Warthog for chopper users - ED Forums

Notices

Old 05-15-2014, 02:12 PM   #1
Cibit
Veteran

Default Warthog for chopper users

Hi after 2 years of borked warthog joystick and using my old X52 for flight sims it has been returned from RMA, does anyone use the Thrustmaster Warthog for helicopters? If so are there any tips or profiles to share

Cibit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 04:06 PM   #2
dok_rp

Smile

I have been using mine for about 6 months.

I hated it at first, specially the TARGET software. I even tried selling it, but could not get the price I wanted. A month and a half later, I decided to keep it and here I am today about 6 months following its purchase.

I have put a few hundred hours in it and I have to say the stick is not bad.

It is, however, very stiff. Much stiffer than it should be for helo flying. You can manage the Ka50 and Mi8 no problem, due to their SAS channels. Now, flying the Huey is another story.

I had a really hard time at first, but I guess I am getting the hang of it. The tip I can give you is to set an "S" curvature to dampen the first third of the stick travel. Setting the curve to 30% will get you there. I set mine to 35 and I am quite happy with it.

I tried numerous values and 35 did it for me. At 40 the helicopter was too undersensitive. The biggest problem with the Huey, which is underestimated by most of us, is trim. Trim it nice and it'll give you a nice ride. Don't trim it enough and it'll be a bronco ride with hemorrhoids. Unpleasant, to say the least.

So, all in all, it's a nice stick. The TARGET software leaves A LOT to be desired, especially in the MACRO programming department; and I cannot stress this enough. It's simply appalling. However, for simplistic key programing, it's quite good. Highly inefficient, but it gets the job done.

I think you're going to have a good time with your Warthog. Just don't forget to set a nice "S" curve to make it less sensitive.

Happy flying.