When I connect my Warthog my computer stops recognising my keyboard - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2018, 01:55 PM   #1
Phil73805
Junior Member
 
Phil73805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NW London, UK.
Posts: 90
Default When I connect my Warthog my computer stops recognising my keyboard

Hi all, bit of a weird one. I just received my Thrustmaster Warthog and CH Pro pedals and now when I switch on my PC my keyboard isn't recognised. So I unplug and replug the keyboard and then it works, mostly. The Z and X keys stopped registering in certain softwares when everything is running but work fine otherwise. Very weird.

Has anyone encountered this before?

p.s. is USB 3.0 actually an issue?
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i5 8600K CPU @ 3.6GHz, 32GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. 500GB SSD (Exclusively for DCS World), Thrustmaster Warthog. Track IR 5 with Pro Clip. Vaicom Pro.

EASA PPL(A), Glider Aerobatics. Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, F-5E, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A, Yak 52, Flaming Cliffs 3 & Heatblur F14B/A . Caucuses, Persian Gulf & NTTR.
Phil73805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 02:10 PM   #2
Frag
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 167
Default

Shot in the dark but ... Did you try to completely shut down your computer and start using a completely new USB port for you keyboard? (Joystck not connected). Briefly make your keyboard start using a new port, and when it works plug your joystck.

Doing this force the usb driver to reassign addresses. I had a similar issue in the past, but with my phone and the keyboard.
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 03:22 PM   #3
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,230
Default

There is a tool called "usbdeview" which can help too


You can delete ANY USB that ever was connected on any port, so you get a blank USB table again, "Tabula rasa" in USB world
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 03:59 PM   #4
cromhunt
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 229
Default

The "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" setting in Device Manager may be enabled.
Start, type Device Manager in the search box, and then click Device Manager in the list of results.
Click to expand Root USB Hub, and then click the Power Management tab.
Click to clear the Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power option, and then click OK.

Note: If multiple Root USB Hub inputs are available, clear this option for each of these entries.
Close the Device Manager.
cromhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 01:02 AM   #5
Phil73805
Junior Member
 
Phil73805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NW London, UK.
Posts: 90
Default

Thanks all, I think I’ve fixed it.

My other question is, is USB 3.0 compatible with the Warthog? I was reading some forum posts about it breaking the Warthog.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i5 8600K CPU @ 3.6GHz, 32GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. 500GB SSD (Exclusively for DCS World), Thrustmaster Warthog. Track IR 5 with Pro Clip. Vaicom Pro.

EASA PPL(A), Glider Aerobatics. Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, F-5E, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A, Yak 52, Flaming Cliffs 3 & Heatblur F14B/A . Caucuses, Persian Gulf & NTTR.
Phil73805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 03:59 AM   #6
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,467
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil73805 View Post
Thanks all, I think I’ve fixed it.

My other question is, is USB 3.0 compatible with the Warthog? I was reading some forum posts about it breaking the Warthog.

How'd you fix it? In case someone comes googling.

USB3 works just fine. however, some (more than some) have reported that FW upgrades and USB3 don't play very nice together. Others reported no issues. That's the extent of the "problem"
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 09:53 AM   #7
Phil73805
Junior Member
 
Phil73805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NW London, UK.
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
How'd you fix it? In case someone comes googling.

USB3 works just fine. however, some (more than some) have reported that FW upgrades and USB3 don't play very nice together. Others reported no issues. That's the extent of the "problem"
A good point. I took Frag’s suggestion and rearranged all my usb assignments and it seems to have solved the issue for now.

And what does FW stand for?
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i5 8600K CPU @ 3.6GHz, 32GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. 500GB SSD (Exclusively for DCS World), Thrustmaster Warthog. Track IR 5 with Pro Clip. Vaicom Pro.

EASA PPL(A), Glider Aerobatics. Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, F-5E, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A, Yak 52, Flaming Cliffs 3 & Heatblur F14B/A . Caucuses, Persian Gulf & NTTR.
Phil73805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 10:08 AM   #8
Quadg
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 428
Default

FW= firmware
so use old usb2 if you need to update the firmware on anything.
__________________
My Rig: i7 4930k 4.5Ghz, 16GB DDR3 2400, 2x SSD, EVGA 1080 Superclocked, Warthog Throttle and Stick, MFG Crosswinds, Oculus Rift.
Quadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 01:36 AM   #9
Phil73805
Junior Member
 
Phil73805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NW London, UK.
Posts: 90
Default

Okay, my keyboard disconnected mid-flight...on final approach when I reached to press G for the landing gear! The Num Lock light was on but the keyboard would not respond to any input. I don't think it's the Warthog.

What would stop my keyboard from working? When I was closing down software (VA, Vaicom, SRS etc.) at some point I heard a bong and then the keyboard started working again. Very weird.

Any ideas?
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i5 8600K CPU @ 3.6GHz, 32GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. 500GB SSD (Exclusively for DCS World), Thrustmaster Warthog. Track IR 5 with Pro Clip. Vaicom Pro.

EASA PPL(A), Glider Aerobatics. Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, F-5E, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A, Yak 52, Flaming Cliffs 3 & Heatblur F14B/A . Caucuses, Persian Gulf & NTTR.
Phil73805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 01:57 AM   #10
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,425
Default

I would guess, that your mobo is unable to supply enough power for everything. Get a powered USB hub.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
keyboard, thrustmaster warthog, windows 10

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.