
prefetch
Junior Member
 
prefetch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: S.E.A.
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paco View Post
Sorry, typo......this feature is indeed broken in the new update. No hold function for WP's.
Glad to see this is noticed

hope it gets fixed soon my precious missions are suffering so.....
__________________
prefetch



i7 7700K, Win-8.1(wufuc), DCSW OpenBeta, BS2, SU-25, SU-27, SU-33, Persian Gulf, Bf 109 K-4, Normandy&WWIIassetspack, MiG-21bis, MiG-19P, Combined-Arms, Mi-8MTV2
prefetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 08:36 PM   #28
Paco
Veteran
 
Paco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prefetch View Post
Glad to see this is noticed

hope it gets fixed soon my precious missions are suffering so.....
This bug broke all my missions. :-( I use the WP hold on mission start to phase in forces depending on certain triggers. Broke every one of them.
__________________
Paco
Paco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 09:04 PM   #29
Backy 51
Member
 
Backy 51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL240
Posts: 987
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey View Post
Thanks. trying to fix the four new Events in MOOSE. As the days go by we can leverage some of these changes, the static one is helpful, preparation for paratroopers and so many things.

The Tasking change.... I dunno how many years we have worked around RTB by respawning aircraft that its likely in so much code already I dont know if we can leverage it much :/

There's a lot of possible rewriting available.

For the Airbase ID thing, I didnt really understand what you said @sunski34

PARATROOPERS! Really? Hot damn!
__________________
I don't need no stinkin' GPS! (except for PGMs )



SPECS:
Spoiler:

INTEL i7-9700K - 64GB RAM
GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER on TCL 55" 4K UHD TV
Corsair K70 RGB + Stream Deck XL and TrackIR 4 Pro

TM Warthog, F-18 Grip and 3 Cougar MFDs w/CH Pro Pedals
Win 10 Pro 64-bit on 1TB M.2 SSD



HANGAR:
Spoiler:

A-10 AV-8 F-5 F-14 F-16 F-18 F-86 M-2000 P-51 UH-1
FW-190 MiG-15/21 FC3 *Supercarrier*
Nevada Normandy Persian Gulf TACView CombatFlite WWII Assets
Backy 51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 10:21 PM   #30
funkyfranky
Senior Member
 
funkyfranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Asgård
Posts: 2,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimes View Post
And a change to the mission task that is a workaround fix to a longstanding bug. Basically you know how AI wouldn't do the correct waypoint type or RTB to the correct base that you assigned when you assign a new mission task after the AI spawn? Yeah apparently the game needs to know that you are assigning it to an aircraft group, they can't automate the workaround so we have to add a parameter to the tasking.
That is great! I still cannot quite believe that this is working now, but it does. Thank you and kudos to ED
__________________
Multiple exclamation marks, are a sure sign of a diseased mind.
i7-8700K | Asus RTX 2080Ti Strix OC | 32 GB Ram 3200 MHz DDR-4 | Asus Maximus Hero X | Samung EVO 960 Pro SSD | VKB Gunfighter Pro | MFG Crosswind | Rift S
RAT - On the Range - Rescue Helo - Recovery Tanker - Warehouse - Airboss
funkyfranky is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.