TDC depress for maverick usage - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2018, 11:32 PM   #21
Catseye
Member
 
Catseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vernon, BC Canada
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parkbank View Post
Since the new update you need to hold down the TDC to slew the mav. It may be realistic but it is in no way user friendly (same with the current radar elevation axis).
Please either give us an option to remove the need to hold down the TDC or give us some sort of TDC toggle.
None of the existing Sticks/Throttles can give you good results with 1 button (slewing while holding it down). Right now i have to use 2 buttons for 1 simple action.
Not a usefull implementation


Please change.

The VKB gunfighter can do it. It has a combination button slew hat.
Catseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:44 PM   #22
Knock-Knock
Senior Member
 
Knock-Knock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,285
Default

I agree. Was trying it for the first time tonight, and it was driving me crazy. First I tried with the throttle slew, which didnt work very well, and then I tried with the CMS, and that didnt work at all. So had to use two hands basically. Far from ideal and extremely fiddely.
__________________
- Jack of many DCS modules, master of none.
- Personal wishlist: A-7E Corsair II, F-35 Draken, F-104 Starfighter, Panavia Tornado IDS.


| MSI Z87-G45 Gaming | i5-4670K @ 4.3Ghz | 16Gb DDR3 1600 | Asus GTX 1070 Strix OC | Samsung 850 Evo 250 & 500Gb | 40" Sony FullHD | Oculus Rift CV1 | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick (19.5cm extension) & Throttle | MFG Crosswind | Windows 7-64 |
Knock-Knock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:47 PM   #23
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catseye View Post
The VKB gunfighter can do it. It has a combination button slew hat.
Great... How does that help everybody who doesn't have one?
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

DCS F-16C REALLY IS A THING! - BLOCK 50 BABY!!!

My Screenshots = FLICKR ALBUM
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 02:42 AM   #24
Catseye
Member
 
Catseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vernon, BC Canada
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deano87 View Post
Great... How does that help everybody who doesn't have one?

Look again at what I was replying to highlighted in blue and bold.


When someone says everyone or nothing can etc. - that is an overstatement. I was indicating that the statement is incorrect because the gunfighter can do it.
Catseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 03:06 AM   #25
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catseye View Post
Look again at what I was replying to highlighted in blue and bold.


When someone says everyone or nothing can etc. - that is an overstatement. I was indicating that the statement is incorrect because the gunfighter can do it.
I’m guessing you have one and it works well?
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

DCS F-16C REALLY IS A THING! - BLOCK 50 BABY!!!

My Screenshots = FLICKR ALBUM
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 08:24 AM   #26
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,556
Default

For those that can't easily bind this hopefully ED adds something in the "special" options for the F18 so they don't have to depress this button to slew, make it more like the A10C.
__________________
i7 9700k@ 5GHZ - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 11:37 AM   #27
Sandman1330
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 469
Default

Anyone using the X56? I just upgraded to one from the X55, and I’m super pumped about the combined thumb slew and push down button, it may be perfect for this. Can’t try it till I get back from vacay though
__________________
R5 1600X @ 4Ghz / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 (@2933... for now) / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X55 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift CV1
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 12:24 PM   #28
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman1330 View Post
Anyone using the X56? I just upgraded to one from the X55, and I’m super pumped about the combined thumb slew and push down button, it may be perfect for this. Can’t try it till I get back from vacay though
That’s only if the push down button doesn’t interfere with the operation of the slew. A lot of the cheaper switches used for this work well being pushed down and well at slewing but not both at the same time, unlike the real hardware.
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

DCS F-16C REALLY IS A THING! - BLOCK 50 BABY!!!

My Screenshots = FLICKR ALBUM
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 06:26 PM   #29
Sandman1330
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deano87 View Post
That’s only if the push down button doesn’t interfere with the operation of the slew. A lot of the cheaper switches used for this work well being pushed down and well at slewing but not both at the same time, unlike the real hardware.
Crap haha! I’ll report back when I can try it out.
__________________
R5 1600X @ 4Ghz / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 (@2933... for now) / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X55 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift CV1
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 09:38 PM   #30
chase
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Default

"I would like to see a check box in the Misc options menu to disable pressing TDC as a requirement"

I agree with the above statement. The way it is now you can't even fly the aircraft. I have to set the AP to fly straight then use both hands to lock the target. I think the TDC button would be much better if it were used to make subtle corrections. Like to make precision movements. Otherwise the way it was working was much easier for game play and I could keep one hand on the stick... kind of important i think lol.

Thanks ED for a great AC.

Dave.
chase is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.